We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentines day”
Review of The Old Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Swan Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Lechlade B&B and Inns
Carterton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Valentines day”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were in The Swan Inn for Valentines night. The atmosphere was wonderful, staff members very friendly and always smiling. Food over there was just amazing. Following morning i felt like coming back again as soon as possible. I totaly love this place and i would recomend to everybody, that is looking for very nice quality food and amazing service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewDlouhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    30
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
26
58
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here overnight on a Saturday. What a fantastic place!! We were made very welcome on our arrival and shown to or room 'The Radnor'. We were so impressed!!
The room was elegant, spacious and charming. The en suite was beautiful also. The room was also very clean.
Breakfast in the morning was wonderful. We were made to feel welcome and our whole experience was very relaxing.

We shall definitely be visiting again. We loved it!

P.s. The refurbishment of the stairway is still on going but it is not a problem at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazzler2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This place was lovely! We stayed in a room called "The Radnor", which was very cozy and charming. It had a four poster bed, two arm chairs and a fireplace, and it was perfect for a weekend getaway in the winter. The bathroom was amazing, with an antique-like bathtub and a modern shower. The whole place was old-fashioned and made us feel relaxed to be out of our usual busy city surroundings. The staff in the restaurant were all super friendly, and after dinner one night, we had drinks with Ollie, Denise and Janine, the manager, all of whom told us stories about the town. The English breakfast was superb, we had bacon, sausages, eggs and toast, all of which were delicious. Overall, we had a lovely time, coming in from the frosty weather to the warm and snug surroundings of the pub, with couches, fireplaces and lovely people. Would definitely recommend this Bed&Breakfast to anyone who enjoys a quaint, country atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at the Swan Inn last weekend for the night. We were greeted and checked in by the friendly and professional Ollie and shown to our room. Our room, The Radnor, did not disappoint and was absolutely stunning with four poster bed and lovely open fire place and was very well appointed. Pre dinner drinks were made all the more enjoyable by the friendly and welcoming bar staff (Jade) and the Manageress (Janine) who treated us like old friends and made us feel at home. The Full English Breakfast the next morning also lived up to the high standards that we had become accustomed to throughout our stay at the Old Swan Inn. We will definitely be returning as soon as we get some more time off. Thank you again.

Room Tip: The 'Radnor' and I believe The 'Marlborough' rooms are both worth the extra money. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markf7879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Arrived Christmas day morning to be greeted by friendly staff and big open fires. Enjoyed a four course meal plus mince pies and coffee. I especially enjoyed the brandy custard on the pudding. My husband can recommend the beer which is their local brew. We stayed the night at The Crown, also owned by Alan, situated nearby, which was small but adequate and had a cooked breakfast at The Swan Inn. Lechlade is well worth a visit with antique shops and quaint old buildings. Torrential rain the previous night made it impossible to walk along the river banks.
All in all a lovely couple of days break. We would definitely go again and will recommend The Swan to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

An excellent B&B. We stayed in the Radnor, a superbly appointed room, nicely decorated but still retaining the character of the building. The stairs up to the rooms were still in the process of being renovated but were no problem. Great service and overall very good value.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank johnoct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I cannot reccomend this hotel enough we have stayed ib both four poster rooms and they are both faultless lovely renovation four poster beds are comfy 42 inch tv with freeview bathroom with nive big shower roll top bath plenty of towels the staff were all lovely especially the manageress janine i could not of wished to stay in a better hotel in a lovely village i shall be coming back again faultless thank you all for a lovely weekend

Sandra and ernie kendall

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pushpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lechlade
9.7 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 10 in Lechlade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Riverside Lechlade
The Riverside Lechlade
#9 of 10 in Lechlade
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Five Alls
The Five Alls
#3 of 10 in Lechlade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Plough at Kelmscott
The Plough at Kelmscott
#2 of 10 in Lechlade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vera's Kitchen B&B
Vera's Kitchen B&B
#6 of 10 in Lechlade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Swan Inn

Property: The Old Swan Inn
Address: Burford Street, Lechlade GL7 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lechlade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lechlade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Swan Inn, Lechlade has gone under a refurbishment. Cosy bar with open fire, bar menu, restaurant menu, new management and chefs.(B&B rooms will be refurbished through 2013) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing