We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At last... We can send our visitors here without qualm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Five Alls

The Five Alls
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Lechlade
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$55
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“At last... We can send our visitors here without qualm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We have operated a visitor business in Filkins for thirty years, and have been asked constantly: "where can we get a good pub lunch?" Up until now, we have had to say tentatively: "well, try the Five Alls, it might be ok..." and then explain that the landlord was on the way up, or down, or out, or whatever was the current state of play at the pub.

For the first time in the thirty years, we can now say unequivocally: "Try the Five Alls, it's great!" This is a huge relief to us, good for the village, and a tribute to Sebastian and Lana as jolly good restaurateurs.

Actually, anyone who doesn't like the Five Alls now, probably doesn't like pubs.

Richard Martin
Cotswold Woollen Weavers

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FilkinsRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    90
    35
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Amazing food, fantastic service - great for business and pleasure. Large parties are also not a problem. Thank you lana, sebastian, chris and the team!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bexdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average, tepid food with neglectful service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

We dined here one busy Saturday evening. My first negative experience was when making the reservation - a lot of deliberating by a snooty woman on the phone about whether or not she could fit us in. Anyway, we arrived open minded. Menu looked enticing if a tad expensive for a pub. My husband ordered belly of pork on noodles, I ordered lamb with posh mash. His came in a tagine dish the size of a small soup bowl (my 18 mth old would eat a similar portion!) and was disappointingly bland. Mine arrived lukewarm. I reluctantly sent it back and was asked if I'd like it reheated or cooked fresh. I've never been asked that before - usually it's assumed you want a fresh one however by the time we'd grabbed anyone's attention my husband had almost finished his so I asked for it to be reheated. Expecting it to be returned after 2 mins in the microwave, I was disappointed to have to wait a further 15 for it to be returned...you guessed it, luke warm again. To be fair, it was removed from the bill but I would have rather paid and eaten it piping hot. Excuses about large tables were given (nothing like being made to feel important eh?). In all, don't put yourself out to go there - overpriced small, bland, tepid portions and slow service (unless you bring a large group of diners). There seemed to be lots of families taking their older children out who were either home from Uni or on an exeat from school so if you don't like that you might prefer to avoid.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Oreapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TOTALLY FABULOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

This is as always, the most wonderful place to eat. Having returned many many times, we continue to eat here with great gusto and have never had a bad meal. Quite the reverse infact, the food is delicious and plentiful. Lana and Sebastian and their young staff are forever welcoming and charming and I am so glad to hear that Tripadvisor removed the two totally ridiculous reviews recently written probably both by the same author as very similar in style and both included factual errors. Hooray for The Five Alls.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edlesborough
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We had lunch in the garden of The Five Alls last week in gorgeous sunshine with a delicious helping of devilled kidneys and a glass of cold white wine - absolute heaven! The staff are lovely and the place itself is delightful. Unfortunately we were in a rush to get to Oxford but we will definitely go back for a more leisurely visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulette1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Five Alls also viewed

Lechlade, Cotswolds
Southrop, Gloucestershire
 
Lechlade, Cotswolds
Kelmscott, Gloucestershire
 

Been to The Five Alls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing