We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break”
Review of The Five Alls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Five Alls
Ranked #3 of 10 Lechlade B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Five Alls is everything you could want from a short break in the Cotswolds.
The village itself is beautiful, a well kept secret with some incredibly nice houses nearby that allows for a nice walk. There’s a lovely wool farm just up the road, perfect for afternoon tea! The village even has a community funded local outdoor swimming pool!

Overall the pub was lovely after a recent refurb (September 2012) and is just what you look for in a quiet break. The service was exceptional, the food was lovely and the bar and garden area were quintessentially English and perfect in the sun. It was particularly nice of Lana, the owner, to come and say hello during dinner!

The bedroom (room 1) was nice and big and very well styled. Very comfy Hypnos king size bed and a decent en suite (shower not bath). Only slight downside is that’s it’s above the bar which can be noisy if you want an early night and also below the office which can also be noisy. However, these are very minor points in the scheme of things and the room on the whole was of a very high standard.

Beyond all that, the whole experience was exceptionally good value and we’ll definitely be returning!
I would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely B&B and can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 1 had massive king size hypnos bed and nice en suite shower. It is above the bar so if want an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    46
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
30
77
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lechlade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is such an amazing place with a real buzz. The food is delicious, the service personal and intuitive and the atmosphere and location really lovely. I couldn't find anything to fault. My children also love it - and I found the menu a good mixture of choices, with the bar menu particularly good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally_peach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longstanton Cambridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife and I stayed on Sunday night and booked for Sunday Lunch, Had a pint first in the bar
buzy/busy atmosphere in both bar and restaurant.
Both had traditional roast beef "Sunday Lunch" ,it was superb ,perfectly cooked beef +. tasty veg and yorkshires.
Room was small but tastefully appointed (window opener broken) with stylish bathroom including rain shower , not cheap for pub accommodation at £100+ my only complaint ( I believe has been voiced before) is that there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room
To me this seems short-sighted taking into account the small amount involved (even Travelodge offer this)
I was awake at 6.30 am on Sunday morning and had to wait until breakfast at 8.00am to have
a drink of tea!. At £245 for room and lunch this is unacceptable and I cannot understand why it is not offered . If people didn't want it then they would not use it and the only expense to the owner would be a kettle and some teabags !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lechlade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This pub serves delicious food, the staff are friendly, the atmosphere is buzzy and its so cosy, you could spend hours just hanging out. It isn't cheap but you get value for your money as the quality of the ingredients and the taste of the menu are brilliant. Great for Sunday lunch with the family or a night out with friends. Also perfect for a quiet drink whilst reading your book.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Beautiful building, fantastic food, good value, and very professional service. Our group of 25 had one of the best lunches we have had out for a long while. make sure you get their homemade bread too, yummy!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We came with a classic car group of 25 people, having come from a visit to Fiennes Restoration (Pre war Bentley and Rolls Royce). Maybe the weather helped but we had, by common consent, a fantastic meal with excellent service. Aside from us there was another group of car enthusiasts eating at the same time but the Five Alls took all this in their stride.

Many congratulations on a meal well received and great staff.

We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Manager at The Five Alls, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us such a glowing review. Its a genuine boost to the team when they are recognised for all their hard work. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again - Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We found this gem of a gastro-pub with rooms through Alaister Sawday guide and stayed for 2 nights eating dinner there both nights. Having experienced a lot of high-end pubs with rooms over the last couple of years I have to say Five Alls is most certainly up there with the best of them.

The menu changes daily and the food was excellent both nights. Exactly what you'd expect from this type of establishment. Good wine too. We had a bottle of French Malbec which was very good value, as was the bottle of White Rioja. The breakfast is one of the best full English I have eaten. The black pudding and mushrooms were in a different league to anything I'd had before.

The room was modest in size, but had a very comfortable bed, fantastic rain shower and great products. With such a lovely fireside sofa area to chill out in downstairs in the pub we didn't feel the need for a humongous room.

We went on a round trip ramble from the pub door via the local town of Burford for a lunch stop navigating the route using local footpaths. The surrounding countryside is very pretty and has some fantastic Cotsworld esq houses and churches to admire.

Having read the 3 negative reviews complaining about the service and the staff I have to say these comments are way off the mark. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. We felt all the staff made us feel very welcome throughout our stay.

If you like good food, good wine in a pub with fantastic atmosphere then you should certainly pay a visit. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Manager at The Five Alls, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thankyou so much for taking the time to review us. A huge amount of work goes into the food, drink and accomodation and its a genuine boost to the team when we recieve positive feedback! Glad you enjoyed the wines, you'll have to come back and sample some more! Thanks again - Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lechlade
5.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairford
233 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
693 reviews
6.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
506 reviews
22.1 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Alls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Alls

Property: The Five Alls
Address: Filkins, Lechlade GL7 3JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lechlade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lechlade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Five Alls 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Alls in Filkins is a country pub, restaurant with rooms set in the picturesque Cotswold village of Filkins; located between the historic towns of Burford and Lechlade on Thames. With two restaurant areas, a large garden, a cosy alpine style snug with fireplace, a thriving village bar and four pretty double rooms; the pub has something to cater to all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Five Alls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing