We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five day break”
Review of The Five Alls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Five Alls
Ranked #4 of 10 Lechlade B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I had arranged to go to the International Air Show at Fairford, got the hotel after checking reviews of hotels in the area. It was absolutely brilliant from the time we arrived to the time we left. Rooms were good, food was excellent and staff could not be faulted in any way. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We went to the airshow at 7am, a whole hour before breakfast was served but they left us cereal, toast, juice, tea and coffee. They also arranged a taxi to take us to the show and back. The driver turned up spot on time in taking us to the airshow and back. The location was spot on for the airshow and also for touring the surrounding area. As said before this break to the Five Alls was brilliant. Hope it won't be too long before we return again. My idea of a good country pub/hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for The Five Alls
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

Went there with a group for lunch. Very friendly staff and attentive. Drinks served in jam jars (!?) Good food although rosti potatoes very over salted. Car park looks as if it could get congested and there is limited on street (country lane) parking. Off the beaten track so worth another visit as a couple to avoid mass tourist haunts in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Five Alls is everything you could want from a short break in the Cotswolds.
The village itself is beautiful, a well kept secret with some incredibly nice houses nearby that allows for a nice walk. There’s a lovely wool farm just up the road, perfect for afternoon tea! The village even has a community funded local outdoor swimming pool!

Overall the pub was lovely after a recent refurb (September 2012) and is just what you look for in a quiet break. The service was exceptional, the food was lovely and the bar and garden area were quintessentially English and perfect in the sun. It was particularly nice of Lana, the owner, to come and say hello during dinner!

The bedroom (room 1) was nice and big and very well styled. Very comfy Hypnos king size bed and a decent en suite (shower not bath). Only slight downside is that’s it’s above the bar which can be noisy if you want an early night and also below the office which can also be noisy. However, these are very minor points in the scheme of things and the room on the whole was of a very high standard.

Beyond all that, the whole experience was exceptionally good value and we’ll definitely be returning!
I would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely B&B and can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 1 had massive king size hypnos bed and nice en suite shower. It is above the bar so if want an...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rick222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is such an amazing place with a real buzz. The food is delicious, the service personal and intuitive and the atmosphere and location really lovely. I couldn't find anything to fault. My children also love it - and I found the menu a good mixture of choices, with the bar menu particularly good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally_peach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife and I stayed on Sunday night and booked for Sunday Lunch, Had a pint first in the bar
buzy/busy atmosphere in both bar and restaurant.
Both had traditional roast beef "Sunday Lunch" ,it was superb ,perfectly cooked beef +. tasty veg and yorkshires.
Room was small but tastefully appointed (window opener broken) with stylish bathroom including rain shower , not cheap for pub accommodation at £100+ my only complaint ( I believe has been voiced before) is that there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room
To me this seems short-sighted taking into account the small amount involved (even Travelodge offer this)
I was awake at 6.30 am on Sunday morning and had to wait until breakfast at 8.00am to have
a drink of tea!. At £245 for room and lunch this is unacceptable and I cannot understand why it is not offered . If people didn't want it then they would not use it and the only expense to the owner would be a kettle and some teabags !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This pub serves delicious food, the staff are friendly, the atmosphere is buzzy and its so cosy, you could spend hours just hanging out. It isn't cheap but you get value for your money as the quality of the ingredients and the taste of the menu are brilliant. Great for Sunday lunch with the family or a night out with friends. Also perfect for a quiet drink whilst reading your book.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Beautiful building, fantastic food, good value, and very professional service. Our group of 25 had one of the best lunches we have had out for a long while. make sure you get their homemade bread too, yummy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lechlade
5.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairford
255 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
730 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,830 reviews
22.0 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
435 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Alls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Alls

Address: Filkins, Lechlade GL7 3JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lechlade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lechlade
Price Range: £87 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Five Alls 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Alls in Filkins is a country pub, restaurant with rooms set in the picturesque Cotswold village of Filkins; located between the historic towns of Burford and Lechlade on Thames. With two restaurant areas, a large garden, a cosy alpine style snug with fireplace, a thriving village bar and four pretty double rooms; the pub has something to cater to all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Five Alls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing