We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful location, staff very friendly and helpful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plough at Kelmscott
Ranked #2 of 10 Lechlade B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful location, staff very friendly and helpful.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a Groupon deal and found the Plough Inn to be excellent. The rooms were lovely, great food and a perfect setting in a small village. I would definitely recommend staying here. The staff were so polite and friendly and it was no trouble for them to serve us breakfast in the garden on a sunny morning. It was blissful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyBoyAndGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    97
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
37
231
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great value 2 night B&B break. Very friendly staff & locals. Good cooked breakfast but fruit was lacking. We ate in the evenings and both the starter of "posh ham & chips" and "pork head to toe"were works of art with the chef personally talking you through the latter. Worth coming just for this! Well kept cask ales. Lovely weather so very good walks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in the Georgian room. Very nice four poster and jacuzzi shower. Only complaint was no shelf space for make-up etc and drench shower very hot and we could not regulate it but we forgot to mention it so didn't give them a chance to fix it. Would certainly use again, very pleasant staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christineboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We returned to The Plough for the second year running. As before, staff very friendly, food very good - especially the full English breakfast which my husband enjoyed each morning!. The fly in the ointment was our very noisy room, Thames room - avoid at all cost if you are "early to bed" people. It is over the kitchen & cellar - I think, as the noise from the room below was awful. Droning of air con/ cooler, barrel changing & general hubbub kept us awake until well past midnight. It is a very popular local pub, I guess this results in all the noise. I would make a point of avoiding this room should we return in the future.

Room Tip: Don't go for the Thames room if you go to bed before midnight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My other half and I stayed on a two night deal and had a very enjoyable stay. Very friendly staff and very helpful. I ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the food was ok but not out of this world. Our room was very nice and clean and if it hadn't have been so hot I would give this pub another half a star. Thank goodness they provided a fan otherwise it would have been unbearable. Set in a very quiet area, close to the river Thames and not far from Lechlade, we would go back and would ask for the same room.

Room Tip: We were in room six, a family room, well away from the bar so noise not a problem. (And we were ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDIANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Yes the Plough is set In the middle of no where, but that is the attraction of the Plough. The country side is amazing and for a set of parents that are always on the go it was the perfect place just to relax and unwind and find out what it is like to be adults again.
The welcome we got very warm and welcoming.
The breakfast was very filling and with local produce very nice, the evening meal yet again was very nice.
The room was very tidy and yet again just what we wanted.
We have all ready said that will be arranging another weekend away there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights spent at The Plough and would like to say that we cannot fault the Inn at all. The location is good, tucked away, close to the Thames Path, and near to other lovely villages, the rooms were full of character, clean and comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff were all lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. We will definitely return to The Plough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidM_54_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lechlade
9.6 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
8.7 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.2 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 10 in Lechlade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Five Alls
The Five Alls
#3 of 10 in Lechlade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough at Kelmscott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough at Kelmscott

Property: The Plough at Kelmscott
Address: Kelmscott, Lechlade GL7 3HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lechlade
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lechlade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plough at Kelmscott 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Plough at Kelmscott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough At Kelmscott Hotel Lechlade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing