We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLOUGH ON...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plough at Kelmscott
Ranked #2 of 10 Lechlade B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Four of us stayed overnight because this pub with rooms and restaurant is perfectly placed for the Thames Path, which we are walking. We also wanted to visit the William Morris Kelmscott Manor,which is literally just up the road. It was ideal. The staff were welcoming and hospitable, the rooms were comfortable, and the food was superb. The only things which stop me giving it five-stars: the lack of blinds on the bathroom window, and the poor sound-proofing (our neighbours started watching TV at 0530 and we were compelled to listen too.) Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaptainKanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is one of our all time favorites. We have been twice and will be going again in September. The staff are so friendly and helpful and Thistle the dog personally inspects everyone at least once during your stay. The food is yummy and even in the depths of winter the welcome is very warm. Maggie Nichols-Connor

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggieconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Really lovely weekend - the staff could not be more helpful, and the food was lovely. We really enjoyed our weekend, river nearby, lovely pubs around us, Bicester within an hour. Highly recommended and would visit again.

Room Tip: we had Cotswolds and it was set up as a twin, with a fair amount of space, and window onto the terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentgirl_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Charming staff team in a pretty little rural area, brilliant for walkers and anyone who loves the countryside. Great food.nice people. Would definitely return.nice rooms and dog friendly bar.great area to explore Oxford or the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a lovely stay at The Plough with our Springer Spaniel Woody. The Plough has a very warm feeling to it situated in the middle of a quiet village. Our room was comfortable, the food was excellent and the staff extremely welcoming and friendly. Would definitely recommend staying here particularly if you have a dog.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanShacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Delightful location, quite difficult to find. On a sunny day, lunch outside in the sun is what summer is all about in an English village setting. The waitress / barperson was really cheerful and friendly. Service was excellent.

We only had lunch, did not stay the night.

Mixed antipasta was fine, but main course, bacon and avocado salad was really quite poor for the price, with very little avocado, some hard bacon, and, well, lettuce. Soft chips, but they filled you I suppose

Summer pudding was large and with a lot of fruit.

Overall, this is pub/restaurant is worth seeking out; we would give it one more chance on the food front, but average is all our party could give it this time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a Groupon deal and found the Plough Inn to be excellent. The rooms were lovely, great food and a perfect setting in a small village. I would definitely recommend staying here. The staff were so polite and friendly and it was no trouble for them to serve us breakfast in the garden on a sunny morning. It was blissful.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyBoyAndGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lechlade
6.1 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairford
259 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
348 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,265 reviews
2.2 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 10 in Lechlade
613 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Five Alls
The Five Alls
#4 of 10 in Lechlade
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough at Kelmscott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough at Kelmscott

Address: Kelmscott, Lechlade GL7 3HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lechlade
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lechlade
Price Range: £105 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plough at Kelmscott 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Plough at Kelmscott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough At Kelmscott Hotel Lechlade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing