We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best for miles”

River Vale Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 18 Restaurants in Lechlade
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best for miles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a cracking little chinese. I live in Fairford which has 2. The Fairford chinese take aways hygiene scores are low and the food is poor, hence why we had to travel to find one we liked. Although they dont deliver, many of my neighbours also come here for thier chinese fix.

A good range on the menu, even though I often have the same meal. Service is pleasant and cooked quickly to order. I dont eat onions so my meals cant be taken from a pre made batch. The price is good also, especially for the south.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank butty_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    7
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberaeron
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having read the reviews of the River Vale in Lechlade 11 of us, who were in a bowls tour from Wales, decided to try it out last Saturday evening. We didn't think for a minute we would be able to book having read there were only four tables, but we were lucky. What a welcome! (even though we arrived 45 minutes late due to poor service by a taxi company) The restaurant is owned and run by Win Ying, her sister & brother in law. Take no notice of 1st impressions - as previous reviewers have said - it is like eating in someone's front room.
We ordered in groups of 2, 3 or 4 & these orders were put on separate bills with great efficiency by Win. I was in a group of 4 and shared the set meal for 4 at a cost of £22 per head ( a shared platter of 5 different starters, aromatic duck with pancakes etc .,followed by 3 large mains with rice & tea or coffee). We are all VERY big eaters but we failed to finish - the meal would have fed 6 easily. The other groups had wonderful food too.
If I lived closer to Lechlade I would not be writing this review - I'd have to keep it a secret!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Diwedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A tiny hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

I've used River Vale for takeaways a couple of times, and found the food to be very good indeed. Last night, me and Mrs B decided to have a bit of a drive out, and a meal.

The restaurant is very small - only 4 tables, and not decorated like a Chinese restaurant at all. It is very homely, a bit like being in someone's front room. The lady owner is very friendly and welcoming, and gave some great recommendations....the fried dumplings with ginger and vinegar were out of this world. The salt and pepper squid is also worthy of a mention, beautifully cooked, and attractively presented. The toffee apple dessert was also a highlight.

All in all, a lovely meal, reasonably priced and good friendly service. We'll certainly be back for more.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BeardyBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really good Chinese food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Tiny restaurant, where you are looked after extremely well. Very good value - the cooking is excellent, a cut above pretty much anything you will find outside Kensington. The chilli squid is superb. A good take away too. You'll go here for the food, not the ambience - it's a bit like eating in someone's front room.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maltavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately this restaraunt is hidden away and hard to find but it is 110% worth going and sitting in for a meal, the lady is lovely the food is wonderfull but i highly reccomend to eat in to enjoy the food propoerly

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank nobbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Vale Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Lechlade, Cotswolds
Lechlade, Cotswolds
 
Lechlade, Cotswolds
Lechlade, Cotswolds
 
Lechlade, Cotswolds
 

Been to River Vale Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing