We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and great customer service”

River Vale Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 18 Restaurants in Lechlade
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bucknell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great customer service”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is he third time I've had a take-away from this completelky unassuming restaurant and on occasion it has been a pleasure to be looked after the host/owner and the food is just so fresh and appetising. Would heartily recommend you try it at least for a take-away. The restaurant is small and quirky with a limited number of covers; but that wouldn't ditract from the service or the food quality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    9
    1
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead Berkshire England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Found this restaurant on trip advisor & was not disappointed, although tiny with only 4 tables it was very cosy. The owner was very friendly & nothing was too much trouble, we wanted something that was not on the menu & that wasn't a problem. The food arrived freshly cooked & piping hot & best of all tasted fantastic!! BEST Chinese meal we have had in a long while.
The bill was very reasonable & drinks were not over priced as sometimes you find, If we are ever in this area again we will definitely return. Keron & Mark Jordan

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I'm lucky enough to live in Lechlade, and have frequented River Vale numerous times. The menu is extensive, the food is cooked to a high standard and the welcome is second to none.
I know of many people from the surrounding villages (which have their own Chinese) who choose to come to this restaurant for their Chinese food.
The restaurant has 4 - 6 tables, but will be moved around to accommodate different size groups.
The take-away is always quick, always ready on-time, and more importantly, correct (which is more than I can say for some!)
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the service is really excellent. Very highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Chinese Cracker”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A strange restaurant in that it is not like your typical chinese restaurant but don't be put off because looks can deceive and the Rive Vale certain deceives. With only 4 tables it is smaller than your average chinese restaurant but what it lacks in size is certainly made up by the quality of the service and food. People travel from far a field to eat at this restaurant and once you eat there you'll know why. Very highly recommended - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very good chinese food, hidden away in Lechlade”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I live in Lechlade not too far away from this restaurant/takeaway and popped in there last night for a takeaway. Food is always cooked to a very high standard. The vegetarian choices are also extremely good, and they will adapt meat dishes if required to suit vegetarians i.e. Singapore Noodles without the meat.

We have driven further afield to try out other Chinese Takeaways/ Restaurants, but there seems little point, this one never fails to get it right. Whilst I acknowledge that the restaurant area is a bit small, they will always do what they can to accommodate. When I popped in for a takeaway last night, they seemed to have one big group of circa 25, and had moved around chairs and tables to accommodate, and everyone seemed happy enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Vale Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Lechlade, Cotswolds
Lechlade, Cotswolds
 
Lechlade, Cotswolds
Lechlade, Cotswolds
 
Lechlade, Cotswolds
Lechlade, Cotswolds
 

Been to River Vale Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing