We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant

The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Highworth
Price range: US$7 - US$37
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Georgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Highworth Hotel and Restaurant is under new ownership as from April 2016, with new management and great new chef. We offer good quality home-cooked food, using local produce where possible, at affordable prices. Combine this with a relaxed, yet stylish setting, and great, personal service from our friendly team and we hope that The Highworth Experience is something you will want to come back for time and time again.
Highworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our recent visit to the Highworth for dinner met all the criteria required of a quality establishment. Warm welcome, attentive service, excellent food and a general feeling of satisfaction. Keep up this super standard and future success is guaranteed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WOOFY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    36
    11
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Professional, great service and we WILL visit again ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Ideal for a relaxing drink on a summers evening or for a candle lit meal. But, we have also found this restaurant to be a perfect location for a nice evening for business entertainment.
Chinese and German visitors loved the history, location and venue. The service and food was perfect. We will all re-visit, with family, friends and other work colleagues.
Quality food, wine list, service, location and the staff are really nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sibrown1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love this place (most of the time)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Mostly excellent, with the occasional epic fail. I think that probably sums the Highworth up nicely.

If you catch them on a good day, then you're in for an incredibly affordable treat. But on a bad day (and I've experienced it a few times) it can be a frustrating and disappointing experience.

When it's bad - expect a long wait and an odd attitude from the staff. I wish I could understand why they let things slip sometimes, because the place has fantastic potential, and I almost always enjoy the food.

Perhaps it's still finding its feet, and if so I hope it becomes more consistent - it will then start to receive the praise it (mostly) deserves.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamieAnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We went to The Highworth for a family Sunday lunch to celebrate my Wife's birthday. It was our first visit to the restaurant in its new guise, but won't be the last. The staff were very good and accommodating, thanks to a last minute increase in our party. The restaurant has been very tastefully refurbished and not at all cramped. The food was very good, representing good value for the quality, but not cheap in comparison to some of the carveries, but you mostly get what you pay for these days.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiltshirewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good quality venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had Sunday lunch there twice in last two weeks. A fairly upmarket experience. Excellent atmosphere. Meat excellent quality. Vegetables quality but small in quantity Price probably about right for sort of restaurant. Any higher and it would NOT be value for money.

Staff young but pleasant and efficient. Car park is very difficult to access. Better to park in the High St - a couple of minutes walk from the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrecianHighworthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

 
Highworth, Wiltshire
Highworth, Wiltshire
 
Highworth, Wiltshire
Highworth, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing