We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to see Quetzal, have breakfast or stay the night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eco - Hospedaje Ranchitos del Quetzal
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Fantastic little place. Stop by for an early breakfast meal or come early afternoon and stay the night. Owners have lots of fruit trees on the property where quetzals come to eat. Rooms are basic, but tidy. Staff is very friendly and the food (especially breakfast) is excellent!

Highly recommend if you are on the Quetzal hunt.

Room Tip: Ask the owners to point out the trees where the Quetzal come, then take the closest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LifeRemotely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed here a night to see the Quetzal bird, on of the most beautiful birds of the world (in my opinion), and I was highly rewarded, when they were flying around and feeding at 6.30 am. It is said to be one of the most reliable places to see these birds.
There are several rooms and cabins, check them our carefully, some smell very musty, others have more air and light. Some are older, I looked at them 20 years ago. The owner and his helpers are very helpful and excited about the birds themselves. There is great hiking in the cloud forest on the property itself and in the nearby biotope de Quetzal.
I was dropped off by a shuttle from Lanquin (or Coban) and picked up by another shuttle the next morning, so it make the traveling part very easy. But there are also buses that can be flagged down.
The main negative is the big road going by the place. The owner told me, it used to go a different way, but since it was rerouted through this area, it has destroyed a lot.
You could also go herre early in the morning, if you need more comfort, and pay a entrance fee. For me it was worth staying here and see all the plants, flowers and birds.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Purplecat8104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

This small Ecolodge in the middle of the Quetzal rainforest is really a gem. You can select from a few different bungalows, all at very affordable prices. The bungalows are very simple, nothing fancy, but suited well to the location. Most importantly, the family who run this lodge are the sweetest! Their school-age daughter brought us a tortilla upon arrival, and joined us for a game of playing cards in the evening. Julio, the father, will show you all the best places to see the Quetzal bird. We recommend not straying too far from the lodge so that you can take advantage of his keen spotting technique! Finally, the mother is an amazing cook and makes the best platos típicos!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank munmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. Not because of the ammenities (which are quite limited) but because of the special one-to-one attention you receive at a small family run hostel.
Our rooms were a good size with private toilet/shower. We had a problem with the hot water, but this was fixed when asked. The room isn't the cleanist and I would definitely suggest wearing your flip flops in the shower. One of the windows in the bathroom was broken so we put a towel over it to keep the heat in. (It does get chilly here in the autumn/winter!) The other problem with the broken window was the noise of the traffic coming from the road. It is one of the major routes between Coban and Guatemala City. Ear plugs required!
Food is available in their comedor restaurant. I believe three dishes were on offer for dinner and breakfast was available too. Food was very tasty and the serving size was quite reasonable. Meals are not included in the price of the accommodation.
There is a pleasant walking trail down to a river with *small* waterfalls which starts on the property. The hotel is very close to the Bioptopo Quetzal and is visible from the Biotopo's entrance - easy walking distance.
The family was very friendly and accommodating. They informed us of the local bus schedule and how much we should pay to get to Guatemala City and even offered to take us to town to buy a ticket. In the end, we decided not to take them up on their offer, as it is possible to flag down transport on the road and purchase tickets on the bus. Also, speaking of friendly, the family has a young daughter who is *very* eager to show you all the quetzal birds on their property,
As you can imagine from the description above, you don't stay at the Ranchito del Quetzal for the accommodations. It is the location!! If you are interested in seeing the quetzal bird (Guatemala's national bird and historically, the bird was of great importance to the Mayan civilisations), this is the place to be. The best time for viewing is in late afternoon and early morning. We saw 6 birds in total - including males with the brightly coloured tails. Great photo opportunity!
Overall, I would highly recommend this property because of its location, likelihood of seeing the quetzal bird and the friendliness of the family who runs the place. If you don't mind roughing it for a night or two you will take home lots of memories here.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sc3traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo_Chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murzillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baja Verapaz Department
20.6 mi away
Casa Gaia
Casa Gaia
#1 of 14 in Coban
111 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Ram Tzul
Hotel Ram Tzul
#8 of 14 in Coban
69 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Paniste
Hotel Paniste
#7 of 45 in Alta Verapaz Department
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Hotel San Jeronimo
Hotel San Jeronimo
#1 of 2 in San Jeronimo
12 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Delights Hotel
Country Delights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Purulha
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco - Hospedaje Ranchitos del Quetzal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco - Hospedaje Ranchitos del Quetzal

Address: CA-14, Km 160.5, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Baja Verapaz Department
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Baja Verapaz Department
Price Range: £22 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Natural Reserve where the visits can enjoy a full experience discovering the beautiful cloud forest, have a night in our main house and with patience and a little lucky, to see our national bird: the Resplendent Quetzal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eco - Hospedaje Ranchitos del Quetzal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing