We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magical Andalucian getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Viewes from terracle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Viewes from terracle
Upstairs bedroom with 3 beds and 1 additional, can put a hammock for children. Night view of the house from the pool deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Viewes from terracle
Upstairs bedroom with 3 beds and 1 additional, can put a hammock for children.
Night view of the house from the pool deck
From October to May we place the hot tub under the porch
View of porch and sundeck with 4 sun loungers by the pool
Master bedroom ground floor heating
Views from the outside, to the left of the image is the waterfall 20 meters high
Master bedroom on first floor, air-conditioned TV and DVD.
Sady and Alejandro in one of the waterfall near de house, 300 m.
Waterfall near de house, 400 m.
Hot Tub
Montefrio, 20 km from the house. One of the most beautiful villages in Andalucia.
Waterfall near de house, 30 m.
Views from the terrace, you feel like a good wine and enjoy the view
View from the cave, where they lived for many years the former owners of the house.
Hamacas from Colombia
Little wooden house that we have behind the house
Inside the playhouse
Our children, playing in the little wooden house that we have behind the house, next to the cave.
Kitchen
Playroom
Bathroom on ground floor
Kitchen
Living room at Christmas, TV with satellite
River near the house at 300 m
View from the pool
Los Patios in Córdoba to 1,30 h
La Mezquita in Córdoba to 1,30 h
Market in Granada 1 h
Sunset at the Alhambra in Granada 1 h
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Montefrio, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katherine...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical Andalucian getaway”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked El Tajil hoping for a relaxing break where we could have fun with friends and family in beautiful surroundings with guaranteed sunshine and plenty of entertainment and we couldn't have been happier with our choice.

Ele and Sady were wonderful hosts, meeting us on arrival and showing us all of the facilities, inside and out, including the well-stocked vegetable garden and the fabulous waterfall that can be heard from the villa.

The house itself was perfect for our needs, accommodating 2 families of 4 very comfortably, with a pool, jacuzzi, sun terrace, table tennis, table football and pool table providing all of the entertainment we needed. The kitchen was very well stocked and all the appliances worked well (allthough the cooker was a little fiddly to operate). We brought our own music system, but not sure what would have been available had we not.

We enjoyed daily trips to the local town of Algarinejo (a 5-minute drive away) to top up on supplies at the local supermarket, which stocked pretty much everything we needed. A visit to the waterfall along the river walk to Algarinejo and a trip to Cordoba (1.5-2 hours away) to see the old town and Le Mesquita are also highly recommended.

I would thoroughly recommend a stay at El Tajil for anyone looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday - the beautiful views from the terrace and balcony and the fun, laughter-filled evenings sat around the outdoor dining table accompanied by the sound of the cicadas and the running water from the waterfall will stay in my memory for a long time to come. Oh and there were no mosquitoes - amazing!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the sun terrace / pool
Liked least: There was nothing that we did not like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimetayl...
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing, homely base for the week. Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We (4 adults, all family and a toddler) absolutely loved El Tajil. It's a beautiful home in a wonderful setting. If you're looking to get away and relax then this house is perfect. We felt immediately at home there - it's been lovingly furnished and it's very well equipped. We didn't want to leave!

Sady and Ele are fantastic hosts and we felt very welcomed. They waited for us to arrive, despite our late arrival on the Saturday, left us with an abundance of fruit and veg from their trees and veg patch, and spent time showing us around, explaining how everything works and talking us through the local area.

The place and setting is very photogenic, it's as stunning as it looks in the pics, if not more! There's also a new larger table in place of the one in the pics (between the house and pool) and we spent lots of time there - eating, reading and just hanging out.

If you do go, we urge you to take a walk through the river to the local town, Algarinejo. It was a highlight of the holiday - lots of fun wading through the (mainly knee high) water and it's incredibly beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet, relaxing, the river walk, lovely setting
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimB3147
Houston, Renfrewshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Villa we have stayed in”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This holiday was a triumph from start to finish. We were met by Elie on our arrival and he explained everything to us and gave us his contact details in case we needed him. The house was absolutely wonderful and had everything we required. The girls were so impressed with how well equipped the kitchen was which made everything so easy for us. There were 4 adults and two young children (who just loved the pool and the cave to play in). the Villa was close to the road but we felt that there was nobody else around. We have, in the past, found some villas in Spain which were difficult to get to but not this one. The village was a joy as well and so friendly. Certainly a great place to come if you need to re-charge your batteries.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
thank you very much for leaving our house as clean.
We hope to see you soon and share more time with you.
A big hug for the whole family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A stunning house in a stunning location - superb!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful week at El Tajil. The house is beautifully designed and immaculate throughout, and has everything you need - the air conditioning in the upstairs bedrooms was especially welcome! The area surrounding El Tajil is equally beautiful. There is a magical riverside walk very close by, and several charming villages and towns within a half-hour drive. There were three generations on this holiday - children, parents and grandparents - and all had a fabulous time. Thank you so much to Ele for his kind welcome and helpfulness throughout the week. We hope to return to El Tajil in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. S
1 review
“Feedback on Holiday home El Tajil in Algarinejo/Andalucia”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at El Tajil for 9 nights and enjoyed the place very much. The owner had it outfitted as perfect family holiday destination with many amenities for children, especially the pool and the table tennis. While the kids played, the parents took a rest on the terrace. We found the House fully equipped (dish washer / washing machine etc), and the owner helped out whenever we had a question. Perhaps the most enjoyable holiday accomodation we ever stayed in, certainly worth a warm recommendation.

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2014
Thank you very much for your comments.
We hope to see all your family in our house on another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrynaTrur...
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had fantastic holidays at El Tajil. The house has amazing views. The surroundings are very quiet and peaceful. There are few waterfalls nearby worth visiting.
The house inside is simply unique and a credit to the owners. There are well equipped kitchen (with a dishwasher!) and a very good BBQ outside.
Our children were delighted to find a Wendi house tucked away behind the villa, a slide, swings and a hammock.
The owner, Ele, was extremely helpful and quick to respond to texts. Although, there is plenty to see in neighbouring villages and towns, we opted to relax outside enjoying the views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Yrina thank you very much for your comment.
We hope to see you another time, so Olivia could to play with Alejandro and Angela.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twitcher7...
Essex
2 reviews
“perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

When we booked El Tajil we were confident it was going to be a great place to spend a week relaxing and we were not dissapointed. When we arrived the owners Sady & Ele were there to greet us and they made us feel very welcome straight away. Fortunately Ele's English was good enough to give us all the information about the property and the surrounding area as well as places to visit.
El Tajil itself is a very comfortable place that has a nice homely feel and feels very spacious, the kitchen is spacious and well equipped. The lounge has two sofas and a TV that has a few English speaking channels. The bedrooms are comfortable and we slept very well. The showers were fantastic, plenty of hot water and great pressure.
Outside there are plenty of places to sit and chill out including a hammock ,swing chairs, sun loungers and a large table and chairs for a bit of alfresco dining!!
The pool may not be the biggest you will ever see but it is definitely a welcome sight on a hot day.
There seems to be plenty for kids to do including Table football, pool table, table tennis and obviously the swimming pool.
The nearest town is Algarinajo which is less than 5 minutes in the car but I must recommend you walk via the river path at least once which includes waterfalls and plenty of wildlife.
Algarinajo has several places to eat and a supermarket.
Back to El Tajil, the view from the villa is very pleasing and for anyone who enjoys bird watching, plenty of different species can be seen as well as bats in the evening.
Once again I must just mention how helpful and welcoming Sady & Ele were and should be very proud of the fine holiday home they have created.
Enjoy!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
Toby thank you very much for your words.
A loved us your comments. We hope to return, and this time if we have time, we will invite you to a rich paella.
Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$117
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing