We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”
Review of Hotel La tartana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La tartana
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in La Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
Alcaucin, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

A wonderful experience from start to finish, the hotel is surrounded by beautiful flowers and a relaxing bubbling water feature in the reception courtyard greets you on arrival. The room was lovely with nice touches such as complimentary water, sweets on the pillow and a very comfortable bed with mosquito netting if you wanted to throw the shutters open and sleep with a natural cool breeze. Saying that air. conditioner was also installed if you prefer.

Spent the first half of the evening on the terrace leading off the bedroom with a bottle of cava watching the sunset - fabulous views over the bay, not to be missed! Then downstairs for dinner on the lovely romantic outdoor seating area, filled with fairy lights and the piano player's music drifting down from upstairs. The food was outstanding, menu was so creative I struggled to choose, I wanted to try it all! The staff were very friendly, full of advice and eager to please.

Needless to say we've already booked to come back again, this time bringing my parents too. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    29
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
103
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Competa
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We have stayed a number of times at this little gem under the previous owners, Barry and Penny. We were interested to find out what had changed under the new owners, Ged and Amanda. Initially there weren't too many obvious changes but we noticed an improvement to some of the styling and decor in the common areas. The rooms were much as we had remembered previously - rustic, simple but comfortable. The only comment would be perhaps better lighting, which is a little dim and dingy and the en-suite could do with a better shower and again better lighting. These are minor critiscisms and in no way spoilt our stay but I guess we were looking for a new owner stamp.
We ate in the restaurant and have to say the service was very good and friendly. Only slight comment was it took a little time to get a drink. Give me a menu and a drink and I'll be happy to wait a bit for service. The food was excellent and well presented. The wine list was good and the wine we chose - Concordia - warranted another bottle! The menu had a good choice, however, previously the menu was always interesting as it had a Tex-Mex/Asiatic feel which made it interesting and different. This is in no way a critiscism of the quality of the current menu. Breakfast was served at the table and was varied and plentiful.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and no doubt in time more of a new owner stamp will be made. The staff were very friendly and helpful with special mention to Jonathan and Marie-Carmen. Keep it up and I'm sure we'll be back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlickH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Very spanish a perfect hosteltry so comfortable food fabulous also the
slection of wine

Room Tip: rooms ver spanish
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I stayed for 2 nights at the end of a long trip in the mountains, its was like a release back to sanity and normality, Ged and Amanda are just the nicest people and combine their personalities to ensure that you feel completely welcome. I was initially inspired and impressed with the ambiance of La Tartana but nothing prepared me for the quality of the food and the level of service you receive at this excellent hotel and restaurant. I'm a perfectionist and usually find some small fault ...but the only thing I could find was “the fillet steak was slightly salty” but I still left a clean plate and bought the chefs team beer each night - and I didn't do that at Claridges. I can honestly say that the food, wine, service and ambiance are the best I have experienced ANYWHERE. I will provide my mobile and email if you want more information or doubt this review and how much I rate this place – they even have resident wild bees, and Whisky you cant get in England – I have dreams about the Moroccan lamb so I hope to see you soon and Thank You. Ged, Amanda, Jonathan and the team. Mark Brown [--]

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace bit they are all very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markbrown768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

If you want something different from the bog standard Spanish Hotel then this is your place. A wonderful hidden retreat off the coast of La Herradura.

Wonderful setting, stylish, magical, romantic - if you do not stay in the hotel, then you must visit the restaurant without a doubt.
Wonderful staff and thank you so much for a great stay to everyone there you were all so very helpful and kind. This hotel has gone the extra mile to pay attention to the little things which is something you rarely get nowadays. Simply charming !
Would recommend this hotel to all of my friends and they're often hard to please !!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We have stayed here before and couldn't resist going back. First time round we were single and care free and now not so much with our beautiful 3 year old! There are new owners which was a bit of a worry but to our absoluate delight, it was better than before. The owners Jed and Mandy are exceptional hosts. The accommodation is so comfortable yet sophisticated. We live in Spain and have been here a few times before and we LOVE it here. The restaurant is very romantic (yes its still possible with a 3 year old) and the terrace is tranquil and makes you want to curl up and stay there forever. La Herradura is a very special place and allows you to experience a very Spanish experience with class. Not to be missed!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natashaspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harlow, essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Hotel La Tartana is a fantastic stylish hotel. Our hotel room was designed to an exquisite taste Room no. 6...... We arrived to stay as a treat for my sister-in-law's birthday and were greeted by delightful staff and the owners Jed & Mandy...... Their food was cooked to perfection and I would highly recommend the fish courses and my husband enjoyed the Duck main course...... Splendid choice of wines too. I would highly recommend you to visit this hotel. Upon leaving we were offered a wide selection of breakfast choices. Please try this hotel out for yourself and I promise you you will have no regrets whatsoever...... :0) Thank you once again to Jed, Mandy and all their lovely staff too..............xxxxx

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolineoakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Herradura
0.6 mi away
Sol Los Fenicios
Sol Los Fenicios
#2 of 5 in La Herradura
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 5 in La Herradura
239 reviews
2.4 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#12 of 24 in Almunecar
1,243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almijara
Hotel Almijara
#4 of 5 in La Herradura
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension La Herradura
Pension La Herradura
#3 of 5 in La Herradura
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La tartana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La tartana

Property: Hotel La tartana
Address: Urb San Nicolas, 18697 La Herradura, Almunecar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar > La Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in La Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel La tartana 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The striking Andaluz patio centered on a Moorish fountain greets all to this beautifully designed and romantic corner of La Herradura.The bedrooms all lead off from the central courtyard and are decorated and furnished to a high standard.The spacious restaurant is complemented by levels of outdoor dining terraces surrounded by well stocked Mediterranean gardens framing a view of the 2 kilometre wide bay of La Herradura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La tartana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Tartana Spain/La Herradura, Province Of Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing