We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, amazing dinner and delightful owners”
Review of Hotel La tartana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La tartana
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in La Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We visited in May 2013 and had an amazing (and too short!) stay. The owners are very kind and welcoming, the rooms are beautiful. We had a room overlooking the Sea with a balcony. We loved the beachy chic decour.

The restaurant is gourmet and what we appreciated most is how accommodating they were of dietary restrictions. Nothing on the menu worked for me (a vegan), but they assured us they'd be able to accommodate, and did they ever! The chef prepared a delicious salad, followed by the best vegetable curry dish I've had. And it was topped off with homemade ginger sorbet. It was a night to remember.

Absolutely worth a stay and a meal!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaudeHertfordshire, Owner at Hotel La tartana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We were so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We at La Tartana pride ourselves on our service and always strive to make our guests feel at home
The Chef will always go the extra mile for anyone with alternative dietary requirements and is not at all phased by.coming off our regular menu. Once again a big thank you and best wishes from all at La Tartana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

Beautiful setting, lovely courtyard. The room was lovely, quite a rustic feel yet with an element of chic. The owners and the staff were very friendly and added to the relaxed feel. The food was just superb, could not fault it in any way. Will definitely be back

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank des2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We visited La Tartana with some very good friends and had another Fantastic meal. Jed and Amanda and the team made us feel so welcome and special. Thank you to you all, we will be back again real soon.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

HOME MADE PASTA! RISOTTO YOU DREAM ABOUT! I know how to make them...! I went to the Cookery school yesterday and left uplifted, excited and FULL! The owners Mandy & Jed made me very welcome and the Chef Mark is incredible! He has the art of cooking and talking at the same time, he’s incredibly knowledgeable and unselfish sharing all the tips n tricks of the trade. I’m going back to do another course and to enjoy an evening meal in the stunning surroundings..... and to taste the Gourmet Tapas!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaudeHertfordshire, Owner at Hotel La tartana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Thank you so much for your great response. We put a lot of effort into our cookery lessons and everyone goes away either with a new skill or a top tip to make life a little easier in the kitchen. Above all we want people to have fun and enjoy the whole experience. Once again a big thank you from all the team and happy cooking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We spent two nights at this little gem, it certainly felt like staying with friends as just about everyone had a chat over a wine, we enjoyed a special themed Valentine's Day tasting menu, the food was fabulous...beautifully presented and a real treat all for 35euros.
Jed and Amanda are the nicest people, they are friendly and down to earth, please remember this is not a 5 star hotel, its a small wonderful gem in a little town where many of the charming international community embrace and love La Tartana...
The coffee here is amazing...and Breakfast adequate.
La Herradura is just 45min from Malaga, and 1 hour to Granada, if your there for Sunday Lunch book early !
We may have had the smallest room, we were lucky to get that...make sure you book ahead, and pay the extra! ....room's with seaview are spacious and nicely decorated...although they face the road...
All in All we had a great experience with hosts who genuinely enjoy meeting people.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra and have a front room...they are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wendyinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

After making a wrong turn and ending up trapped in the maze of streets in La Herradura, our GPS guided us down a dirt road, under a bridge, and precisely back to the road we had turned from 30 minutes prior. We arrived at La Tartana a bit frazzled but that soon dissipated into pure calm as we were guided straight to the terrace overlooking the sea where we soaked in the views and sipped on a nice crisp glass of white wine. Our gracious hosts made sure we felt at home and allowed us to select our rooms from the 6 or so beautiful rooms that all surround an internal courtyard. Once we were settled in, we were equipped with beach towels and sent for the short stroll to the beach. How could it get better than this??? Well, it did! We returned from our afternoon at the beach and dressed for dinner. This was truly a memorable experience, dining under the stars on the terrace with some of the most amazing food and service I encountered while in Spain. I look forward to returning this summer for a visit and maybe a class in the new cookery school!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I attended Asian cookery school on 12 December 2012 between the hours of 10 am and 2 pm included lunch. Learnt some good techniques and where to source products which are not common to Spanish stores. Great time relaxed and enjoyable, well worth the time.

Room Tip: Learning and very relaxed surrounding with good and interesting hosts, just a wonderful environment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Herradura
0.4 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 6 in La Herradura
266 reviews
2.4 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
984 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Los Fenicios by Melia
Sol Los Fenicios by Melia
#2 of 6 in La Herradura
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pena Parda Bay
Pena Parda Bay
#4 of 6 in La Herradura
35 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#9 of 25 in Almunecar
300 reviews
4.9 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#3 of 25 in Almunecar
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La tartana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La tartana

Address: Urb San Nicolas, 18697 La Herradura, Almunecar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar > La Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in La Herradura
Price Range: £57 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La tartana 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The striking Andaluz patio centered on a Moorish fountain greets all to this beautifully designed and romantic corner of La Herradura.The bedrooms all lead off from the central courtyard and are decorated and furnished to a high standard.The spacious restaurant is complemented by levels of outdoor dining terraces surrounded by well stocked Mediterranean gardens framing a view of the 2 kilometre wide bay of La Herradura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La tartana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Tartana Spain/La Herradura, Province Of Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing