We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little hotel with a big heart!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La tartana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La tartana
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in La Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little hotel with a big heart!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Have just returned from an amazing stay at this little gem of a hotel. From our arrival when we were collected from the airport by the lovely Jed, to our departure a week later, everything was fantastic!! Beautiful big room, with the most comfortable bed, Fluffy white towels every day. Yummy breakfasts enjoyed out on the terrace. Candlelit dinner, again eaten out on the terrace overlooking the sea was to die for!! Mandy's menu is on par with some of the top restaurants in London.
Having stayed in some of the best hotels around the world, what makes this little hotel stand out for us, is the unique atmosphere. You feel like you are house guests staying with old friends. From the hospitable hosts Jed and Mandy, to the informative Sue and Frank and the wonderful staff, nothing is too much trouble.
Will definitely be returning with the family to this little hidden secret!!
(As for the man who previously left such an horrendous and scathing review............may I suggest some sort of therapy, as you obviously have some serious issues!!)

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are beautiful and well worth the little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cornwallfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    29
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
14
100
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Small charming rustic style hotel,Jed and mandy excellant hosts.staff very friendly and helpful.great room ,excellant large bed,air con helped in hot weather.3 nights we stayed had meals on terrace over looking the sea,from the menu there is a excellant choice of starters ,mains and desserts,all prepared to a high standard,great idea to put freshly baked bread in hotel,on table with dip of olive oil and balsamic,very impressed with the asian duck,breakfast gives you a choice from cerials or crossent,boiled eggs,fresh baked bread,yogurts,fruit,fresh ,juice coffee and tea.If you want a small ,very clean, quiet, very frendly hotel with excellant food,this is the place for you.As a ex chef im normally critacle,but here i give all praise.if you like piano music,on wednesday nights lino plays.thanks to jed and mandy and staff for 3 excellant days,we will be back,peter and montse.

Room Tip: go on hotel home page and select a upper floor room,over looking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Hotel La tartana is a great place to stay. The hosts Jed and Mandy and their staff could not make you feel more welcome. Great room with air con and view over the bay. Menu and food is first rate and we ate at the hotel 3 nights out of 4. It's our first time to this area and La Herrandura is great place if you want a low key feel to your holiday location. Still plenty of bars and resteraunts and a great beach. No English Pubs in sight! We would definitely return to Hotel La Tartana, thanks Jed, Mandy and staff for a great break.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 with balcony and sea view over La Herradura bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Small charming boutique hotel with great personal atmosphere and service! The restaurant serves fantastic food! We had a fabulous shabby chic room with a lot of attention to detail. Would for sure return and recommend, especially to couples travelling without kids. The village and beach are fairly close - the only disadvantage is the big road in between... Roger & Ulrika

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulrika p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Competa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We wanted a relaxing night away so booked for another stay in one of our favourite boutique hotels. Since our last visit the rooms have been updated and the "new" owners stamp put on the hotel. One of the reasons for staying here is also the food, which has always been very good.
It was a Sunday evening and the restaurant was a little quieter than normal after an apparently hectic few previous nights.
I started with the Home Smoked and Fresh Salmon Salad with a Cucumber and Yoghurt Dressing, which was excellently presented and very tasty. My wife had the Crispy Herb Egg with a warm Summer Salad of Asparagus, Broad Beans & Peas with Truffled Hollandaise Dressing (see photos), which was also enjoyed.
For main course I had the Seared Asian Duck Breast with Noodles and Crispy Vegetable Wonton, which again was very good, although the duck maybe lacked taste but as a whole was enjoyable. My wife had the Prawn, Chilli and Rosemary Risotto, which she said was rather bland considering the potential for taste with the ingredients. She was a little disappointed.
For dessert we both had a cheeseboard, which had a good variety of tasty cheeses.
Overall we enjoyed the evening and the food was of a very good standard overall. Maybe lacked a little atmosphere as it was a little quiet. The waiting staff were very friendly and efficient without being over facing.
The stay in the room was comfortable with a good firm bed. The rooms have plenty of space and good sized bathrooms and everything you need. If you're interested, satellite TV is offered with English, Spanish and French programming. As we had an early start we skipped breakfast on this occasion. Still a favourite, some improved updating since last time we visited when the current owners had just taken over. A shame Jonathan has left but the current staff are still very welcoming and friendly. We will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlickH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Had a great one night stay in 'la herradura' . Wanted a nice small hotel where we could also also have a nice meal on a terrace,this fitted the bill perfectly.
After a day on the beach we just wanted to chill out. After a couple of cool beers we had a lovely meal on the upper terrace(lovely view) a bottle of the house Cava and a nice brandy to finish i was very chilled....The food is well presented and different to the usuall food you get used to in spain..
Our room was one of the cheaper doubles but was still a nice cool pleasant room with a good shower.Nice comfy(firm) beds.
Thanks to Jed for sorting the TV so we could watch a bit of Wimbledon..
We will certainly visit again...Cheers

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northwesthombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We echo all allan09 of Edinburgh UK wrote in October 2012. only wished we'd read this review pre and not post our holiday/booking. We did not have the pleasure of meeting the exemplary Jonathan we did however meet the lovely Kerin & Ellie, there is now hand wash in The room. We stayed 6 nights. Alarm bells aught to have rang during the booking process - when the usual information pack was not forthcoming -no information was requested from us. I did e- mail our full flight details and ETA as a matter of course but this was neither requested nor acknowledged. Our Ryanair flight was delayed by over 4 hours. I tried to call La Tartana without success -the line was engaged and then went to answer phone. When we did eventually arrive in La Herradura it was almost 3am. The sat nav directed us round the town in circles, there are two signs for La Tartana they lead you back to the main road but unless you know there is a little slip road off the main road it is difficult to see as it is not sign posted, we eventually came upon an open petrol station -the lovely Spanish gentleman drew a map. The hotel website should include a simple map. Finally arriving at La Tartana it took us over 25 mins to gain entry as the owners had gone to bed without making any provision for our arrival or bothering to return our calls. We were allocated room 4 which was most disappointing -the promised balcony was approx 12 inches in depth and is not at all private, the evening dinning commences at 7pm, one of the terraces looks directly into the room -the curtains are flimsy to say the least -the cord drawn cane blind was down at all times. Our room was poorly equipped, sockets loose from the wall, 4 hangers in the wardrobe which was full of cobwebs, no draws apart from 4 very small ones in the bedside tables, one of which would not open, another contained someone else's underwear. The grout in the bathroom contained mould. The bed had a waterproof mattress protector, the bedding was changed after 3 nights however the bed was then made up with a single bottom and top sheet despite the bed supposedly being a double comprising of two mattresses butted up together. I requested double sheets but was told by Amanda "it is the Spanish way" to have single sheets on a double bed, but she would have it sorted, later that evening realising the sheets remained unchanged, I spoke to Ged who told me, most guests had only stayed one night , making a greater demand on clean bedding, so there were no clean sheets ( I found it hard to comprehend they had not had the time to either purchase more sheets or do some laundry).
Ellie does her best at breakfast but has limited resources, she had great difficulty single handedly coping with demand of the guests and answering the ringing phone when the hotel was at full capacity, Breakfast is poor croissants were stale there is no other bread unless you ask for toast, although the hotel boast of making their own bread, the toasted bread was inedible as it was obviously the left over bread from the previous day/s and was rock hard. Because of the lack of food we discovered, other guests were taking the entirety of Ellie's delicious tomato and olive oil paste, juice, jam and coffee pot to their table. We ate breakfast out on the terrace, however the terrace is locked after breakfast and does not re-open until evening dinning -to our dismay we were locked out there twice during our stay as we relaxed to digest breakfast.
Jed and Amanda sat in their office off the courtyard, although they were fully aware we were sitting in the courtyard planning our day they never once thought to wish us good morning or engage in any conversation.
We ate in the hotel restaurant three times during our stay, the food is good but not outstanding but as La Herradura mainly caters to families staying in self catering apartments and is basic food we felt it was the best the area had to offer. The menu did not change during our stay and was the same contained on the website. Amanda and Jed did seem to come to life during dinner making a special fuss of other dinners but although Amanda passed by our table she never once bid us a good evening. We did find a restaurant which we felt was far superior, on the way to Nerja on a back mountain road about a mile and a half from La Tartana, Mirador de Cerro Gordo the views are spectacular and all the staff and patrons greet you with huge welcome smiles.
During evening dinner there was some lovely low background music, however we were kept awake until 2am on one evening when the volume of music was turned up seemingly during a staff party which took place on the outside terrace directly below our room, there is no double glazing so we were unable to sleep for the noise, considering I was told by Ged La Tartana is a chill out hotel, I could not understand how they were so inconsiderate of their paying guests, the following evening, Ged and Amanda were nosily entertaining friends in the same manneras the prior evening -12am the noise did not appear to be subsiding. This was the final straw -my Husband had to go out onto our 12 inch balcony and with the inconsiderate manner to which we had been treated -rudely insisted they go away.
In view of lack of sleep, inadequate sheets and no breakfast on our last day as we were told Ellie does not come into work until 9am and as we were leaving at 8am there would be no provision made for our breakfast before departure, I had intended to have our bill reduced however as We had to pay a staff member as Ged and Amanda were once again absent in their presence, I regrettably settled the bill in full.

We were so glad to get home to enjoy a good nights sleep in our delightful Hypnos bed, complete with luxurious correct fitting cool linen sheets.

We have stayed in numerous excellent B & B's and boutique hotels throughout Europe our favourite being the amazing Manoir La Betoulle in the Charente region of France run by the very professional Penny & John Hitchings Ged and Amanda would do well to pay a visit in order to pick up tips on how to treat paying clients.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank perfectionist1_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latartana, Owner at Hotel La tartana, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Inconsiderate Guests.

You did not inform us you would be late, we stayed up until 2:30 and when you failed to arrive we closed the Hotel.
You telephoned at 2:58 and you were in your room at 3:02, bypassing any check in procedures.
No Hotel supplies information packs as a matter of course, you could have requested directions and these would have been emailed to you.
We have painstakingly erected signs to La Tartana, they are 5feet long by 1 foot high and in prominent places, SatNav is not foolproof.
We are a small boutique hotel not part of someones misguided attempt at being a “hotel inspector”
Room 4 is a Beautiful room and has a Juliet Balcony, you did not request a Private Terrace, evening dinner commences at 7:30 and none of our terraces look directly into room 4. The curtains are off-white Voile and give a cool look to the room, the cord drawn wooden slat blind is there to keep the sun out. One aerial socket was loose in the room, now fixed, thanks. There are 10 hangers in each room, what did you do with the underwear???? There are mattress protectors in every room just in case of little accidents like spilling alcohol and cigarette ash on the beds, we don’t mind our guests drinking their own alcohol but we insist you do not smoke in the room, you ignored this request and left without paying the fumigation charges we insist upon. Ellie complained that your room was left in a terrible state with sand everywhere.
Day 1 and another request “I need Feather Pillows” we duly supplied feather pillows even though it is not the norm. “I need more Sheets”, 10 in all during a 6 night stay.
Breakfast, no one else complains about our breakfast and of course neither did you until you returned to the UK, your husband however was calling all of the other guests “Greedy Pigs” at breakfast, if the breakfast was inedible, why did you need to relax on the terraces to digest it????. As far as we are aware, you were not locked out on the terraces and the terrace doors are left open all day.

Our restaurant food is outstanding, read the reviews, perhaps you were more intent on acting inappropriately at your table, something the other guests commented on.
Our menu changes on a monthly basis and there are occasionally specials added but, not during your stay, also if you went back to the Mirador De Cerro Gordo in 10 years time, the menu will be the same, as it is in all the chiringuitos, incidentally all of our other guests who ventured into that restaurant were far from happy, are the alarm bells ringing now???

We find it absolutely disgusting that you were shouting obscenities and using expletives at other guests who were enjoying their after dinner drinks on the terrace 40 metres away from the hotel, and where did you get the idea that it was a staff party, perhaps you would have been a little more thoughtful if you had realised we were not involved and that it was not a staff party. By the way, your room is double glazed, if you can see a cobweb surely double glazing should not be too difficult to spot.

Your husband paid your bill the night before you left, you were offered a breakfast tray but refused saying”we will get something on the way”at no time did you complain to anyone in authority about any part of your stay.
Ryanair certainly got up your nose, we hope you have given them a piece of your mind, on our part we thank them for taking you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Herradura
0.4 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 5 in La Herradura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Los Fenicios
Sol Los Fenicios
#3 of 5 in La Herradura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.4 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#8 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#13 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La tartana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La tartana

Property: Hotel La tartana
Address: Urb San Nicolas, 18697 La Herradura, Almunecar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar > La Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in La Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel La tartana 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The striking Andaluz patio centered on a Moorish fountain greets all to this beautifully designed and romantic corner of La Herradura.The bedrooms all lead off from the central courtyard and are decorated and furnished to a high standard.The spacious restaurant is complemented by levels of outdoor dining terraces surrounded by well stocked Mediterranean gardens framing a view of the 2 kilometre wide bay of La Herradura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La tartana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Tartana Spain/La Herradura, Province Of Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing