We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful hotel, helpful staff”
Review of Hotel La tartana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La tartana
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in La Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is not your typical resort hotel. Small and friendly, each room individually decorated and all built around a moorish-style central courtyard, complete with fountain. Lovely views over the bay of La Herradura from some of the rooms. Breakfast is good, the restaurant also of a high standard for dinner, though more expensive than average for the town, which has some excellent tapas bars and seafront cafés.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Taistealoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here whilst on a short business trip to Costa Tropical Spain. This is a lovely place that has been, beautifully and tastefully renovated to reflect its true charm. We stayed in room 3 which was very spacious we had a large spectacularly comfortable brass framed bed ( bed knobs and broomstick style ) and its own seating area and a good size bathroom. The room had two large doors leading out onto it's own balcony showing views over la Herradura and beyond out to the sea. The bar and restaurant area of this hotel are equally as charming,and the food in the restaurant is amongst some of the best I have come across in my travels I would highly recommend it. But the true soul of this charming hotel are the owners Jed and Amanda, as in the previous reviews,they really do make you feel so welcome, and part of their extended family along with all the other staff we came across . So if you are looking for some where to stay in this part of Spain look no further you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room three was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helenbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaudeHertfordshire, Owner at Hotel La tartana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We pride ourselves on our service and quality of food here at La Tartana. It is all about the experience. We are glad you had a great time. It makes our job worthwhile.

Yours Amanda
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have just returned from a short break to the "real Spain" at La Herradura in the province of Granada on the delightful Costa Tropical. I chose this location after several hours of online research including, of course, Tripadvisor. The trip was to be a surprise for my husband's 60th birthday on 25 Janauary.

Then to the hotel: One stood out from all the rest and the Tripadvisor reviews were outstanding. However, it was very expensive in comparison to others despite its 1 *. I did want to spoil my other half though, so took the plunge and booked via Booking.com.

Well, I am so glad I did - what a gem! The large Andalucian house was so characterful with its open Moorish courtyard with central fountain and rooms leading off. The galleried first floor had further rooms opening onto it. The bar and restaurant were absolutely charming and the garden terraces looking out to sea and over the village were delightful offering superb views of a glorious sunset every evening surrounded by semi tropical and lush vegetation and palm trees.

The entire property had been renovated and finished in sympathy with its age and tradition and the décor was fabulous with calming muted tones of the palest duck egg blue and café con leche - absolutely delightful.

Amanda (Mandy) and Jed (proprietors) were the most amazing hosts and from the moment we stepped into the bar when we arrived were made to feel like long lost friends! We had some fantastic evenings in that bar with log fires taking the chill off when the sun had gone down. We met some charming people - all friends and customers of Jed and Mandy. Jed has the most amazing repertoire of jokes and tales (many of them true) and never ceased to keep us amused.

We were served with a wonderful meal for my husband's birthday, seated a deux in a little "snug" off the bar area and it was quite idyllic. Mark, the chef, is not only an excellent but also another friend! Mandy is a master chef and she works with Mark to ensure the very highest standards and an amazing menu (although this is severely pruned during the winter months while still providing an excellent offering). They also organize residential cookery schools which was very interesting to learn.

On Sunday nights the bar and restaurant are closed which sadly fell on our last night (we didn't realize it though) and we returned from our day out, ready for another riotous and cosy night in the bar only to find that we were the only ones in the hotel. We were bemoaning our fate when there was a knock on the door and Jed stood there inviting us to join them on their night off at their favourite tapas bar in the village. How wonderful was that? We had a great evening in their company and were served a tapas with every round - completely free of charge (well I did say I had carefully selected the "real Spain"!).

In short, the wonderful setting of La Tartana and the amazing company of Jed, Mandy and their wonderful little team made this a very special occasion indeed - there is no way in which I could have chosen better and I thank them so very much for everything, even though the bill was rather more than we would usually pay for a short break. What price perfection, eh?!

Thank you Jed and Mandy and all best wishes to you both (especially for that little grandchild to be!).

Room Tip: We only saw our room - we had a ground floor (room 7) as my husband is disabled. It had a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank turkishdelight37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaudeHertfordshire, Owner at Hotel La tartana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you so much for your delightful review. It was a real pleasure to have you as guests at La Tartana. We really enjoyed your company. Hope to see you again. All the staff and ourselves wish you well, Jed and Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Shocking prospective client care.Tried twice to book a room for 2014, Spoke to the female owner both times and both times there was an excuse. First she wasnt in the office and said she would call back .....waited 7 days for a call back , second time "her husband hadnt worked out prices for 2014".....2014 is 3 days away!!! Told us to send her an email and she would see ...

Well we have now booked another hotel. Your loss maybe you shouldtry harder with your prospective clients.

We wont be trying again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
8  Thank Poppies F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaudeHertfordshire, Owner at Hotel La tartana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We are very sorry that you had a confusing telephone conversation with (various) members of staff. The mix up was because firstly we were away and secondly you wanted to book for valentines day and we always have a package deal available. We had not at the time worked out the price for this occasion. We always pride ourselves on our customer care as you can see by the other reviews. To avoid confusion it is easier to book through our website. Please accept our apologies. Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We were 4 pals on a girlie weekend. Last Saturday we had the absolute pleasure of dining at La Tartana. From the moment we arrived our visit was special. The incredibly warm greeting from Amanda and her staff, the spectacular views from the stunning terrace and the fantastic food. Completely flawless. Loved every moment. Will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank milly41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaudeHertfordshire, Owner at Hotel La tartana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

I remember you well. You were all great fun. Just the people we love to welcome at La Tartana. We are so pleased you all had a great time and look forward to seeing you back next time.

Amanda
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

What a wonderful little gem. The hotel is conveniently situated and close enough to walk to the Herradura beach. Visiting Almunecar, a short drive away, and Salobrena, is well worth it, with nice restaurants, tapas bars and lovely back streets. We enjoyed our stay so much, and were made so welcome by the owners that we are planning to return. Well done La Tartana!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PedroEspana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaudeHertfordshire, Owner at Hotel La tartana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

It is always great to read such good reviews. It means such a lot to ourselves and our staff. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon. Jed and Amanda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Wow....we had the most fantastic time here. It is a beautiful hotel within easy walk to the beach serving delicious food. Be sure to try the lemon tart. It is the best we have ever had (and we love lemon tart). We think it should be renamed Lemon Tart Tartana. For us the stand out thing about the hotel are the owners and the staff. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. They made our stay one of the most memorable! We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WrigleyWriggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaudeHertfordshire, Owner at Hotel La tartana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you so much for your great review. We all loved having you here. It makes our job so worthwhile, especially after a long hot summer. We hope to see you once again at La Tartana. Best wishes from ourselves and all the staff.
Jed and Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Herradura
0.4 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 6 in La Herradura
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Los Fenicios by Melia
Sol Los Fenicios by Melia
#2 of 6 in La Herradura
376 reviews
2.4 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 25 in Almunecar
1,818 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#9 of 25 in Almunecar
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension La Herradura
Pension La Herradura
#3 of 6 in La Herradura
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La tartana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La tartana

Address: Urb San Nicolas, 18697 La Herradura, Almunecar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar > La Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in La Herradura
Price Range: £57 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La tartana 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The striking Andaluz patio centered on a Moorish fountain greets all to this beautifully designed and romantic corner of La Herradura.The bedrooms all lead off from the central courtyard and are decorated and furnished to a high standard.The spacious restaurant is complemented by levels of outdoor dining terraces surrounded by well stocked Mediterranean gardens framing a view of the 2 kilometre wide bay of La Herradura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La tartana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Tartana Spain/La Herradura, Province Of Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing