We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Delicious Dining Experience”

Restaurant La Tartana
Ranked #15 of 55 Restaurants in La Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant is situated in the Hotel La Tartana and is open to non residents
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Memorable Delicious Dining Experience”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had the great pleasure of dining at the wonderful La Tartana Restaurant last year whilst on holiday in La Herradura We found the Restaurant as the villa we rented was just behind the Restaurant and each day at 6 o'clock we could smell the most amazing smells wafting across so we decided to investigate the cause. From entering the beautiful setting of the La Tartana, we were welcomed by the very friendly owners Mandy and Jed. Our table was positioned outside in the lovely garden with a great sea view. The table was set with crisp linen, sparkling glasses and flowers.
The menu was diverse in choice and we each selected a different course to taste. We all had a great treat and none were disappointed with our choice of food. The presentation of each course was a visual and tasteful joy. The service was highly efficient whilst not being invasive or fussy. We were also spoiled by meeting the Chef who told us about his inspiration to create wonderfully different dishes.
La Tartarna is a wonderful surprise which we highly recommend to all, and we shall absolutely return again this year.
Christine, David, Tessa, Richard and Oli.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    30
    8
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I didn't expect to find really fantastic innovative food in this small seaside town but we did, at La Tartana.
Service was excellent and the food delicious. My starter of squid and prawns with home made black noodles was beyond excellent and all our party of four thought the food was some of the best they had tasted.....from the starters to the home made ice cream. Fantastic!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VICKI L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Having guests, wondering where to go and what to do, we decided to visit Hotel La Tartana for a meal. We were made to feel welcome and relaxed by Jed and Amanda immediately. We sat out on one of there new terraces enjoying a per dinner drink which was lovely, with stunning views across La Herradura Bay. Then down to the restaurant where we all had fantastic meals. Marie Carmen was our waitress who couldn't do enough for us, the chef Alex, also came out to see that we were enjoying ourselves and Jed and Amanda were attentive to our needs, it made the day very special indeed. Thank you all very much, we will be coming back again very soon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Herradura, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the Costa Tropical”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The restaurant at La Tartana was recommended to me while we were staying nearby in Salobrena where my brother lives. I was told to expect the best dining experience in the area and we were not disappointed. Sometimes places just feel right and La Tartana was one of these. Having done our research beforehand, we had no problems finding the location. From the moment we arrived and were greeted the feeling of relaxed elegance just flowed...

Jonathan also looked after us very well. Not only is the food absolutely first class but the choice of wine is also excellent - try the delicious Fidelis and ask Jonathan to show you his wonderful device for aerating the wine!

Having tried a number of restaurants in the area, I highly recommend La Tartana. I gather a gourmet tapas bar is also promised soon. Can't wait!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cookery school day courses”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A beautiful location and hotel. Best of all is the restaurant and chef . I attended a cookery class today on shellfish and fish. Never had the courage to buy live lobster or crab and cook at home, will do now thanks to a class given by Mark the chef. Had a very informative day and the food was brilliant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vivmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant La Tartana also viewed

Almunecar, Province of Granada
 
La Herradura, Almunecar
La Herradura, Almunecar
 
Almunecar, Province of Granada
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 

Been to Restaurant La Tartana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing