We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A villa with wow factor!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Casa Shalimar

TERRACE AND THE VIEW
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
TERRACE AND THE VIEW
HOUSE FROM THE SEA, WITH THE STEPS TO THE SEA VIEW OF HOUSE FROM OPPOSITE BAY WITH DIRECT ACCESS TO THE SEA
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
TERRACE AND THE VIEW
HOUSE FROM THE SEA, WITH THE STEPS TO THE SEA
VIEW OF HOUSE FROM OPPOSITE BAY WITH DIRECT ACCESS TO THE SEA
VIEW OF HOUSE FROM PEDALO
STEPS TO THE SEA
ANOTHER VIEW OF THE LOWER TERRACE AND POOL
POOL AND SEA
DIFFERENT VIEW
POOL LIT UP AT NIGHT
SUNSET
INFINITY POOL
ANOTHER VIEW OF THE RECEPTION ROOM
VIEW FROM BED MASTER BEDROOM
BEDROOM 2... FROM KINGSIZE BED
VIEW FROM SHOWER 3
THE OLD PART OF THE VILLAGE
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
La Herradura, Almunecar, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jak023
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A villa with wow factor!”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We've just spent a fantastic week at Casa Shalimar. It was an amazing location. We had a wonderful time and hope to return. Thanks to both Clare and Jackie for making it all so seamless. Nothing too much trouble and so helpful. We thoroughly recommend this lovely villa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
We are really glad you had a fab time.
Come again. xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoggy
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning villa in a glorious position”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Celebrating a birthday with immediate family this was a perfect retreat perched on the rocks above the sea .The views were fabulous as was the attention to detail / quality of fixtures & fittings .An eclectic mix of reading material led our "Sherlock" and his team to discover the owners true past and present ! We so enjoyed our stay and many thanks to Jacks for her help in keeping the surprise ! lastly but not least ,thanks to the owners for allowing the use of their lovely home .

Mike Pat & family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views through the arches and outside dining area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2016
Glad you had fun. Come again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning position and extremely relaxing - Casa Shalimar”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a week at Casa Shalimar in La Herradura. The villa is in a fantastic position on the side of a cliff overlooking a beautiful bay. The views from the gorgeous terrace are stunning. The terrace is one of the best features of the villa because is it shady with lovely comfortable cushions to lounge on and a large table for leisurely lunches.
It is possible to walk down some stone steps to the sea when the waves are calm to snorkel. The fish are incredible although our 8 and 10 year old girls were not keen. No matter, they spent all their time in the lovely little pool. It's not a pool to be swimming lengths in but its great to take a dip when its really hot and our three children had no trouble playing in there all day long. In the meantime, we read our books - perfect!!

Casa Shalimar is furnished with style and I don't think the photos on trip advisor do it justice. Its spacious, light and well equipped and the beds are very comfortable. One downside is that there is no aircon. There are fans in every bedroom and if you keep the windows open so that the air flows through, its not a big problem.

It takes about 10 minutes to walk down the hill into town where you will find a good range of restaurants along the beach front. We didn't go to the beach itself apart from to take part in a "Total Wipeout" style inflatable course in the sea - great fun but wear wet shoes!

Overall we were impressed and delighted with all that Casa Shalimar had to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the terrace and the pool
Liked least: no aircon
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thank you. I am glad you had a lovely holiday.
I am thinking of putting in aircon.
Have a lovely summer x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A heavenly retreat”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Seldom does a holiday home exceed expectations on so many levels. Casa Shalimar is a substantial and beautiful home, unpretentious and well lived in, with all the amenities.

Located in a lovely residential area just above town, the house is perched atop a rock outcropping and front row seaside. There is no direct access by car, but off street parking is available above the house. There are 147 steps down to the house (and back up again) that are easily manageable, but those with unwieldy luggage, or the less fit or able, may struggle. The reward is stunning views, no motorway noise and the sound of the sea lapping against the rocks.

The decor is a relaxed mix of practical furniture and beautiful art and antiques. There are 3 lovely bedrooms and an additional sleeping niche off the kitchen, very comfortable beds with sumptuous bed and bath linens, a large lounge and outdoor terrace for living and dining and a very well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, washer and dryer and a full complement of cookware, glassware and dishware.

There are numerous poolside terraces and corners for a quiet read and the pool with waterfall is magical when lit at night. The billiard table in the lounge also provided good fun in the evenings. WiFi internet is available and worked well.

The caretakers don't hover, but are attentive, quick to respond and provided a generous welcome package of fresh fruit, beverages, wines, coffee and milk, cheeses, meats and bread to tide us over until the shops opened, which was much appreciated.

La Herradura has numerous small grocers, bakeries and butchers with a good selection of local foods and wines, and the market hall selling fresh foods, meats and fish is open Mon-Sat from 9-3. Larger supermarkets are an easy 15 min drive along the coast at Almunecar.

If you can manage the steps, Casa Shalimar is the perfect escape and a holiday home to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views
Liked least: Can't fault the place
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.
Really glad you had fun x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilfriedc...
Zoersel, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“the best time of our lives!”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The best location in La Herradura, as close as can be to the Sea, we did not want to leave it! The only noises you hear are from the waves and the seaguls thanks to the steps that separate you from the street. The huge windows, terraces and swimming pool gave us magnificent views overlooking the bay. We even saw dolphins and whales swimming by.
The owner and manager are very kind people and we felt very welcome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, views, silence
Liked least: cushions for the sunbeds
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
I am so happy you loved it x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tatianaem...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Truly stunning location. Equally stunning house.”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Although the house is decorated with great taste and the layout is fantastic, Case Shalimar is all about the view and proximity to the sea. The master bedroom has floor to ceiling windows and waking up to that view each morning was a great way to start each day. The second bedroom was a great size and had a large bathroom with a tub and wet room type shower. The third bedroom was a twin but the beds were big. All rooms were ensuite, which was nice. There were also some built in bunk type beds just off the kitchen. They were hidden away. Really quite a clever use of space.

The Infinity pool was a dream (even had a little waterfall area) and as the weather was lovely we ventured down the rocks (that have steps) and also swam in the sea.

I’m a chef and the kitchen was a dream to cook in, full of everything you need to make a meal. We spent most evenings eating on the huge terrace with the sea right behind us. Bliss. To be honest you need not leave the house. However if you do, it’s only a 5 minute walk to La Herradura proper, where you’ll find lots of bars and restaurants right along the beach.

La Herradura is where the Spanish go for a break. It’s that authentic, and as such it’s easy to get immersed in the culture and especially the food.

The owner Clare was also really helpful when I had a question and she even arranged for a lovely hamper basket upon our arrival, which was a nice touch as we arrived late in the evening and were famished.

I couldn't recommend this place more. We’ll be going back without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The proximity to the sea
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
glad you loved it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan G
Little Horwood, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I chose Casa Shalimar and La Herradura as we wanted authentic Spain and we were so happy we did. The villa is simply magical, the situation is perfect, private, quiet and peaceful. The house interior is beautifully furnished in an elegant and traditional Spanish style but is comfortable and homely not cold and unlived in. Fabulous bed in main bedroom with wonderful views, slept better than I'd slept in years! Absolutely everything you may need is provided. Outside is perfect too with lovely terraces to sit and relax enjoying the wonderful views and the pool was so inviting, we used it every day even though it was early May and the pool is not heated the water was quite warm, we didn't want to get out. The village of La Herradura is a small and friendly seaside town and still very Spanish with little English spoken but everyone is so friendly it was fun trying to communicate which we did easy enough. Lots of bars and good restaurants, a few actually situated right on the beach, and only a pleasant 10 minutes stroll from the villa but our favorite place was Davids at the waters edge in the Marina del Este, a beautiful area a few minutes drive over the other side of the headland, food was delicious and staff exceptional, highly recommended. All in all, one of the loveliest holidays we've had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet and views of the sea
Liked least: the number of steps down to the villa from the car although these were low gradient and I managed easily even though I am waiting for new knee op!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
glad you loved it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing