We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped,nice pool”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Las Palmas

The villa at dusk above the floodlit pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The villa at dusk above the floodlit pool
View from the upper terrace of the headland and lighthouse Villa - facing South as viewed from the poolside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
The villa at dusk above the floodlit pool
View from the upper terrace of the headland and lighthouse
Villa - facing South as viewed from the poolside
Plenty of room to park the car outside the front gate
Lower Terrace - South and West Facing complete with comfortable sofa for siesta time
Dining Area - bright and airy
The spacious, bright and well equipped kitchen
Master Bedroom  with double bed
Second Bedroom with double bed
Third Bedroom with two single beds
One of the three fully equipped bathrooms
Alcove in lounge area with writing desk
Upper Terrace - South and West facing with sea views
Attractive and private garden
Shower by the pool
Villa from the west garden area showing terraces
Sunset view with lighthouse - from the upper terrace
View of the villa from the lower road from the south
Inviting private pool and sunbathing area with shower nearby
The town of La Herradura - 'the horseshoe' - a 20 minute, downhill walk from the villa
La Herradura beach - only minutes from the villa - with plenty of activities for all the family
Marina del Este  - only a 5 minute drive from the villa - with restaurants, beach and activities
Piste Map - Sierra Nevada Ski Resort - only 1 hour away by car
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
La Herradura, Almunecar, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jerrywcar...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well equipped,nice pool”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Well equipped villa,great house greeting on arrival team and a proper list of "do's and don't's " in a folder.
UK TV ,wifi ( payable...about £24 for the fortnight), full sets of kitchen things,dishwasher,washing machine and very friendly local cat!!
View not brilliant as its obscured by a large hill with an aerial and the immediate view is over a small building site.
But we can see the sea,and the balconies are good to eat out on.
Need a car for sure as it is about 1.5 kilometres from the town down a very steep road.....we are quite fit but wouldn't dream of walking it.Taxis available in town though.
All in all a good choice and plenty of tlc around the house...many thanks.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
Thanks for your review, written whilst still in residence. I am pleased you have found the villa well-equipped. The view across the headland to the lighthouse (and transmitter aerial!) is as pictured on the website. The small, disused "building site" is below road level. The 15-20 minute walk down into the village is easy if you follow the shortcut set out in the guest directory. Most guests walk down and many walk back if they don't want to pay a few Euros for a taxi. I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl227
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our experience started with the welcoming we received from Peter. We were shown around the villa explaining all the features to us which made our stay very easy. what was really appreciated was the most extensive welcome pack that included enough food and drink to make an immediate trip to a supermarket completely unnecessary.

The villa was bright and airy and was well appointed, We spent much of our time on the pool terrace or in the pool cooling down from the summer heat. What we really like was that the terrace was not overlooked. Inside the villa it was great to have 3 full bathrooms which made getting ready to go out quite painless.

A walk down into La Herradura is a must but be prepared for the hills and heat coming back. Further afield we visited Frigiliana which we loved.

We highly recommend Villa Las Palmas, and wouldn't think twice about returning to stay again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: limited wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Messi09
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A bad start, but in the end good!”
Reviewed 15 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

This villa is wonderful located just outside La Herradura. The beach is a two minute drive and so is the centre of La Herradura. Almunecar is not far as well, only five minutes away. Make sure you will have a car though, without a car you won't be anywhere but in and around the house (which is not a punishment at all).

The villa itself is close to perfect: three bedrooms, three badrooms, a big living room, a pool. But it is starting to get a little old. For example: the owner had to replace the dishwasher because it literally fell out. Also the pots and pans were very old. The roll down shutters need replacement as well, as well as the curtain tracks. One actually fell off the ceiling.

Furthermore the internet wasn't working properly, which was kind of a bummer because we had to finish some work.

The owner was very helpful though, he tried to solve everything as soon as possible. However, in our opinion he could see and solve everything before we got there, not after our telephone calls. That would save us a lot of irritation.

We would stay here again, because we loved the villa and it's location. But next time we would ask the owner if everything is ok and if he checked. We would recommend this villa to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and the small pool
Liked least: The kitchen and some other facilities
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 30 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: NIce location, very nice pool and terace's
Liked least: The hard beds.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stirling, Scotland
Reviewed 7 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, location and decor of the property
Liked least: Nothing at all to dislike but a car almost certainly needed at this location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
187045Rob...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“peacefull”
Reviewed 1 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

They say less is more.... so i should not say anything !! but it would not do it credit
right from the word go communication with the owner was second to none, arrived with 3 children aged 16,11,9 shown around by the caretaker explaining how all worked more bathroms than we know what to do with , which was great as we have all girls !! we were actualy loosing the kids around the property, shady covered gardens and sunny areas all day. totaly secluded safe pool, the kids could not ask for anything else, on arrival,red/white wine was left for us fruit, cheese, ham, bread etc in the fridge,
would i go again or recomend it ..... yes, only downside the beaches we did not like to many stones as we have been spoiled going to sardinia many times,
evening entertainment was plenty full and so were the restaurants, car required to get about ,places worth seeing close by Granada la Alhambra.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peacefull, relaxing and hot
Liked least: the flight with Ryan air
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing