We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”

Chiringuito La Gaviota
Ranked #7 of 58 Restaurants in La Herradura
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Went to the restaurant from the beach based on its tripadvisor position. It is most certainly not worth the walk to the far end of the beach. There are far better places to eat in La Herradura.

The food arrived at sporadic times & the waiting staff did not seem to care that they were needing to be reminded about our food. When one Gambas Pil-Pil came, the sauce in it was completely different to the others, the sauce tasted foul, like nail polish remover. We speculated if they had not bothered to clean the dishes properly in between uses. The staff (after a deliberation in the kitchen) took the dish back and removed it from the bill.

Food poor, service poor. Would definitely not return or recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank thewithers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    85
    25
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nerja, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the walk”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Typical beach restaurant; nothing special. Slow service; food arrived at different times. Food was ok. Reasonable value.

Helpful?
Thank Johnofjesmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went here on the back of a recommendation and the Trip Advisor reviews but were pretty disappointed.
Nothing really to complain about, but nothing special. Food and service were both pretty ordinary.
Great location on the beach but I wouldn't go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NatalieC1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Gambas Pil Pil Ever!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This restaurant has a beautiful setting towards the far end of the beach closer to Cerro Gordo. I was first treated to a delicious tapa of cheese and tomato when I first went here with a friend from New Zealand. The waiter, who is from the family that own & work this place, told us that the cheese was from New Zealand when we asked where this delicious cheese hailed from. He was teasing, of course it was Spanish, but we almost fell for his humour.
From this night onwards, I must say I have never tried more than the Gambas Pil Pil. Reason being, after many years of living in Spain, I have tried garlic/chilli prawns in many locations nationwide.
I can assure every reader of Trip Advisor, you will struggle to find prawns with this level of perfection of garlic and chilli anywhere in the world, let alone elsewhere in Spain!
Worth a trip to the pretty horseshoe bay known as 'La Herradura' just to go and eat these prawns. They are not expensive at around €12 and one plate can be shared between two. A salad is about €3.50, again, not expensive or fancy, but fresh and good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stouport on Severn
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Definitely on the beach”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Dined here with friends, who we understand are regulars. Very friendly and attentive staff. Fairly typical Spanish tourist menu for this type of restaurant. Food was hot and well cooked. Swordfish steaks looked particularly appetising. Great chips.

Helpful?
Thank Morrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiringuito La Gaviota also viewed

La Herradura, Almunecar
 
La Herradura, Almunecar
 

Been to Chiringuito La Gaviota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing