We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay at La Herradura”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Los Fenicios by Melia
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in La Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

What a jewel of a place La Herradura is with its horseshoe shaped beach. Los Fenicios is situated at one end of the beach - a superb location, and ideal for a family holiday. The hotel is Spanish style with rooms arranged round a garden area. My daughter and I had a ground floor room by request, so it had its own private patio area with sun lounger. The room was very large and divided into sleeping and seating areas with lots of storage .All areas were very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also a good size with bath and shower facility. The staff were without exception friendly, courteous and efficient. Breakfast was good in quality and quantity.
One small quibble - the bar closed at just after 11p.m. perhaps because there were only a few visitors otherwise I think it would be open on demand.
There are some very good places to eat within a short walking distance. The chiringuito opposite the hotel at the end of the beach offers excellent food and service.

Room Tip: If booking in high season, book early, and state your requirements clearly. If you want a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank june m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenicios_Calidad, Manager at Sol Los Fenicios by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear June m,
Thank you very much for having shared your opinion about, Sol Los Fenicios Hotel and La herradura, with other users of this web.

We are pleased to know that your stay has been confortable and that you have enjoyed the personalized Service provided

We appreciate your kind words, specially regarding the staff. I have informed them about your positive comments and they really appreciate them.

We look forward to welcome you in a near future at Sol Los Fenicios Hotel.

Sunny greetings from Sol Los Fenicios,

Carlos Moralo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

A delightful hotel. The second time we have stayed there, the staff were as friendly and courteous as previously and the rooms are unusually large. Breakfast was good and you can sit on the terrace eating it overlooking the sea. As it is located at the far end of the paseo maritimo there is not a lot of traffic and there are bars and restaurants of all descrptions nearby. La Herradura is a low key, Spanish resort which the noisy brigade, luckily, seem to by-pass.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenicios_Calidad, Manager at Sol Los Fenicios by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Richard C,

Thank you very much for having shared your opinion about, Sol Los Fenicios Hotel and La Herradura, with other users of this web.

We appreciate your kind words, specially regarding the staff. I have informed them about your positive comments and they really appreciate them.

If you are planning to come back to Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, please, do not hesitate to tell us and with a great pleasure we will do all our best to ensure a pleasant stay with us.

Have a nice day and kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at the Sol this past 5 days gone. I have used the hotel before for coffee and wifi but not stayed there. The rooms are comfortable and clean, although would perhaps suggest tea and coffee making facilities in the room for morning.

It was our anniversary and we had a lovely bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room which was very thoughtful. We had originally booked a lateral sea view room (as we were not given the option for a full sea front when booking) but it was very dark. On speaking to reception she was very helpful in showing me two of the vacant (!) sea view rooms which were only a 20 euro supplement per night - definitely worth it. These rooms are bright and airy with the double patio doors and lovely balcony overlooking the seafront. Breakfast was excellent too.

Only real negative would be that you would have thought in this day and age wifi would be free for the guests.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linds4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenicios_Calidad, Manager at Sol Los Fenicios by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Linds4y,
We would like to thank you for having spent your holidays at the Sol Los Fenicios Hotel and for your comments about Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, we really appreciate it.
We are pleased to know that your stay has been confortable and that you have enjoyed the personalized Service provided. I have informed all the staff about your kind words.
We look forward to welcome you in a near future at Sol Los Fenicios Hotel.

Have a nice day and kind regards,

Carlos Moralo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The hotel is right on the beach of La Herradurra, a small old style Spanish fishing village with a 3 mile long fine shingle beach. The hotel is clean, functional and fairly comfortable. The staff are friendly, the breakfast is good, not great. I stay here because of the position, the sound of the waves when I go to sleep, and the fantastic sunsets. There are also plenty of good beach restaurants on the beach all full of Spanish families enjoying mixed shell fish platters and gambas plancha, no pink sunburnt Geordies or drunk Scousers . Heaven..

Room Tip: Not right at the back as there is noise from the water pipes, 2nd ore 3 rd floor are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FruitTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenicios_Calidad, Gerente at Sol Los Fenicios by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear FruitTrader
First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel staff and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hots during your holidays in Costa Tropical , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again in a near future, in our hotel or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe. Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests. Thanks.
Carlos Moralo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Likes are - distance to beach, quiet location; its a small and friendly well run hotel, Paella on the beach and they had the heating on!; dislikes are - noisy plumbing, parking, roof pool is not much fun and the buffet food isnt that great - but there are good places to eat nearby.

Hotel is in the Guardian's ten best budget beach hotels in Andalucia. You really cant go wrong if you want a small hotel in a quiet beach location.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a very small balcony and diagonal view. Left side of hotel gets the evening sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank equidentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenicios_Calidad, Manager at Sol Los Fenicios by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Equidentist,

First of all we thank you thoroughly for having spent your holidays at the Sol Los Fenicios Hotel.

Your kind words are an incentive for all of us in our daily efforts for improving quality and service.
If you are planning to come back to Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, please, do not hesitate to tell us and with a great pleasure we will do all our best to ensure a pleasant stay with us.

Have a nice day and kind regards,

Carlos Moralo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Sol Los Fenicios Hotel was fantastic and we were really happy with our choice. Staff is very accommodating and helpful. They are the real gems of this place, which have kept the property so well. Rooms were big, nicely decorated and clean. Food and other amenities of this hotel were all decent. This was all beyond my expectations. Overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenicios_Calidad, Manager at Sol Los Fenicios by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Pierce M,

First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hots during your holidays in Costa Tropical , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again in a near future , in our hotel or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe . Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests. Thanks.
Carlos Moralo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

If you are going on holiday during May and you want peace and quiet in a beautiful hotel, La Herradura is the place and Sol Los Fenicios is the hotel. The rooms are huge, food is delicious, the roof terrace is an absolute delight and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Watching the sun go down from the hotel's roof terrace is amazing. I can't recommend this hotel and resort enough. Will gladly return and look forward to the day we do.

Room Tip: The town itself is quiet so it shouldn't matter which side of the hotel your room is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenicios_Calidad, Manager at Sol Los Fenicios by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Alison P,

First of all, we woul like to thank you for having spent your holidays at Sol Los Fenicios Hotel.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that you felt very comfortable in our hotel and you enjoyed our services.

All your comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality for our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Sol Los Fenicios Hotel.
Greetings from La Herradura,

Carlos Moralo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Herradura
2.1 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#11 of 24 in Almunecar
1,397 reviews
4.7 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Almunecar
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 5 in La Herradura
258 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#7 of 24 in Almunecar
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Los Fenicios by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Los Fenicios by Melia

Address: Paseo Andres Segovia s/n, 18697 La Herradura, Almunecar, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar > La Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in La Herradura
Price Range: £87 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Los Fenicios by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Los Fenicios. Located in front on the spectacular La Herradura Beach in Almuñécar (Granada). The Costa Tropical combines perfectly relaxation and fun in an exclusive atmosphere. With fabulous sea and nature views and thanks to its excellent location and the subtropical clime, With the quality of its services and its exquisite personalized attention, Sol Los Fenicios is the ideal option for your vacation, giving you the possibility of enjoy diving all year round. In this declared Natural Park of Cerro Gordo-Maro, you will find amazing seabed’s with abundant flora, fauna, corals. Sol Los Fenicios provides bright, spacious and welcoming rooms, the majority with sea views and measure 26 m2, equipped with LCD TV 32 "; telephone, safe (*), mini bar (*), bathroom and furnished terrace (table / chairs); also different dining spaces (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Bar); free WiFi internet; Internet Corner (*); outdoor pool with spectacular sea views; solarium measuring 200 m2; an indoor tropical garden; private parking for the exclusive use of our guests with spaces for 29 vehicles (*); social lounge; 1 meeting room with natural light and a maximum capacity for up to 35 people and two magnificent terraces overlooking the sea. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Melia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Los Fenicios by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia La Herradura
Sol Los Fenicios By Melia Spain/La Herradura, Province Of Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing