We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel & service”
Review of Sol Los Fenicios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Los Fenicios
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in La Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, rooms & breakfast great. The pool was ideal & matched the great weather. The staff were very helpful, and gave us very good service. Also good to know that there was garage parking, which would be needed during the peak season.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AzeezHakeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenicios_Calidad, Gerente at Sol Los Fenicios, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear AzzezHakeem,

It is a great pleasure to know that you have had a wonderful stay in the Sol Los Fenicios.

Your kind words are an incentive for all of us in our daily efforts for improving quality and service. As previous year, it has been a pleasure to have you among us

If you are planning to come back to Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, please, do not hesitate to tell us and with a great pleasure we will do all our best to ensure a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Have a nice day and kind regards,

Carlos Moralo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for Sol Los Fenicios
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

If your in need of a quiet relaxing holiday this resort and hotel will tick all the boxes, located beside the small and quiet coastal road that runs through the resort, just cross the road and your on the shingle beach, within twenty metres lies the sea with bars and restaurants are within walking distance.
The hotel its-self is not too large to get unnoticed but small enough for the staff to be attentive but not intrusive, whilst from the management down the staff were warm and friendly and no request big or small was a problem. The whole hotel is spotless, the rooms are comfortable and spaceous and the food was excellent. (no need to eat out)!
This was our second stay at the hotel and we will be returning again next year.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay in one of the four rooms at the front of the hotel that look straight ou...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenicios_Calidad, General Manager at Sol Los Fenicios, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Kevin M,

First of all to thank you very much for giving us your nice review and thanks for having chosen Sol Los Fenicios for your first holidays and entrusted to us your precious leisure time. I am very glad that you made the right choice.

Yes, it is the fact, that we have everything for spend a relaxing vacation.

If you are planning to come back to Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, please, do not hesitate to tell us and with a great pleasure we will do all our best to ensure a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Greetings from La Herradura

Carlos Moralo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Having worked in tourism for many years I have to say that my recent stay at the Los Fenicios was one of the most refreshing hotel experiences that I've had in a while. The hotel itself is in a stunning position opposite the beach and is very clean and comfortable and close by to the resort facilities. However, it is the staff that make the Los Fenicios so very special, they go out of their way to be friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The manager Carlos and receptionist Arantxa were so kind and helpful to my elderly parents during their stay, always patient and courteous, they are a credit to the Melia Hotel group. Thankyou for a wonderful stay, if you are thinking to go to La Herradura, make sure to stay at the Los Fenicios! It's worth every penny.

Room Tip: My parents paid extra for a sea view suite and they had a lovely view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jaxislandhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenicios_Calidad, Gerente at Sol Los Fenicios, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear jaxislandhopper,

We are really proud to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Sol Los Fenicios Hotel.
On behalf of all Sol Los Fenicios staff, specially Arantza, I would like to thank you for your kind comment about all of us.

If you are planning to come back to Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, please, do not hesitate to tell us and with a great pleasure we will do all our best to ensure a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Have a nice day and kind regards,

Carlos Moralo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

A great location on the front right opposite the beach with restaurants and bars close at hand.
From arrival to departure I cannot give anything but praise for the staff.From the reception to the maids all the staff had a friendly smile and the service was fantastic.We stayed in a sea view room which had lovely décor,was very spacious and was well equipped.
The breakfast was just amazing - probably the best we have ever had travelling abroad.
All in all definitely the best place to stay in La Herradura

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twill56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenicios_Calidad, Gerente at Sol Los Fenicios, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear twill56,

First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel staff and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your host during your holidays in Costa Tropical, and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words, especially regarding to staff, which already has a copy of your opinion, are an incentive for all of us in our daily efforts for improving quality and service.

If you are planning to come back to Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, please, do not hesitate to tell us and with a great pleasure we will do all our best to ensure a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Have a nice day and kind regards,

Carlos Moralo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My wife and I returned to the hotel following a delightful stay in 2012. Again we were treated to a warm friendly hotel with staff who are always helpful.Carlos the general manager was available daily and I can only describe him as a truly efficient gentleman.He personally arranged our booking ,assisted his staff and was a credit to the hotel.The hotel is spot lessly clean and the food is plentiful and varied to all tastes. The pool area and terraces are a delight, quiet and clean with views of the sea.Free parking is available on the public streets outside the hotel and the hotel has chargeable garage parking if required. Once again I would recommend this hotel and its setting. Thank you Carlos.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan moorcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenicios_Calidad, Director General at Sol Los Fenicios, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Mrs. and Mr. Moorcroft,

It is a great pleasure to know that you have had a wonderful stay, again, in the Sol Los Fenicios.

Your kind words are an incentive for all of us in our daily efforts for improving quality and service. As previous year, it has been a pleasure to have you among us

If you are planning to come back to Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, please, do not hesitate to tell us and with a great pleasure we will do all our best to ensure a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Have a nice day and best wishes,

Carlos Moralo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Booked this Hotel after checking all the reviews I could find. We are a couple and took are 90 year old Father with us. This is a delightful, very friendly hotel and the staff are brilliant! The manager Carlos took time to meet every guest and check all was OK. The Manager Carlos and the Receptionist Oscar took a lot of time to sort out a Parking Ticket we had received at a local town and we were able to pay it locally with a 50% discount after a lot of phone calls made by them. The lovely Receptionist Arantza made us smile every time we saw her and is really bubbly and helpful. Virginia is one of the waitresses in the Restaurant, her permanent cheerfulness was great and helped to make our stay great, not forgetting Isobel the other waitress, always happy!
The rooms in the Hotel are very large with sitting areas as well as Balconies. The biggest beds we have ever seen!
Food was plentiful and Breakfast was Superb, lots of Hot and Cold choices for all tastes. We did take a travel kettle etc with us, so no problem with making drinks in the rooms.
The roof terrace was a pleasure to be on and all though the Pool is small it is perfectly formed and was never busy. A bonus we found was the amazing amount of Birds around the Hotel, Swifts, Sparrows etc and no Bugs, the Birds eat them all, only saw one fly over 2 weeks.
Sitting on the Room Balcony watching the Sea, no traffic noise was Heaven. We booked half Board and had Lunch out every day at Las Maravillas, about 100 metres down from the Hotel, still give you a free Tapas with your drink! Excellent Holiday at a great Hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenicios_Calidad, Gerente at Sol Los Fenicios, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Nick M,

It is a great pleasure to know that you have had a wonderful stay in the Sol Los Fenicios

We highlight appreciate your kind words about our staff who will be very proud to know that they have helped to make your stay an incredible experience.

We are waiting for welcoming you back to your home in La Herradura.

Sunny Greetings,
,
Carlos Moralo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

What a jewel of a place La Herradura is with its horseshoe shaped beach. Los Fenicios is situated at one end of the beach - a superb location, and ideal for a family holiday. The hotel is Spanish style with rooms arranged round a garden area. My daughter and I had a ground floor room by request, so it had its own private patio area with sun lounger. The room was very large and divided into sleeping and seating areas with lots of storage .All areas were very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also a good size with bath and shower facility. The staff were without exception friendly, courteous and efficient. Breakfast was good in quality and quantity.
One small quibble - the bar closed at just after 11p.m. perhaps because there were only a few visitors otherwise I think it would be open on demand.
There are some very good places to eat within a short walking distance. The chiringuito opposite the hotel at the end of the beach offers excellent food and service.

Room Tip: If booking in high season, book early, and state your requirements clearly. If you want a room with...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank june m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenicios_Calidad, Manager at Sol Los Fenicios, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear June m,
Thank you very much for having shared your opinion about, Sol Los Fenicios Hotel and La herradura, with other users of this web.

We are pleased to know that your stay has been confortable and that you have enjoyed the personalized Service provided

We appreciate your kind words, specially regarding the staff. I have informed them about your positive comments and they really appreciate them.

We look forward to welcome you in a near future at Sol Los Fenicios Hotel.

Sunny greetings from Sol Los Fenicios,

Carlos Moralo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Herradura
2.1 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
898 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#11 of 24 in Almunecar
1,361 reviews
4.7 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Almunecar
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 5 in La Herradura
254 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#7 of 24 in Almunecar
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Los Fenicios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Los Fenicios

Address: Paseo Andres Segovia s/n, 18697 La Herradura, Almunecar, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar > La Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in La Herradura
Price Range: £89 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Los Fenicios 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Los Fenicios. Located in front on the spectacular La Herradura Beach in Almuñécar (Granada). The Costa Tropical combines perfectly relaxation and fun in an exclusive atmosphere. With fabulous sea and nature views and thanks to its excellent location and the subtropical clime, With the quality of its services and its exquisite personalized attention, Sol Los Fenicios is the ideal option for your vacation, giving you the possibility of enjoy diving all year round. In this declared Natural Park of Cerro Gordo-Maro, you will find amazing seabed’s with abundant flora, fauna, corals. Sol Los Fenicios provides bright, spacious and welcoming rooms, the majority with sea views and measure 26 m2, equipped with LCD TV 32 "; telephone, safe (*), mini bar (*), bathroom and furnished terrace (table / chairs); also different dining spaces (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Bar); free WiFi internet; Internet Corner (*); outdoor pool with spectacular sea views; solarium measuring 200 m2; an indoor tropical garden; private parking for the exclusive use of our guests with spaces for 29 vehicles (*); social lounge; 1 meeting room with natural light and a maximum capacity for up to 35 people and two magnificent terraces overlooking the sea. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Los Fenicios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia La Herradura
Sol Los Fenicios Spain/La Herradura, Province Of Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing