We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Spring Break in Marina Del Este”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Playa Marina, or Los Berengueles as the full name is.
Beach bar/restaurant, our local chiringuito.
Marina del Este
Sunrise seen from the terrace
Sunrise seen from the terrace
A beautiful walk over the hill towards Almuñécar.
By the pool in September.
A lazy September afternoon well spent.
View from Capileira, about 40 minutes' drive on winding roads from Marina del Este
Capileira, high up on the south slopes of Sierra Nevada
Órgiva, Alpujarras
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
La Herradura, Almunecar, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jane M
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spring Break in Marina Del Este”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The guests were 4 adults, all retired and in their 60s. My husband, brother and sister in law.

The accommodation was very suitable for our needs. The bedroom and bathroom accommodation worked perfectly for us, having plenty of room to stretch out. The living/dining room similarly worked perfectly for us and, although the seating was 'firm' we were only using it in the evenings, after our trips out.

The terrace was a lovely refuge with hot morning sun and calming waves in the background. The views were beautiful, peeping between the pine trees. The kitchen, although small, was incredibly well stocked with utensils, crockery, glasses and cooking equipment. The only thing I couldn't find was a vegetable peeler. The electrical items worked well once we had got the hang of the toaster!.
We called in on Karl and Rachel the day before leaving as it wasn't clear how where to leave the keys. That was easily resolved and we left a set with Karl and the second set in the apartment on leaving.

There were very few residents in the apartments so it was very quiet and the planting was very lush, with birds of paradise freely flowering. I spoke to the handy men who were carrying out repairs to the sewerage system. They were very pleasant and commented that we were visiting at the best time of the year.

Karl had left us a list of restaurants and tapas bars in La Herradura which we cross referenced with trip advisor recommendations and consequently thoroughly enjoyed our eating experiences. We walked to La Herradura twice over the 5 days and thouroughly enjoyed the views and stretching our legs. Equally the walk to the Marina was very enjoyable. We couldn't unlock the access gate with our second key but the gate is easily opened without the correct key.

We visited Alumnicar (?) to carry out a supermarket shop. That was straightforward apart from leaving the underground car park! And on our last day we drove up into the hills above Torrox and enjoyed lunch in Competa where the bistro was managed by an English couple. This was big on food quality and poor on Spanish atmosphere! There were many English people in the Area, retired to the sun. Our visit to the Caves was also very enjoyable as they are so dramatic.

In terms of restaurants our favourite was Bola Marina, where we ate on the Sunday lunchtime in the dining room. Excellent service and beautiful surroundings. This was the restaurant located close to the beachfront in the side street on the main road out of La Herradura, not the sister restaurant fronting the main beach road. There is a big difference in price between the two but I imagine the quality of food is similar. Best value restaurant was Chiringuito La Gaviota, a beach restaurant at the far west end of the beach road. We enjoyed our last eveing meal here, enjoying a pre booked paella and grilled sole. Limited puddings here but great atmosphere with a wood burning stove and excellent spanish service with a smile. In terms of tapas and raciones we would recommend La Solero, located on the side walk just back from the beach road. New Spanish management with a rather nice menu and authentic spanish dishes. But all with chips ! We should have spent a little more time at El Salon, where we enjoyed excellent tapas.

So you can see we made the most of our time in Costa Tropical, and that included having two home cooked meals in the apartment.

I did leave a positive message in the guest book but you might like to cut and paste our eating and trip recommendations for your future guests. I had been to La Herradura on a day trip last year and loved it so hence the return. however the restaurant we enjoyed last year seems to have changed hands so a fresh season update might be valuable.

Best of all was the weather. Apart from 10 min of fine rain on our walking return up the hill from La Herradura and a downpour in the middle of the first night we had wall to wall sunshine. Just what the doctor ordered!!

So I would say we really enjoyed our trip and your accommodation was perfect for our needs. Karl said you had just relaid the terrace and it looks lovely.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Thank you, Rachel fot your kind Woods. Also very good advice to coming guests. You yourself where excellenta guests, you are welcome back any time you have the wish and possibility..
Elisabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Thank you, Ellen, it makes us happy to read your kind works. We would love to welcome you again whenever you find the possibility.
Regards, Elisabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
anton e
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“50/50 FOR LA HERRADURA”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Apartment was an hours drive from Malaga Airport , easy to find with directions given by Elizabeth . The contact on arrival was also easy to reach by mobile to collect keys meet and Greet . The apartment was maintained to a really high standard very clean and almost home like . Our children enjoyed their stay , apart for the poor internet service it was so slow and sometimes frustrating . ( Pay as You Go Service ) Would recommend this should be included in the Price of the apartment .
We went in April the swimming Pool was shut for renovations , which was a big disappointment . The beach below to the apartment was so close with a lovely view . The Town its self was a little deserted a bit run down in La Herradura , We found it hard to find nice restuarnts in this area , was our only disapointment .
We drove out of La Herradura , up to the Madrid for several days was amazing !!!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Sea View
Liked least: The Internet connection was a pay as you go it was so sloooooooooow
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCmuszka
Ballincollig, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, great pool”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great time and really enjoyed our stay in this comfortable apartment. Very well equipped, bright and clean, spacious and maritime swedish style suit us very much.
We liked very much this magnificent see view all day long, sun lighting the appartment in the morning, and the moon reflecting on the water at night. The pool half shadow with roman steps was well equipped with sun loungers and parasols. For our 4 years old daughter the pool was the best, such as the balcony/ terrace with the stone wall bench and plenty of room to play.We had many hours of fun together. The gardens with its tropical plants are impressive and all the flowers beautiful smelling. Surroundings is fantasic for the evening walk. We had relaxing and safe holidays. In September there was nice and quiet, sweltering heat and leisurely, so everything that we could ask for to have wonderful holiday. It was exactly we imagine to be. Thanks Elisabeth.
P.S.
La Herradura has lovely beach, lots of nice restaurants, bars and very friendly people. Bar/Restaurant on the beach has nice tapa and is very climatic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: see view, location, space, pool
Liked least: limited wi-fi/ internet access
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Thank you for your nice words. Your review reflects many of the things we also love the most, such as the light coming in in the morning, the seaview all day and the moonligt on the water at night. We are happy that you found the area beautiful and safe for your child. We hope to welcome you some time again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carly B
Odiham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location with wonderful views”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday at this lovely apartment. The best thing was the lovely sea view and listening to the waves from the balcony. It was very well equipped with everything you need for a relaxing holiday. We spent our days snorkelling down at the beach, eating/drinking at the beach bar/restaurant and swimming in the lovely pool. The gardens are also beautiful and very well kept. We went out to loads of different restaurants in La Herradura in the evenings and overall had a wonderful holiday.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very happy you had a wonderful holiday and really enjoyed your stay in the apartment and the surrounding area. Receiving good news from guests is a great reminder of our own happy and relaxing times there. You are of course welcome to rent with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Muchas gracias, estamos encantados Fue un placer tenerte como nuestros huéspedes. Bien venido otra vez.!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing