We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our return to Los Arcos - second to none accomodation & location”
Review of Los Arcos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Arcos
Ranked #1 of 5 Valor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our return to Los Arcos - second to none accomodation & location”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Our second visit to Los Arcos after a wonderful 7 day walking holiday last year.
This time we returned two weeks earlier with 2 relatives in anticipation of another great
holiday. We were not to be disapointed. Again an amazing week, with new walks and walks from last year, including the walk up to Chullo. Breath taking walks and views all very carefully planed and lead by David. The hospitality at Los Arcos is second to none, David anf Jill making us all extremely welcome, with superb accomodation and first class gourmet meals. We look forward to visitng again, hopefully next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
87
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2011

It is fun how delighted one can be , when you come to the insight that real five star accommodation is not about being Grand the Blings and Neon lights , but an overwhelmingly true and authentic hospitality in a clean and well maintained bed & breakfast where you are truly treated as you would be at home. Thank YOU!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Los Arcos is in a tiny typically Spanish village surrounded by beautiful landscape. Jill and David the hosts are amazing - nothing is too much trouble for them! We were met off the train at Granada by Dave and taken back again after the holiday to the airport - all in the comfort of Dave's comfortable mini bus complete with his great choice of music ! The walks were fantastic and our guides knew the routes well and pointed out plcaes of interest. The accommodation is first class - very clean with beautiful bedrooms and en suite facilities. The food was excellent - lovely fruit salad at breakfast and Jill accommodated our request for a gluten-free diet with dignity, variety and thought.
If you love walking, great company and enjoy good food - then get packing now !

Room Tip: Not really appropriate - they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte1147570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

The owners, Jill & David, make you feel so welcome that it is almost like being at home. The property is cleaned daily, and is spotless There is plenty of space to relax, both inside and on the roof where there are spectacular views to the south. Our room even had a small private balcony overlooking the village square.

Every day David lead us on a spectacular walk through the Alpujarras, which were tailored to our pace and ability, and provided plenty of information about the region, but we most enjoyed the walk in the Sierra Nevada to the top of Chullo, an 8,000 ft mountain. After returning from the walks Jill provided a home baked cake and tea on the roof which was very welcome after a hard days walk.

The home cooked evening meals Jill made were amazing value, and there was always enough to satisfy our huge appetites. The meal also included wine and after dinner drinks. We also tried two of the local bars/restaurants which were very good but not up to the standard set by Jill !

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kebab65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We had a great time at Los Arcos. Jill and Dave Drummie were fantastic hosts, attentive to all our needs, and nothing was too much trouble (like going out and getting another bottle of Bacardi for our rum and coke!). Their comprehensively renovated guesthouse is beautifully presented, comfortable, spacious and relaxing. It's situated in the centre of the pretty village of Valor, high in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada. The house has a marvellous roof terrace where we could sit and drink (there's a free bar!) and take in the fantastic panorama of the hills and valleys of the Alpujarra stretching into the distance. We went walking every day with Dave leading the way over his carefully devised routes through the Alpujarra with its stunning scenery and beautiful wild flowers (and wildlife - one day we saw a Golden Eagle circling in the sky above us!), and we also were able to walk to the top of one of the highest peaks in the Sierra Nevada, another unforgettable experience. In all these excursions Dave was a really informative and entertaining guide, and we also had Jill's lunchpack (really nice rolls!) to look forward to. This was a really enjoyable stay which we would thoroughly recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Wild_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

superb hosts. Comfortable rooms. A wonderful tranquil spot. Breathtaking views from the terrace. Excellent home cooked food. Energetic walks so we didn't feel guilty for the tea and cake afterwards! Can't wait for the next visit

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thea02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxted
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Los Arcos is a comfortable and welcoming guest house set in the lovely hillside village of Valor. The room was well cleaned each day and Jill is a great cook, David complements her perfectly making sure that guests are looked after. His walks were really interesting, he knows a great deal about the area and we walked for 4 days in some spectacular countryside.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moonstonedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valor
6.3 mi away
Hotel los Berchules
Hotel los Berchules
#1 of 1 in Berchules
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
23.0 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Real de Laroles-Nevada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Melia Sierra Nevada
Melia Sierra Nevada
#2 of 13 in Nevada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa Rural Las Chimeneas
2.3 mi away
Alojamiento Vina y Rosales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Arcos

Property: Los Arcos
Address: barrio de La Iglesia 3 | Válor, 18470 Valor, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Valor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Valor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Arcos is a beautifully renovated character house in the centre of the typical Alpujarran village of Valor. It is owned and run by Jill and David Drummie. The house has been lovingly restored making it perfect for long or short breaks or as a base for those wishing to avail themselves of the incredible walks offered in the area. For those who need to stay in touch there is free Wi-Fi available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Los Arcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing