We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantástico!”
Review of Los Arcos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Arcos
Ranked #1 of 4 Valor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2012

With the risk of sounding really gushy, I couldn't have had a better time staying at Los Arcos. Jill and David were the perfect hosts, incredibly welcoming and helpful. David printed out walking directions for us and suggested nearby hikes and day trips. Jill is a fantastic cook, and we had one of the nicest meals of our holiday sitting on their terrace watching the sun set.

Our room was spacious and keeping the doors to our little balcony open made sure it was nice and cool. Breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruit salad and pastries, and we had some good nights out at the local bars and restaurants.

I can't recommend Los Arcos highly enough. Jill & David, if you are reading this, thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elmunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

I would thoroughly recommend a stay here to anyone. The B&B is so well- equipped and perfect for those who only travel with hand-baggage. Jill and David are extremely welcoming, very helpful and caring. I spent two nights here at the start of a walking trip and both hosts were able to provide lots of very useful advice on both the long and short routes around the area. I really wish I'd planned to spend a lot more time in the area, but left promising myself a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emucun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed with David for two nights(Jill was in UK)and enjoyed it immensely.He is a great host and coped very well on his own.Shame we couldn't sample Jill's cullinary delights!!!
Room and whole place was well presented and the breakfasts were excellent.
Valor was a delight.Lovely walks(short,it was HOT) and a surprisingly busy night life(country style).
Drove up to Trevelez ,and as the rest of the area,beautiful scenery
Would definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed with Jill & David in May for only two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Their B&B was beautifully appointed, spacious, cool and spotlessly clean. Their bathrooms were large and had all the toiletries we needed having traveled light from the UK. Our hosts were very attentive giving us tea & coffee on arrival and drinks on their terrace in the evening. They gave us advice on where to go and their local knowledge was excellent. Breakfast was continental and very enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble, they went out of their way to make our stay a real pleasure. It would be lovely to come back again one day.
Thanks again both of you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevergrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Another wonderful holiday at Los Arcos with Jill and David. Their hospitality is superb, nothing is too much trouble and they just make you feel so comfortable and at home is their beautiful house. The food was wonderful as usual, the weather great and the walking breathtaking. I really did not want to come home and I am planning my 9th visit for later this year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniemaryWhyteleafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Thank you again for making us feel so welcome. You are both such wonderful hosts. We felt completely at home just like visiting family and friends. Our room was very comfortable we even had our own balcony. Every day Jill cooked a wonderful 3 course dinner and we honestly enjoyed every meal. The weather was perfect sunny but not too hot which enabled us to do some of the high walks with the breath taking scenery. When we returned it was Tea and cake on the roof terrace enjoying the views of the surrounding mountains. Definitely planning a return visit next year.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Gina1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The hospitality we received from Jill and David was superb. Their beautiful renovated house in the Square at Valor is full of character; Jill's cooking is wonderful and the escorted walks with David were just breathtaking. Nothing was too much trouble and we had the most memorable holiday with them. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndaM715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valor hotels
0.2 mi away
Balcon de Valor
Balcon de Valor
#1 of 1 in Valor
53 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa La Ladera
Casa La Ladera
#2 of 4 in Valor
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Las Perdices
Hostal Las Perdices
#3 of 4 in Valor
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Arcos

Address: Plaza de la Iglesia 3, 18470 Valor, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Valor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Valor
Price Range: £36 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Arcos is a beautifully renovated character house in the centre of the typical Alpujarran village of Valor. It is owned and run by Jill and David Drummie. The house has been lovingly restored making it perfect for long or short breaks or as a base for those wishing to avail themselves of the incredible walks offered in the area. For those who need to stay in touch there is free Wi-Fi available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Los Arcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing