We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday!”
Review of Los Arcos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Arcos
Ranked #1 of 4 Valor B&B and Inns
South-East
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great holiday!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This charming B&B is located in the peaceful village of Valor. Hosts Dave and Jill are really attentive and helpful, and Dave's guided walks around the amazing local mountain scenery are something else! The bedrooms are kept spotlessly clean and the roof terrace has amazing views and free drinks! It was only after we returned to England that I realised we hadn't had a TV in the room, but then, who needs it when you can spend time over Jill's great dinners chatting with other travellers anyway... We really like "proper" Spanish villages and this area is rich in them - but the locals are really friendly and helped us at every turn. While we there we met a Dutch couple travelling round the area and staying at Los Arcos for the second time in a week - they couldn't find anywhere else better value and as good - and also an Irish couple who have been walking the mountains (on their own!) for the last 15 years. Great company, great fun, we'll be back again. PS the weather helped ...!!!

Room Tip: Seems all rooms are good but go for room 3 if you can the balcony view is amazing - PS remember to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philtherunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
88
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is the best B&B's we visited in Andalusia. David & Jill are really kind and will make sure you will fall in love at Los Arcos. The view at the roof terrace is breathtaking, the beds are super. The walks through the surroundings are a joy. Keep up the good work, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almeria, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is a great place to stay in a beautiful part of Spain. The location, rooms, service and the food were very good. David and Jill run this small 5 star hotel with no compromise and made us feel very welcome. The dinner on their roof terrace was particularly good. The stay was also excellent value for money. We will return shortly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonandjof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We requested a location south of Granada in a remote, quiet spot of rural Spain. What an experience!! Location, rooms, food, all terrific! David & Jill do an exceptional job of making you feel very welcome in their outstanding B&B, overlooking the village square, in this beautiful little village of Valor. Our holiday schedule allowed us one night and that is our only regret. Jake & Betty, Kincardine, Ontario ,Canada.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013

From the moment David met us at the door at 1am to the time he dropped us back to the airport at 4.30am 5 days later David and his wife Jill just couldnt do enough for us. Their beautiful home is run to an exceptional standard, 5 star food, a different home made cake every day, complimentary bar, delicious packed lunches (with a surprise thrown in every day!) and David's easy company and expertise on guided walks through the most spectacular scenary. Jill even invited us to join her at her dance class in the next village one evening and drove us there and back. I learned Im no dancer but I can laugh at myself !!! Every single aspect of our trip was second to none. We were only away for 5 days but I felt so good I thought Id had a 3 week holiday. And as a single traveller I really apreciate the lack of a single room supplement, fantastic value for money. Do not pass by Los Arcos. Thank you David and Jill.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Anyone who reads my reviews will know that I can be scathing when I find poor service or have a bad experience with an accommodation provider. On the other hand I like to give credit where credit is due, and to encourage and endorse excellence. That is why I am coming back to review Los Arcos, even though I have reviewed it in the past.
Last week I spent four wonderful days hiking in Las Alpujarras with Los Arcos proprietor David Drummie, and enjoying the hospitality that is so well managed by his wife Jill. Along with a group of friends I hiked on four different mountain routes led by David, along mountain paths through carpets of wild flowers and by running streams, breathing in clear mountain air and enjoying some of the most spectacular scenery in the world. Each day we finished up on the spectacular roof terrace of Los Arcos, enjoying tea, home-made cake and complimentary drinks. It was an incredible few days that left me feeling totally refreshed and I'd do it all again tomorrow, if I could.
On one of the evenings we had dinner in Los Arcos, a wonderful feast cooked by Jill that was an absolute hit with all of the group and that was a highlight of the trip. That was something I'd do again, without a doubt.
All in all, this is a great place, run by a great team, and I continue to return here and to this beautiful area. I can't wait for the next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockyroad2dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

A beautifully restored house in the village square the attention to detail is second to none. Jill and David have made this more than a B & B it is also their passion to see that everyone goes away having had a good time, whether it is walking with David, eating Jill's food or just relaxing on the terrace.
The rooms are spotless and cleaned every day with fresh towels etc and the friendly ambience makes this an ideal holiday spot whatever your length of stay.
We would highly recommend this B & B and the Los Arcos walking holiday. We had a fantastic 5 days and when we get fitter Barry and I will be back!

Thanks David & Jill

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheppsSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valor
6.3 mi away
Hotel los Berchules
Hotel los Berchules
#1 of 1 in Berchules
140 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Real de Laroles-Nevada
10.4 mi away
El CastaNar Nazari
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balcon de Valor
Balcon de Valor
#1 of 1 in Valor
48 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa Rural Las Chimeneas
1.4 mi away
Casa La Ladera
Casa La Ladera
#2 of 4 in Valor
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Arcos

Property: Los Arcos
Address: barrio de La Iglesia 3 | Válor, 18470 Valor, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Valor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Valor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Arcos is a beautifully renovated character house in the centre of the typical Alpujarran village of Valor. It is owned and run by Jill and David Drummie. The house has been lovingly restored making it perfect for long or short breaks or as a base for those wishing to avail themselves of the incredible walks offered in the area. For those who need to stay in touch there is free Wi-Fi available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Los Arcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing