We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis Close to the Alhambra!”
Review of Hotel Villa Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Sur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huetor Vega
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The Hotel Villa Sur is a wonderful oasis for the weary traveler! It's situated just outside the city, but very close to the Alhambra and the sites of Granada City. Very charming, with comfortable rooms, an elevator, beautiful landscape and a great view of the country side. The proprietor is an older gentlemen that take care of everything, from a wonderful breakfast in the morning to welcoming us back home at night. Their is even a small swimming pool with a beautiful landscaped backyard. I wished that we had one of these hotels in every city we visited in Spain, it was marvelous!

Room Tip: I'm not really sure of the other rooms, but we were on the 3rd floor, near to the front and it w...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRoss258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Sur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

Beautiful small 10 room boutique hotel very near Alhambra - only 4 Euro taxi ride just outside the main downtown part of Granada. We stayed only 1 night while visting the Alhambra but could have stayed many more. Our junior suite room was stunning - canopy bed, incredible sheets and pillows, luscious towels, large tub, shower, marble everywhere, private sunroom and private veranda off of the palacial bathroom. The decorations are characteristic of the area and everything looked sparkling. Air conditioning used during the evenings to ensure a moderate sleep and mini-bar stocked with easy to use in room phone for reasonabled priced long distance phone calls. As the weather was warm during our stay - the pool, towels and outdoor seating areas and sculptured gardens added to the enjoyment of the stay. We stayed local and found a several restaurants nearby for dinner. Host was always available and ensured we had a pleasant stay. Breakfast for 6 euro complete with breads, ham, jams, coffee and cheeses so no need to leave hotel. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Regular rooms nice but the JUNIOR SUITE on the 1st floor is spectacular.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_buff_Vanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I originally chose this particular hotel due to the amount of good, positive feedback from other Trapadvisors. We didn't arrive until 23:30hrs and this wasn't a problem to the owner. The hotel has five rooms on the first floor, five rooms on the second floor and further accomodation at the bottom of the garden. We stayed here for two weeks and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The area surrounding the hotel is quiet, although I must point out that we had a room to the rear so I cannot speak about the front rooms which face onto the roadway. It is tastefully decorated and is quite beautiful inside, indeed some of the decor are almost copies of that found in the Alhambra Palace. Breakfast, which is a cold buffet (which costs 6 euro) is well worth the money and sets you up for the day.

The only downside we felt, but this is by no means a criticism, more a local design feature, is that in this country we have carpets in our rooms and stairwells wheras in this hotel it ia all decked out in marble. Now this has a detrimental effect when it comes to sound deadening. We also noticed the walls are a bit thin. You can clearly hear the conversations in the next room. I would guess the best room to go for is the one at the bottom of the garden, but only if you want silence on your hols.

Hope this helps somebody. Dont be put off. It really is a good, family run, small boutique style hotel. There are also lots of eateries in the local vicinity as well as a brand new shopping mall located on the right as you proceed into Granada, about a 10min walk away.It's only been open a fortnight.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We chose this hotel for our stay in Granada before we headed off to Sierra Nevada for some skiing and found it to be an excellent choice!

The hotel itself is in an immaculately kept villa with great views. We had a large spacious room with a stunning balcony and all the amenities we could have hoped for. The wifi was excellent and helped us in planning the next stages of our trip.

There's not much within walking distance but with a car, this wasn't really an issue for us. Parking was free on the street with no issues finding spaces. Granada is a very short drive away (I also believe you can take the bus outside) so very accessible. My only tip here would be to head straight for an underground car park and walk, don't bother trying to find street parking - it can be a nightmare!

The host was very helpful in suggesting places to go and where to park. I accidentally left my charger in the room and he kept it aside for me to collect after we finished skiiing.

Overall highly recommended, a real bargain!

Room Tip: Not sure if they all had balconies, but ours was lovely! Our room was set up for smokers and althoug...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packeted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in the lovely Hotel Villa Sur for a weekend in Sierra Nevada/Granada in February 2012, and I cannot say enough about this amazing boutique hotel. I was taken by surprise, because I had never been to a four-star hotel that wasn't a well-known chain (or well-known in the region where situated), and when we arrived, it was charming from the outside, but I wasn't sure that it would live up to its 4-star status. Well, it certainly did -- I loved that it had all of the splendor of a traditional 4-star hotel, but all of the charm of a rural-esque, tranquil bed and breakfast (even if it is just 2 miles from the center of Granada). We had a car but, if you don't, there is a bus stop RIGHT in front of the hotel, so getting to/from Granada center shouldn't be an issue. I can imagine it is beautiful in the summer with its gardens and pool. It is owned by a lovely family, and the gentleman was kind enough to let us bring our 2-month old Bichon Maltese for the weekend -- not a common thing in southern Spain! Will definitely go back when the weather is warmer to take advantage of their beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahTajJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Chose this hotel because we were skiing during the days and had a big people carrier and didn't fancy trying to move it around Granada streets. Good choice! It was on the Sierra Nevada side of town and parking was easy on the street outside. Bus took us straight to centre in the evening in under 10 mins - regular service and right outside door. Nice hotel with olde world fixtures. Very clean, beds very firm but that is only negative if you don't like. Didn't notice any major road noise like some other reviewers. We had 2 connecting rooms ( room 3) which was good for our family of 2 adults and 2 boys aged 10 and 12.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiantiAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Hubicado cerca de las atracciones de Granada, el Transporte comun justo al frente del Hotel, nos lleva en 10 minutos al centro Historico de la ciudad.
Dejamos nuestro coche estacionado en la calle por dos dias , afuera del Hotel sin ningun problema.
El hotel tiene una atmosfera relaxante, con sus cuidados jardines y la picina que invita a refrescarnos.
Las habitaciones son inmaculadas y buen servicio.
Recomendable para parejas y familias .Volveria a este Hotel en cualquier momento.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianamontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huetor Vega
Hotel Granada Palace
#2 of 9 in Monachil
667 reviews
Hotel Cerro Del Sol
#64 of 122 in Granada
344 reviews
Hotel Abades La Marquesa
#74 of 122 in Granada
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
785 reviews
Abades Nevada Palace
#73 of 122 in Granada
749 reviews
B&B Hotel Granada
#23 of 122 in Granada
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sur

Address: Avenida Andalucia 57, 18198 Huetor Vega, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Huetor Vega
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huetor Vega
Price Range: £50 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Sur Province Of Granada/Huetor Vega, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing