We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for walking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldhotel Sonnenberg
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bollendorf
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel for walking”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Great hotel for walking, outside urban aereas, and with stunning views.
With many impressive walks in the area, often starting right on the doorstep.
The rooms are applicable and the food is delicious.
And very important for us: dogs are welcome too.
We had a walking package inclusing diner, and increasingly enjoyed our stay.
We certainly will return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the southside have the best views. But the northside is cooler. Just what you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Truuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    25
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Very quiet at this time of year, but that is all the better for people whose purpose it is to go for a long walk in the forest and a calm dinner afterwards.
After conquering the cold hills, the sauna and swimming pool are just what you need.
Excellent location, very "German" style cuisine and friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauralijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rixensart, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Quiet and calm hotel with a beautiful view over the valley, a warm welcome and a professional service.
Dinner and breakfast are also part of the agrement.
There are no complaints against this charming hotel.
We will certainly come back

Room Tip: Take a room south side with balcony for the beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlon, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We had a pleasant two night stay using the hotel's Kulinarisches Arrangement which included one 7-course and one 8-course dinner. I would describe the cuisine as competent rather than gourmet. The short wine list included a couple of excellent Luxembourg wines, one a pinot noir rosé, the other a pinot gris, and plenty of other choices without spending a fortune. The buffet breakfast was copious. We had a category 3 room, south facing with shower and balcony, which was comfortable with adequate storage space for a longer stay, and which offered excellent views over the village and river into Luxembourg. The hotel also had a nice indoor swimming pool and an excellent sauna.
The hotel is well placed for a walking holiday with a wide choice of interesting paths on both the German and Luxembourg sides of the river.
We thought it was good value for money and will return in the future for a longer walking break.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bollendorf
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Hauer
Hotel Restaurant Hauer
#3 of 4 in Bollendorf
20 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Bel Air Sport & Wellness
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ritschlay
Hotel Ritschlay
#4 of 4 in Bollendorf
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Dimmer Hotel
Dimmer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wallendorf Pont
128 reviews
2.3 mi away
Trail-Inn Natur & Sporthotel
4.1 mi away
Hotel Eden au Lac
Hotel Eden au Lac
#4 of 8 in Echternach
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldhotel Sonnenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel Sonnenberg

Property: Waldhotel Sonnenberg
Address: Sonnenbergallee 1, 54669 Bollendorf, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bollendorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bollendorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waldhotel Sonnenberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional family-run hotel is located in the spa town of Bollendorf. Waldhotel Sonnenberg offers free Wi-Fi and free use of the gym and spa with swimming pool and new panoramic sauna with outdoor terrace. Waldhotel Sonnenberg features a 50,000 m² park with sunbathing lawn, barbecue area and horse paddock. The German-Luxembourg Nature Park is ideal for walking, hiking and cycling. Guests are welcome to explore the nearby cliff formations and caves. Breakfast is served in Restaurant Bellevue, which offers great views of the Eifel Mountains. Regional and international specialities are also offered. Parking is free at Waldhotel Sonnenberg. It is a 6-minute drive from the scenic Bollendorf Mountain and Weilerbach Castle. We speak your language! Hotel Rooms: 27 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldhotel Sonnenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing