We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and spectacular”
Review of Mar Menor Golf

Mar Menor Golf
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fun and spectacular”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I'm not a great golfer - has to be nice weather and nice location - and this fits the bill perfectly!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    17
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent All Round Course”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

A regular on my trips to Spain. This course has something for golfers of all abilities, but beware if you do spray the ball around! Like all the course in the IRM group you need to think your way around the course as the shot to the green is all important as you will need to consider pin placement, the bunkers and indeed the water hazards which come into,play on the 3rd, 4th, 5th, 13th and 14th. Some very strong holes especially around the lake on the back nine. The only slight letdown is that for me the first couple of holes are pretty straight forward before it becomes very interesting and challenging. There are some tight holes, but that is the whole point of golf you need to be accurate and if you go off line you will be punished.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ordinary course with lots of bunkers”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

As other reviewers have noted, this course really is close to the apartments in the resort, and you need to keep your slice well under control. The course left no big impression in our minds, except the myriad of bunkers which are everywhere. Quality of fairways and greens were good, but it is not a course we would play again as it did not have any outstanding features.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kollekongen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beware of "Sand"”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A marvellous test of golf. Ok for all abilities ... There's plenty of bunkers and the rough is also made up of sand scrubland. The course from the holiday tees (Yellow) is not too long but each hole provides a good test of Driving, placement and Putting !!
The greens are huge and fast.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich4Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“wide variety of courses to play, near to coast, nicely landscape”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The resort has stylised spanish appartments and hotel similar to most of the resorts in the area and is within easy access of beaches, it is nicely landscaped and there are a good choice of different golf courses with distinctive characteristics which are well kept and much cheaper than La Manga. We stayed in an appartment linked to the hotel which was spacious and close to a pool. Service was poor as we had a loose tap and a wardrobe door that wasn't sliding and were promised it would be fixed and despite repeated requests it wasn't.The restaurants are disappointing and we went out to local towns to eat. We came for a golfing holiday and it was good value and enjoyable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank judithvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mar Menor Golf also viewed

Region of Murcia, Spain
Torre-Pacheco, Region of Murcia
 
San Javier, Region of Murcia
Torre-Pacheco, Region of Murcia
 

Been to Mar Menor Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing