We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent fun”
Review of Puerto Nuevo Restaurant - CLOSED

Puerto Nuevo Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent fun”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I learnt a few Irish tunes! Previously I could only sing when Irish eyes were smiling! We had lovely tapas, very good advise on were was good to go.. We really were made to feel at home!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Basil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    3
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and even Better company”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We first discovered this place along with a friend who lives in El Cotillo. I loved the chilled out atmosphere of the place. Karen and Terry are both fantastic hosts and made us feel very welcomed indeed. If you are looking for some great Tapas then this is the place to go. Delicious and very reasonably priced. Puerto Nuevo is set just of from the Harbour so is the perfect place to relax with a drink and watch the sun go down. We were sad to say goodbye but we will 100% be back. Thanks Karen & Terry for making our holiday a good one!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank emma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK/IRE
Level Contributor
123 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Value For Money”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We have visited El Cotillo several times a year for the last 4 years sometimes staying a month at a time which gives loads of opportunity to visit ALL the bars and restaurants!!! The one we frequent the most is always Puerto Neuvo as its excellent value for money. The eat all you bbq is to die for and shouldn't be missed! We haven't tried the new tapas menu yet but if its half as good as the old one then we can't wait! If you just fancy a drink and a natter with other English speakers there's always someone around in the evening to talk with. Terry & Karen have great knowledge of El Cotillo and the surrounding area and are very helpful if you just ask. If they can't help you they will know someone local who can! If you need a book to borrow for the hols, large selection is available to swap. We have never had a problem with Terry & Karen and are surprised by some of the negative reviews here. Overall we highly recommend you call in to the Puerto Nuevo and try it for yourself and who know's we might be chatting over a drink with you!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2EatLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, friendly owners and best homemade chips ever!”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We have been on holidays in El Cotillo many times now and always eat in the Puerto Nuevo several times each stay. They have a few tables outside which a great for lunch or afternoon drinks and comfortable sofas inside for the evenings. The food is genuinely homemade, Karen (one of owners) peels and cuts the chips herself whenever someone orders them. A good selection of British/Irish style meals and snacks and on our last visit they had started doing delicious and very cheap tapas. Don't miss the "Terry burger"!

The owners are a lovely Northern Irish couple called Karen and Terry. Terry can be a bit quiet but is actually very nice and Karen is friendly, chatty, a great cook and seems to remember all her customers. I really don't know how there are so many negative comments about them.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in everyway.”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Im not quite sure of the other reviews on this website they seen more personal than an actual evaluation of the food and service. I visit el cotillo at least twice a yr with my son and he absolutely loves it. He always has Karen home-made pizza.child friendly is an understatement,last time we were out in janurary terry went to the trouble of downloading Thomas the tank for my 2 yr old fir when he was in.made his holiday. If your looking for good food at affordable prices then this is the place for you.The Wednesday night Bbq also shouldnt be missed,10 EURO All you can eat ..See you next month guys keep up the good work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank galway0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puerto Nuevo Restaurant also viewed

El Cotillo, La Oliva
El Cotillo, La Oliva
 
El Cotillo, La Oliva
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing