We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
Review of Cotillo Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cotillo Sunset
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Let's start with the location - excellent! Just at the edge of the small town of El Cotillo, on the road that leads out of town towards the lighthouse and lagoons. About a 10-15 min walk into the harbour area or a 5 min drive. There are two complexes on a small lane leading off the main road, the first is the Lago then next door the Sunset. The Lago is bigger but I'm led to believe much more basic in terms of accommodation. The complex is two blocks of studio apartments, with a reception area and between the two blocks there is a small pool, children's dip pool and jacuzzi tub. All set in paved terrace with planted areas and ornamental low walls etc. The studios themselves consist of a large room with separate bathroom. The rooms are basically furnished with twin beds which can be used as a double, plus double sofa bed. There is a small wardrobe, coffee table, small wooden dining table with two chairs and a kichenette with two ring electric hob, fridge, sink,microwave and undersink bin area. There is a room safe (free of charge) inside the wardrobe. This is not high end luxury but everything on site is very well maintained and kept spotlessly clean, you could not fault the maintenance at all!
The location is right on the beach, the back of the complex is only separated from the sand by a low wall with high glass panels and a security gate, just inside of which is a beach shower. Open the gate and you step straight onto the lovely golden sand of a very pretty beach with several small 'bays' for swimming and at low tide plenty of rock pools and interesting areas.
The town is quite small and at the harbour end consists of a maze of small lanes and alleys with a selection of restaurants and bars. The locals refer to it as 'the village'. There are a few small shops dotted around and a slightly larger supermarket just as you leave town on the main road towards El Roque and all points south. Through the town and out past the sunset apartments is the road to the lighthouse and some lovely beaches and lagoons further along.
This is not the place for those seeking night time entertainment or amusements. There's very little to do or see in the town itself and the restaurants are mostly all closing down by around 9.30pm, although there are one or two nice local bars which are open later, they are certainly not 'hives of activity'. If you want a quiet relaxing stress free holiday, this most definitely is the place for you! The beaches alone are worth the trip.
We arrived on our first night very very late (around midnight) due to crap traffic in England, late flight and diabolical organisation from the airline, to find the place in darkness and all locked up. There was however a telephone number on the door and when we called, a lovely chap called David (holding fort for Omar who was on holiday himself) came and let us in. He couldnt be more helpful, made sure we were okay, took us to the room, explained things (although due to fatigue and travel weariness most of which we didnt take in!). He even got us a bottle of wine from their small shop to help de-stress us and told us he'd tell us more in the morning. Next morning he knocked on our door (not too early thankfully) and had brought us hot freshly baked rolls and he thought we might be hungry (too true!). Every day he asked if everything was okay and if we needed anything. The rooms were cleaned beautifully and were provided with spotlessly clean bedlinen and bathroom towels. The balcony/patio had a small garden table and chairs and a large sun parasol (absolutely essential as the balconies face the beach and the sun - the sunsets are awesome!)
Upshot - whilst very basic and a little dated, this is a wonderful place to stay, very nicely laid out and quite pretty, fantastically well maintained and ideal for a restful quiet holiday. Please note they do not accept payment by credit/debit card so you need to pay on arrival in euros.
On our last day we were required to check out by 11am but as we had an evening flight we asked if we could pay to extend our time in the room. Unfortunately as we had one of the more desireable beach view rooms it had already been booked for new arrivals but they kindly let us move to one of the ground floor pool view rooms which are not as popular and gave it to us for the rest of the day free of charge! We met the owner of the apartments who resides in Gran Canaria and he was totally charming, even giving me a little history of various spanish wines and what to look for! This attention to details sums up the whole place - its not swanky, its not got every facility known to man but it IS just lovely.

Room Tip: First floor sea view recommended although they cost slightly more Some ground floor pool view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank franki253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    23
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
59
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Our 6 night stay got off to a very good start when we were allowed into our apartment, despite arriving well before time. Omar, the manager, gave us a comprehensive introduction to the apartments, the surroundings, where to shop, where to eat and what to do. He even provided complimentary mineral water and 2 cans of beer!

Our first floor apartment (room 24) overlooked the pool but also gave a sea view from the balcony. A very clean, well appointed room with a small but well equipped kitchen area and (contrary to a recent review), a security safe. The beach location is a major attraction - you walk straight from the apartment complex onto the beach, which has the very attractive feature of a sizeable seawater lagoon with a swimmable depth, even at low tide. Although there is a perpetual strong breeze and surfers' sea, the reef just offshore ensures that the lagoon is always safe and calm. Not sure I would leave non-swimmer unattended, as once you get out of the shallows, there is a couple of metres depth at high tide. El Cotillo is very quiet and most of the guests were families with well behaved children. This is an ideal spot for a relaxing break by the sea.

One minor word of caution. The water supply is clean and hot water for showers is plentiful. However, there is a pronounced plastic pipe taste and you really do need to boil up mineral water for tea and coffee.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TontoViejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

spent 10 days at the sunset apartments, but unfortunately we were broken into the first night.. there was no safe as there had been before. .i feel we should have been informed of this prior to our visit. the forced entry was through the patio door by smashing one of the panes. also the security gate had its lock removed on several evenings, we can only think this was for late arrivals to enter as the reception then doesn't have to be manned! we have had no help to resolve this incident and no apology or compensation from the management. PLEASE BE VERY CAUTIOUS even though the setting is idyillic. we have been visiting Fuerteventura for 17years, many in cotillo but times they are a changing. I have waited til now hoping for a resolution but after many phone calls and faxes to Omar, I have got NOWHERE.

Room Tip: don't have an end room and request a safe
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
14 Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Cotillo Sunset are group of about 34 apartments right on the beach. I stayed in a studio apartment and was very pleased with the way it was kitted out. The apartments surround the swimming pool. There is also a jacuzzi and a children's pool. The best apartments are ones that front the beach. I think their numbers were 1 to 8 (ground floor with terrace and sunbeds overlooking beach) and prob 11 or 12 to about 16/17 (first floor with balcony facing the sea). My apartment was 10 which was on the side. The balcony (with table and 3 chairs) overlooked the pool. As you went out the door at the back of the apartment, you were treated to a amazing view of the sea. Sometimes I brought my chair to this part just to admire the view.

Apartment had two single beds which I assume you could push together, great bathroom with shower above bath (plentiful hot water) and hairdryer, seating area with settee and flat screen TV (only found BBC news channel in English though), kitchenette with fridge, 2 hobs, microwave and all pots and pans, dishes, plates, glasses and cutlery I needed.

As I said - literally right on the beach. The gates to the road and to the beach are kept locked and you are provided with a key. This made me feel more secure. The location is one of the last buildings on the edge of the village and adjacent to the Lagos Apartments which also are on the beach. Few minutes walk into the village where there were several bars and restaurants as described by others. Reception is not manned 24 hours but are very helpful (family run I would think). Wifi available if you are near the reception building. I could actually pick it up on my balcony but not in my room.

To sum up: I will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Sea view are the absolute best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kpdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

A lot has been said and written about Sunset appartments in El Cotillo. If you read the reviews below you wil find accurate information. We were there for two weeks (last week of '12, first week of '13). El Cotillo is away form the crowded places (in fact we were not allowed on the transferbus from the airport burt were directed to a private taxi, that's how far away it is form the touristy spots) and once we where there Omar greeted us with a smile, a handshake, a bottle of wine and a bottle of water, followed by a tour of the place. I mean; how's that for a welcome? The appartement is simple and good: great beds, good shower, plenty of stuff in the kitchen to prepare a meal. Great view too! The pool, the jacuzzi, the beach: it is on your doorstep and it is lovely. The place is a treat.
The village self is small and very Spanish: a playground with children, a bar with locals, and I reckon about 15 places where you can eat out. Do not look for a beachstrip with fastfoodplaces, tattooshops, disco's or clubs: it is not there. Go to the old harbour and eat fish (look for a blue cow) or visit the new harbour and eat pastry or get a fruitshake (wifi included). Then head back to Sunset and enjoy your lazy holiday. If you want to go on a organized tour: the pickup place will not be at your Sunset, it is simply too far away from the crowd. While we we there we found the other guests were pensionados and surfdudes. No wonder: the waves are magic! Another must: go and stand on your balcony in the middle of the night > the place is quiet as can be, but for the murmur of the surf. Love it!

Room Tip: room 27 has a view of the pool and some of the ocean as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank harhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We originally booked a week at the Princess Arminda in Betancuria but when the went wrong we decided to book a couple of nights in Caleta and a couple of nights in El Cotillo.

The location of Cotillo Sunset is perfect, right on the beach. The facility is small, but there is everything you need for a perfect holiday. There's a pool, a small splash pool for kids and a jacuzzi too.

The beach is great, perfect for children and adults alike. Though the sea is wild at Cotillo, the reefs offshore at this location make for safe bathing as long as you don't venture out too far.

All in all, a lovely place in a great location.

Room Tip: Try and book rooms 1-8' right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennoxtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just got back after a two week stay here. It’s a smallish 2 star complex at the Lagoons end of El Cotillo. It's about a 10 minute walk from the centre of the village, and has access directly onto the beach.
There are 34 apartments divided upstairs and downstairs in two blocks. Rooms 1 to 8 are to be particularly coveted and worth paying a supplement for. They’re upstairs with balconies directly above the beach, looking out on the setting sun.
What we found:
• The staff are friendly and helpful. As we were leaving on an evening flight we were told to keep the room ‘til mid-afternoon and spend the morning on the beach.
• The rooms are spacious with plenty room for beds, settee, table and chairs.
• The balcony on our upstairs room was big enough, and had a plastic table and chairs and a parasol. Lower flats get a terrace area.
• The kitchen facility has a 2 ring cooker, microwave, fridge, plenty of pots and pans, crockery and cutlery.
• The television has satellite and terrestrial digital stations. We didn’t find any English language channels. Perhaps this could have been fixed, but we didn’t care enough to enquire. • Rooms are cleaned and towels/bedding changed several times a week.
• There is no air conditioning. When sleeping with the balcony door open there’s a bit of noise from the surf.
• The pool area between the two blocks is well sheltered from the wind. There’s a small swimming pool, spa pool and childrens pool. There are plenty sunloungers and it never seems to get busy. This isn’t surprising as you can step out of the back gate straight onto a soft sandy beach with swimming lagoon…

In conclusion – we’ll be happy to stay here again, and I expect we will.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Duncolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cotillo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cotillo Beach
Hotel Cotillo Beach
#1 of 2 in El Cotillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Soul Surfer
Hotel Soul Surfer
#2 of 2 in El Cotillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 45 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
9.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
0.6 mi away
Cotillo Lagos Apartments
Cotillo Lagos Apartments
#4 of 10 in El Cotillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotillo Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotillo Sunset

Property: Cotillo Sunset
Address: Avenida Los Lagos, s/n, 35600 El Cotillo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > El Cotillo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in El Cotillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cotillo Sunset 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a recently built family complex in first beach line with 34 apartments. Cotillo Sunset will offer you the quiet you need to enjoy your holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotillo Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotillo Sunset El Cotillo, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing