We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changes to the bar.”

El Toston Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 59 Restaurants in El Cotillo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 1 June 2014

On our return visit to El Toston bar this year we immediately saw the changes introduced by Mel and Matt. The decor is clean and crisp and the new menu has a good range, with Matt introducing trial additions also (we enjoyed acting as tasters for a couple of his creations).We received a great welcome and by the time our holiday finished they felt like family. A great place to visit.
We particularly enjoyed the Sunday lunches!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, Owner at El Toston Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we are looking forward to seeing you both in October! (As head guinea-pigs! haha! ;) )
Matt&Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have been to El Cotillo for the last two years and El Toston looked cleaner and brighter this year with friendly staff. The food was good and Matt and Mel were very good with my 3 children. My husband did have to go to another bar to get a coffee but I believe they now have a new coffee machine. My daughter had her 12th birthday while we were away and Mel made her a non alcohlic cocktail on the house. All in all this bar is friendly but predominantly British but very welcoming. The view is outstanding and the sunsets are spectacular!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chloe-Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, Owner at El Toston Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review and visits! We do indeed have a snazzy new coffee machine ready for Keith to trial! See you next time!
Matt&Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This Bar/Restaurant has had a complete makeover by the new owners. Brighter and more spacious, very clean, nicely decorated, new menus, new coffee machine and a well stocked bar. Steve, Mel and Matt all gave us a very warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. They still hold the occasional music night which is very enjoyable. The food was very tasty and more dishes will be added to the menu at a later date (well done Matt). I hope that all previous clients will give this bar/restaurant all the support in the future that the new owners deserve. I for one will frequent it as often as I can as I was not disappointed in any way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, Owner at El Toston Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review, feedback and visits! We hope to see you back very soon!
Matt&Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We travelled up from caleta by car and came across this friendly little bar serving egg, chips and beans and such like. This was welcome as we were staying AI at big hotel so nice change to have an English staple meal. Nice lady who had just taken over sent us to the lighthouse with a handrawn map that she took the trouble to do for us. Good food, good prices and played blues music while the sea washed into the old harbour how chilled could you get.

Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, Owner at El Toston Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, and you're very welcome for the map! Next time you're here let us know how you got on at the lighthouse and make sure you stay in Cotillo!
Matt&Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

El Toston has always been one of those places that you could rely on to go back to. Serving all nationalities but tending to cater predominantly to British tastes, with a basic, relable menu. Alan and Gayle have now moved on (although still on the Island) The have handed on to Mel, and her son Matt. The decor has been updated (Less 60s Rock, more laid back) and the menu has been varied slightly, but the food, cooked mainly by Matt, is very good, and delivered quickly. The free Wifi is usefull, and the atmosphere relaxed, and the view is as good as ever.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, Owner at El Toston Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We hope to see you back again very soon!
Matt&Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Toston Bar and Restaurant also viewed

El Cotillo, La Oliva
El Cotillo, La Oliva
 
El Cotillo, La Oliva
 
El Cotillo, La Oliva
El Cotillo, La Oliva
 

Been to El Toston Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing