We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, some areas for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cotillo Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Cotillo
Dalry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, some areas for improvement”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one week from 24th August. Chose the hotel based on resort, price and other reviews on tripadvisor.
First point - if you intend to travel to this resort during mid to late August it will not be quiet due to the festival. We were already aware of the festival when we booked but had no idea how loud or close it would be. When the street festivities end there is some sort of open air disco starts around midnight and unfortunately this is right at the back of the hotel. The music goes on (very bad and very loud) until around 6am. Sleep is only possible if you have ear plugs and have made full use of the all inclusive drinks! Luckily for us we only overlapped the last two days of the festival but I think if you were there for longer / had kids with you it could be a real headache. It also meant the restaurants were very busy and getting a table without a reservation was difficult.
Transfers - we booked a private transfer through Travel Republic. This was £66 a return but worth it (I think if we had went for shared shuttle we would have probably went via Corralego hotels). Transfers were bang on time would definitely use them again.
Hotel itself - clean and pool area is spacious and well maintained. They have some policy in operation where your room in not cleaned day after arrival. Not really a big deal but we had to ask about it as I like towels changed daily at least. Room was cleaned (and towels changed) daily after that except one day just before we left when maid seemed to miss our room.
Hotel food - I can only echo most of the previous comments. The food is edible but bland. My biggest issue (also mentioned on other reviews) is that they seem to struggle to keep the food warm. Yes, a microwave is provided but I don't expect to have to taste the food, realise it's cold then run to the microwave to reheat it. I have never been to another hotel where they have a chef show cooking but doing it in batches then leaving it to get cold - seems pointless. The restaurant also has a very canteen feel to it. No ambience, or attempt at it.....even for evening dinner not a candle or anything on the table. As other reviews have mentioned - there are some great, reasonably priced restaurants in this resort if you budget in for eating out a few nights.
Drinks are served during the day at the pool bar then during the evening from a marquee where the entertainment is held. As other reviewers have pointed out, drinks are definitely not watered down although the pre-made cocktails from the machine are vile (avoid).
Entertainment - we attended one night and that was enough. It's a very difficult thing to balance entertainment for all age groups and this hotel is no different to others we have visited where entertainment is provided. It ended up a mixture of kiddies disco / name that tune for the adults.
Would I go back or recommend? If you want a quiet, non commercialised resort then this is for you. Hotel, yes - so long as you don't expect al a carte dining you won't be too disappointed. To be honest for the extra we paid between all inclusive and the room only rate it was a no brainer to take all inclusive.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor room with balcony. We had ground floor room right at pool which meant we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misty1811_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    479
    278
    126
    93
See reviews for
274
696
55
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This hotel is overall, lovely. It's very clean and modern, the pool area is stunning with *loads* of space and sun loungers, the staff are all great and the bar/restaurant staff in particular work so hard yet still manage (especially the girls) to smile and be friendly.

The main thing that lets it down, as most other reviews have said, is the food. However, it's not *that* bad. For a start, the breakfasts are lovely. Lunch and dinner are perfectly edible, it's just all a bit bland, and slightly limited in choice. I also noticed quite a few flies by the salad (they seemed to be attracted to the onions) which was rather offputting. Covering the salad would be a nice idea.

The desserts also suck. However, neither me or my boyfriend are big dessert people so it wasn't a huge deal. And, if you wait 'til the dinner session finishes, they put out the little pastries from breakfast in the snacks section, so you can just have those instead.... (can't understand why they don't just put these out during lunch and dinner though!)

When you consider the price of this hotel though, it's pretty clear that they need to budget with the food so you can't really complain. Most importantly, I never heard of anyone getting sick (besides the somewhat questionable review on this site - hotel so bad they went home? Yeah right, you'd just make the most of it, unless you were loaded, in which case you wouldn't have booked here in the first place).

Also, there's loads of lovely, and very reasonably priced restaurants in the area. You can easily eat out for two (with drinks) for 20E, or go all out and the most you'd probably spend is 40E. Budget for a few meals out while you're there and you'll be fine.

The drinks in the hotel however, are great. Big selection, good quality mixers, and nothing tasted watered down.

The other downside to the hotel was the soundproofing of the rooms. It was pretty much non-existent. If a neighbour moved a chair along the tiled floor of their room, it would sound as if they were scraping it along right in front of you.

A part solution to this would, I'd guess, be to attach some sort of padding to the legs of chairs and tables. However, it wasn't *that* annoying since most people went to bed at around the same time and then all was quiet. Generally. We did have somewhat noisy neighbours a couple of nights (bearing in mind the soundproofing meant they probably weren't being that noisy at all), but that's not the hotel's fault.

Which moves me onto the next point. The resort is *very* quiet. It's a lovely, lovely place that if you just want to get away from it all, is fantastic. The beaches are nothing short of incredible. The town is very Spanish and untouched. Unlike what one review said below, the area felt very safe. The reviewer said they got valuables stolen from their car, but it sounds like they left them on display. Would you do that at home and expect them to be safe?!

However, do not come here in a group looking for a party. You won't get it. Or you'll make a party and may well get asked to leave the hotel. Go to Corralejo if that's what you're looking for. Do not book this place anyway and moan about the quietness afterwards!

If you do want to escape Cotillo for a little, the bus stop is about a minutes walk from the hotel and will take you to Corralejo in about 45 minutes. We did about three day trips there and it's a good place for a little more liveliness. There's some great bars and restaurants in the resort. Look on TripAdvisor to find the good ones - however the bad ones can usually be identified by the person outside trying to coax you in....

Sadly, the last bus back is at about 8pm so is not conduced to an actual night out.

Overall, it's a great hotel in a lovely area that's fantastic value. If you can budget a little extra to eat out a bit, and you have quiet neighbours (and want to be quiet yourself), you'll have a wonderful holiday here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nottingham456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The hotel itself is nice enough, not a glam 4/5 star by any stretch of the imagination but good for what it is! The pool is LOVELY and big enough that its never crowded, the rooms are lovely and cool with a big ceiling fan and each room has its own little balcony with a table and chairs! The food is one notch above abysmal but their breakfast is a deff redeeming factor as is the lovely reception staff! Also as we were just there for a change of scene it did the trick as the alcohol here is deff not watered down! Basically we would stay here again for the nice room/pool but if food is your thing dont go all in, there are amazing resturants in the village.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea, wales
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

spent 10 days in the "cotillo beach" from march 3rd. the resort of cotillo is fantastic,unspoilt and a change from the hustle and bustle of bigger resorts.a couple of superb quayside restaurants and bars, was my wifes birthday on the 4th so we went out for a nice meal, i had a fillet steak the size of a house brick and my wife had a red snapper split down the middle and filled with prawns and cloves of garlic. with a couple of bottles of lovely wine bill came to around 45 euro,s.......the food in the hotel was very good, but the bar was like a railway canteen type, and the entertainment was awful, to say the least, but must get better......hotel itself was amazingly clean and staff were so helpful. only thing that spoilt holiday was that the water was freezing including the sea, but it was march. would deffo return to cotillo........

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank degsy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Cotillo hotels

Poole
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

El Cotillo is an old fishing village that is only in the very first stages of tourism - it's sad to see the abundance of new apartments for sale, shops for sale and building work that has been deserted. However this all means that you're never hassled to go into any of the few shops or restaurants (so I'm glad we were all inclusive). The beaches are only a few mins walk and are just beautiful - the black volcanic basalt contrasted with golden sand and blue sea is almost tropical.

The Reception area is nice for a cosy sit-down and the Reception Team were really pleasant. (The 2 men on Reception win our prize for best customer service). We had a sea view room and the balcony was a sun trap around 3pm (with no wind), it was great for some quiet sunbathing and we used the sofa cushions to lie on!

The bar/restaurant guys were lovely and very polite, they work like troopers all day and must struggle with so many nationalities asking for things in different languages. Their English was a little thin but a smile goes a long way. The entertainment guy looked totally bored because it was quiet despite being the start of July. They have a cute little baby pool perfect for toddlers and an abundance of sunbeds, some with faux-palm umbrellas for those who want a little shade.

The food changed every lunch to dinner and every day. It is basic stuff but there was always enough choice and variety so you could get a good meal. Don't expect a perfect English breakfast but there was enough variety to find something you like. Lunch and dinner always included freshly grilled meat and fish, pasta with sauce separate if you wanted it, different salads, crusty rolls, freshly made soup, freshly made aoioli and Canarian mojo sauces and of course chips along with lots of other stuff. Pudding at dinner was always creme caramel, Angel delight in different flavours and ice-cream pots in lemon, strawberry, vanilla, chocolate and coconut. Yes the food wasn't piping hot but after a few days in the heat you're glad you're not sitting down to piping hot food. There is a microwave beside the buffet if you really need it but we were both so pleased with the quality and choice that it wasn't the worst thing.

Go here if you want good value for money and a peaceful holiday away from the hustle and bustle of the usual touristy places. We would definately go back for this type of holiday.

Room Tip: We had 2208 which had a perfect unobstructed view of the sea - some seaviews might be obstructed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ExpertTravelPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

If you are looking for a holiday just to relax this is the perfect spot.
The hotel staff are absolutely brilliant, there are only a few of them and they work all day from 8am till 11:30pm (the hours of which you can eat and drink all inclusive). They are so helpful and kind and will have a laugh with the guests and make the children giggle!
The hotel food is good if you are not fussy. They have a wide selection of food every day;
Breakfast always included cooked breakfast, a variety of cereals, yoghurts, breads and jams and pastries.
Lunch and Dinner are similar, there was always pasta, chips and potatos, always fresh salad, and always two different types of meat cooked while you wait. The rest varied from mini pizzas, to fish fingers, to curry, to stew. I am very fussy but never went hungry as there was always something basic such as chips and if you are fussy like me you can go out a few nights to eat if you like.
The all inclusive snacks included pastries, sandwiches, fruit, burgers, potatos, chicken nuggets and ice cream.
All the alcoholic drinks and soft drinks and fruit juices and teas and coffees are all included in the all inclusive.
The only thing not included is bottled water but this can be bought from the shop or the bar and a litre is only 1 Euro so no problems there.
The bar is pretty basic, there is a tv which shows sports events which is great if you like sports. Thats about it for the bar. They do do kareoke in the bar some evenings, but its not open late so no problems with noise.
In the mornings one of the hotel workers comes around to ask if anyone wants to take part in various activities, however because i wanted a relaxing holiday i literally just wanted to lie down and read my book in the sun and not get up and play basketball or do rifle shooting.. dont be alarmed when he comes around the pool with a gun as a way of asking if you want to try shooting!

All the hotel money seems to have been spent in the reception area which is beautiful and has lots of seats which is great as this is the only place where you can get free wifi so often people were sitting in there. The rooms are nice enough, they they have two single beds pushed together. a sofa which can be pulled out into a bed, a balcony with two seats and a table, a large wardrobe with hangers and two drawers and safe (have to pay to use), two bedside tables which both have drawers and a large space at the bottom, a small table and a desk with a drawer and chair and a television, there are only 4 channels which have english programs/films, these are world news, NBC max, NBC 2 and NBC action all of which show films and some programs,

The pool is absolutely beautiful, cleaned ever day. Water is cold but if you jump in it feels great, its when you get in slowly its not so nice. It it very windy but the hotel has built some little alcoves which you can put your sunbeds in to avoid the wind, however i found the wind very cooling. There are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas to go around.

The hotel is situated in a desserted place, there are a few shops which are all just souvenier shops, two supermarkets which have food and drinks if you arent staying all inclusive. There are a few little restaraunts and bars but they do not look very inviting. However the English bar The Seahorse has brilliant food all improted from England so you can have proper bacon.. (not sure what the bacon in the hotel breakfast is!) and a glass of wine is only 2.50 Euros and beer is 2 Euros and a coke is only 1.50 Euros. Well worth a dinner down there one evening. There is a lovely beach with beautiful white sand and terqoise waters but the pool is so nice i wasn't bothered about the beach.

Really enjoyed my stay and came back very relaxed!
I hope this review helps!

Room Tip: We had a sea view room, this meant that we were far enough away from the bar not to hear any noise i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Reviewer281990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel is brilliant, friendly staff, clean great rooms and the food is fab. The beach is amazing although there are only about 4 shops but the bus runs every hour to the next town it costs 2 euros 80 cents. Well worth the money

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hallmLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cotillo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Soul Surfer
Hotel Soul Surfer
#2 of 2 in El Cotillo
100 reviews
22.2 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,474 reviews
47.7 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa
9.5 mi away
Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena
#22 of 45 in Corralejo
1,779 reviews
9.3 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cotillo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cotillo Beach

Property: Hotel Cotillo Beach
Address: urbanizacion los Lagos s/n, 35650 El Cotillo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > El Cotillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Cotillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cotillo Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cotillo Beach, located in the paradise area of El Cotillo, Fuerteventura. 3 star Hotel, is a few meters from the El Toston Beach. The Hotel has a spacious outdoor area with pool, sun loungers and parasols. It has spacious rooms overlooking the pool, and fully equipped. Cotillo Beach Hotel has a restaurant with a large and varied buffet with international cuisine, where we offer half board and all-inclusive options is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cotillo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotillo Beach El
Hotel Cotillo Beach El Cotillo, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing