We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked this out for a future holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cotillo Beach
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Cotillo
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were in El Cotillo in March. We had gone to have a look at the beach. Unlike Jandia or other towns in Fuerteventura , El Cotillo is an authentic Spanish small Town. It has a centre and is surrounded by lovely beaches which are all sandy. We met a couple from Scotland who were like us climbing a fort which is a local monument. They invited us to go back to their hotel with them as we expressed a desire to play Table Tennis. We were staying in a villa on our own and had been sneaking into the Rui Tres Islas to play. They said the El Cotillo Beach Hotel it was three star, so I did not know what to expect. It was lovely. Their room , which they showed us, was as luxurious as the ones we have had at the four star Rui's. They said the Hotel was spotless and we could see it was, and the food was wonderful and they had paid £350 for the week full board on some sort of special offer. We were amazed. Anyway we thought we might consider it for next year. The pool was vast but unheated in March, which is a shame. What value though! They had no car but there was a very regular bus service going in both directions, North and South. They were impressed and so was I. I have valued it star wise according to what they told us and from the drinks they gave us and what I could see. They were fierce TT players and we went back and played against them twice. The activity room was fairly rudimentary and we mended the TT net in order to play but we had the room to our selves. It is a very very quiet place.

Room Tip: Ask for ones that get the sun overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NANCY_DAVIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

I've just returned from a week at this hotel. I really liked it, although I was apprehensive after reading some of the reviews about the food! However, I couldn't fault anything.

Our room was really clean, very spacious, and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant. The location for us was perfect, and the area was nice and quiet. There is a bus stop 30 seconds walk away and buses go every hour to Corralejo, the last bus leaving Corralejo at 9pm.

We had a great stay, the only drawback was the pool - it looked absolutely beautiful but at this time of year it's freezing!! I managed it just the once!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Starnepus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here 5 nights had lovely holiday.large pool area. room very spacious.cleaned every day i think maybe one day off. view to sea.stayed half board breakfast was fine had dinner one evening buffet style was ok ,but we love to try local restaurants .Staff very friendly .very good value for money.perfect place to stay to explore beautiful cotillo . Dont be put off by food reviews. i would just do b&b here next time there are fab places to eat in the town .

Room Tip: 2200 is spacious on main road but cotillo is quiet not a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lolo43dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I liked that hotel very much...Nice staff... Not very fancy but quite ok. Good location too.
Clean rooms. Nice bar.Go there!I love Spain and choose this hotel very often. Good for families too.
I recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariajenej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was our third stay at this Hotel 4 nights AI 18th-22nd March.Can,t fault the rooms bright and airy no AC but a fan and are a decent size.Large pool area pool not heated with plenty of sunbeds to go around also a comfortable reception area which is the free wifi area.This year there is a large new bar attached to the hotel with a pool table,bar football and evening entertainment.Which brings us the topic of food at this hotel..We ate 4 midday meals and 1 evening meal and the food although not great was acceptable for what we paid to stay at this hotel.I don,t expect 5* food when I pay 2* hotel rates.

Room Tip: Request a poolside room as some of the hotel front room balconies overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smudge53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for 33 days from 7th Feb.(Our second long stay)

What a difference a year makes,the food this visit was terrible all of it was COLD and unappetising
When chief (he was dressed as one) replenished the trays he just tipped it onto already COLD food, the trays even came COLD from kitchen no gloves required when carrying them.

Tin tuna twice a day everyday is not good nor is presliced processed meat covered in a sauce then labelled pig,
Cow/goat the cut so cheap it was served up bones and all

If a chief cooked anything on the grill it was only chopped sausage of fish no imagination
All left overs reappeared the following day again covered in a dressing,

Even the salads were boring!

Desserts were tin fruit and instant whip or highly coloured jelly.
This made the so called dining room just like a gloomy canteen,
the white wine was warmer than the food!

Thankfully the bar, waiting, ground(Fran) reception (Mark) staff were friendly and helpful
(not the directors they didn't make an effort to speak during our whole stay!)

Room was clean and had better bedding & towels than last year.
The sitting area around the pool was well tended as was the garden.

Cotillo has a lovely harbour,beaches, lagoons and great walks the Cotillo Beach is it's main hotel and has a lot of potental.

Would love to go back but not with the poor quality of food.

Money is being spent on hotel but it's main most inportant problem is the heated serving area it is not good to have to rely on the one mircrowave available.

Room Tip: We have stayed on top floor and this time had a ground floor one (knee replacement) no lift! both go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a good 3* hotel. We stayed at the Cotillo Beach Hotel from 13-20th March and had a lovely time. It is about a 45 minute transfer from the airport but could take significantly longer if you were on a bus transfer. We arrived about 1 pm to be told by the receptionist that our room wasn't ready but to leave the cases in the baggage room and go for a drink and some lunch. When we came back our room was ready and we had a surprise as the room was spacious, well furnished and clean. The bathroom was nicely tiled. There was plenty of storage space and as our room faced west we got the sun on our balcony from about 1 pm onwards. The room had a nice view over the swimming pool area and there were plenty of sunbeds available the whole time we were there although we used the balcony in the afternoons. The hotel always seemed fairly quiet during the day but this might have been because many people staying there had hired cars and were out for much of the day, or were at the beach.
The staff in the pool bar, dining room and reception were all friendly and helpful. The pool bar was open from 10 am till 7 pm till about 11 pm. The drinks and coffees etc. were all of decent quality and served pleasantly without more than one or two queueing. There was Cd music in the Terrace bar every evening and there was a sort of disco on the Friday and a Spanish singer and guitarist on the Wednesday evening Drinks service was quick and efficient. Free wi-fi was available in the nice reception area. There was a children's pool, play area & room but very few children when we were there. A good tennis court and table tennis room were also available. There were many French guests but all seemed polite and enjoying themselves.
A safe in the room cost 13 euros for the week. There was a 10 euro deposit for the tv remote and pool towels were available for 10 euros (for 2) deposit.

Food:
Dinner was from 6:30 – 9:00 and we thought it was fine. Decent soup most nights, usual salad with tuna or sardines, cooked fish of good quality, cooked meat and a chef freshly grilling either meat, chicken or fish. There was plenty of fresh fruit, some pastries or ice cream to finish.

Lunch was from 1 – 2:30 and was much the same as dinner except no chef grilling

Breakfast was from 8-10 and was the usual. Some previous contributers have mentioned cold food but our only experience of this was of the fried eggs in the morning.

El Cotillo was a lovely, uncommercialised town with many spanish style houses, an old harbour and a new harbour. It had some nice looking restaurants and a few bars including one showing Sky sports football, rugby etc.

To the south of El Cotillo (about 1 mile) was a big beach with lots of wind surfers, which was great to walk along. To the north of the hotel (about 5 min) there were lovely smaller beaches separated by rocky sections which were lovely and stretched for a couple of miles. These were used for sunbathing and there could be nudity at these beaches!

There was a bus stop at the side of the hotel where there were hourly buses to Corralejo, a large resort at the north of the island. The journey took about 50 minutes and cost 3.05 euros each way.

We had a great time and definitely would consider going back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cotillo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Soul Surfer
Hotel Soul Surfer
#1 of 2 in El Cotillo
101 reviews
40.7 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
47.7 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,557 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa
9.6 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 45 in Corralejo
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cotillo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cotillo Beach

Address: urbanizacion los Lagos s/n, 35650 El Cotillo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > El Cotillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Cotillo
Price Range: £54 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cotillo Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cotillo Beach, located in the paradise area of El Cotillo, Fuerteventura. 3 star Hotel, is a few meters from the El Toston Beach. The Hotel has a spacious outdoor area with pool, sun loungers and parasols. It has spacious rooms overlooking the pool, and fully equipped. Cotillo Beach Hotel has a restaurant with a large and varied buffet with international cuisine, where we offer half board and all-inclusive options is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cotillo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotillo Beach El
Hotel Cotillo Beach El Cotillo, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing