We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt by food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cotillo Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Cotillo
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Spoilt by food”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Ok hotel from the roadside but once you're inside it's such a nice building with a large reception area. Once you are inside the hotel and by the pool you realize that the Cotillo Beach is a nice looking hotel with an impressive looking swimming pool but cold water. We found our room typical of this type of hotel clean and functional but the big disappointment was with the food always lukewarm but a microwave was provided if you wanted it hot (yes please). The saving grace to the hotel were the staff, so friendly and always willing to help.
The village itself is ok but I think the small harbour front makes it with a few restaurants to sit in as you watch the world go by. The one thing that really stuck us was the wind or maybe it just happened to windy when we were there but then again shelters had been built on the beach which is nudist if you care to partake.
Overall a nice hotel in a quiet area of the island so I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    479
    278
    126
    93
See reviews for
274
696
55
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
barnsley
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

quite happy with this hotel 2 visits in 3 months. staff in all sections excellent. having a brit on reception,(Mark) very good if any language problems rooms kept very clean. food average, eggs need cooking a little longer. value for what you pay. only grouse not enough entertainment on a night. and not the same ones every week

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianbroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A quiet hotel, clean with good food catering for many nationalities. close to seafront. impressed with new bar. But the peace has been shattered by the new arrival of Eden Village! we have returned several times but won't be back due to the noisy take over !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PlainJaneLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you need a good and cheap hotel for Cotillo, this is probably your best bet. Economical HB but wouldnt bother AI. Basic but good food, will cost you (as HB) less than half eating out, but you might like eating out just for a change.....Rooms clean and bright (pity they never cleaned the windows though - not for OCD's!) Bring toiletries, none supplied. Best rooms for sunset view look out over road and waste ground, but if you want sunset......Town is quiet, so dont worry about traffic noise. Staff friendly, restaurant staff very good, but its probably best described as self-service canteen, purely due to the attire of the guests.....Free wifi is sooo slow, its waste time. Didnt try the paid for version. No evening entertainment to speak of (one night whilst we were there - great flamenco guitarist, but audience was waste time, all more interested in TV or beer and chatting. We used it as a base for holiday & it was good for that. Dont bother with beach towels they hire, they are hand-towel size. E10 will buy you a good sized one in shops. This is a really great town if you want quiet holiday, only 15 mins drive from tourist madness of Corralejo (yuk!). Plenty opportunity for naturist beaches within walking distance. Surfers paradise. Great bakery over the road. Few bars for the evening, but generally the place is quiet, everything closed by midnight. Used Plus Car for economy hire at airport, as usual - great value and without worries. Nice clean beaches, good for young children, just keep an eye on them in water & on rocks! Hotel just changed ownership, so my comments will not be so valid by next year. Wish new owners good luck! Would probably stay again. Happy to offer any further advice if your considering it. We had great holiday.

Room Tip: Go for first floor (unless disabled- no lift) Sea facing for sunset view, with balcony, or save mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank UKRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

There is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel, just don't expect 5 star when paying for 3 star.
The rooms are a good size and standard and are well serviced by the very industrious housekeeping team. Public areas too are very clean .
Food here is basic fayre, always a good choice but often some unusual combinations! Admittedly some of the dishes could be hotter but there is microwave should you need it, in an evening there is some fresh cooked flame grilled items , chicken kebabs, fresh fish, lamb (goat) chops etc. but the chef doing these is at the far end of the dining room and easily overlooked, desserts are a little "school dinner" but you won't go hungry, remember this is 3 star not the ritz!
No problem getting drinks and staff were great, plastic glasses though except in "the club " in an evening, don't have the machine cocktails though , I'm really not sure which chemicals are in these ....
Outside the pool area is lovely and a real sun trap but don't be fooled by the pool it's freezing!
As I said this place has nothing wrong with it, go and enjoy just don't expect 5 star for 3 star prices.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank reggie_rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This review is a bit delayed, but I stayed here with my partner in june last year. We are both in our early twenties and wanted a quiet getaway. The hotel grounds were lovely, and so was the small village of Cotillo. Could not fault the swimming pool or the rooms- both were always clean and tidy and could always get a sunbed. The beach is literally a 5 minute walk away and it's beautiful! There are rock coves so you are sheltered from the wind but even in june these were taken a lot of the time. The only problem I would say this hotel has is it's lack of entertainment and things to do! And it's a fairly long bus journey to the bigger resort of Corralejo so we found we were sometimes bored in the evenings. Going to Corralejo in the day was great, it is busy but clean and has lots of nice restaurants and bars. We went on a quad bike trip around the island and thought this was great! In june it got quite chilly at night so would recommend going later on in the year. The poolside was also quite windy so it got quite cold! All in all it was an excellent hotel for the money we paid, but would be nice to see a bit more in terms of entertainment and I think the bar could be renovated and extended! We were half board and found that as we were quite isolated, it would be better to go all inclusive or full board. As half board you are only allowed water at night with your meal and have to pay extra for soft drinks. The food wasn't the best but I've had worse and there was always something to eat. Very similar every night but then you get what you pay for!! We had a lovely time but would have benefited staying somewhere a bit less...boring.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellispaige .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

we came home this morning 8 th may after 2 weeks stay .We had a great time lovely hotel little out of the way but the bus stop is right outside The best staff we have ever had and we are very well travelled .the food was good the only downside the food was cold but micro wave provided so no problem .very clean needs entertainment as only twice a week would recommend this hotel if going for a meal the steak in the rustica restaurant is fantastic realy worth a visit esp couples great walks

Room Tip: not much of a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceapple76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cotillo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Soul Surfer
Hotel Soul Surfer
#2 of 2 in El Cotillo
100 reviews
22.2 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,474 reviews
47.7 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa
9.5 mi away
Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena
#21 of 45 in Corralejo
1,779 reviews
9.3 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cotillo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cotillo Beach

Property: Hotel Cotillo Beach
Address: urbanizacion los Lagos s/n, 35650 El Cotillo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > El Cotillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Cotillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cotillo Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cotillo Beach, located in the paradise area of El Cotillo, Fuerteventura. 3 star Hotel, is a few meters from the El Toston Beach. The Hotel has a spacious outdoor area with pool, sun loungers and parasols. It has spacious rooms overlooking the pool, and fully equipped. Cotillo Beach Hotel has a restaurant with a large and varied buffet with international cuisine, where we offer half board and all-inclusive options is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cotillo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotillo Beach El
Hotel Cotillo Beach El Cotillo, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing