We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, very comfortable and a nice atmosphere”
Review of Ten Degrees South

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mtwara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ten Degrees South
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed here for 5 days and was very happy with it. I stayed in a room in the main building, with a shared bathroom and shower, and it was great. The room is pretty huge and has a big wardrobe with plenty of shelving and a big comfortable bed with a sensibly-attached box-shaped mosquito net. Breakfast is delicious and they have nice bread made locally (actually hard to find in Tanzania!). The menu is good value for money, with big portions of very well-cooked, tasty food, such as grilled squid and fish curry. The staff are very helpful and well-trained and made my stay very pleasant. Plus Mikindani is a lovely town to walk around in and TDS has a pretty good location within it. Would easily go there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stopped at Ten Degrees after coming up from Pemba in Mozambique for a couple of days to do some neccessary vehicle repairs suffered on that leg of the trip. The propieters were really helpfull in terms of where to go and whom to see associated with all sorts of things from where to get third party insurence which could not be gotten at the border to pharmacies. There true colours came through though after I managed to drop my vehicle in a 2m drain about a km up the road. Not only did they help manage to control the local community who were doing there best to leverage whatever they could out of me because of my precarious situation they also roped some expats who frequent there bar and restaurant into helping me out whilst supplying wood and other materials out of there shed to prop the car back up onto and all in the spirit matemenship and nothing else.
They have two essential classes of rooms ones like dorms in a big house with shared bathrooms all of which are good value for money and then they have stand alone bungalows with there own facilities which are also good value for money.
They have a restaurant and bar which is frequented by the local expat community which adds to the atmosphere and says volumes about the food and pricing which is both good and reasonably priced.
They have a great view of the bay and the hotel propietors also run dive shop and kayaks for some local entertainment. The kayaking was great and could easily be taken to a beach accross the bay or to explore the local mangroves. All in all its the best stop for hundreds of kms in any direction and has developed a bit of a cultic rep with any adventurers traveling this road.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingthroughafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

What a relaxing place to stay and the food is really excellent with very large portions. Fidely, one of the waitresses, is so friendly and her beautiful smile makes your day. Dan and Carol that manage the place constantly inquire if we had everything we needed and very helpful and efficient about any information requested. My travel partner and l received 2 en-suite rooms for a very little bit more than the price of 1 because the are no twin beds; thank you so much Carol. The evenings are pleasant because there are quite a few people from the neighborhood that come for the good food and to enjoy the well tended bar. My only criticism goes for the ceiling fan right over the bed, inside the mosquito net and with no low speed that made me catch a bad flu and it is too hot to sleep without. We spent 4 very pleasant days there and highly recommend to people that do not want to spend much money on accommodation but look for a warm and friendly atmosphere with good service.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank LOULOU_Restaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Had a great experience at 10 Degrees, the owner was really helpful with information for getting to the border and catching the ferry, the room was comfortable, and the staff was the most professional that we encountered in all of Tanzania. And if you're traveling overland from Tanzania to Mozambique, it's the last real shot at comfort and a decent night's sleep that you'll have for several days. The food is great, and it's one of the best values in the whole country. You could (and almost certainly will) do a lot worse than a stay at 10 Degrees while you're in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adhaglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We arrived to Ten Degrees after our bus blew a tire and ran off the road from Dar. Bruised and a bit rattled, it was so nice to be warmly welcomed and given space to recover- and then order a much needed beer and have a wonderful meal.

It's been the best value for our money in all of Africa (the breakfast was great!) and offered a really tasty restaurant for lunch and dinner in a timely manner. The owner was also helpful if we needed any help and the staff was very friendly throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thiskentuckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I spent many happy evenings at this bar during 2010 while working at The Old Boma Hotel up the hill. By TZ standards the service was friendly, quick, ie much less than an hour and pretty efficient and the food was great, go for the fish fingers, and they virtually always found a supply of tonic which was often unavailable and even had ice. Has a decent sound system, clean flushing loos, a generator which is helpful when there are power cuts. 10 Deg's was quite a pull for the oil and gas crowd from Mtwara at weekends and for random travellers to this very remote spot so it had a pretty good atmosphere. Great of star gazing and watching the fishing boats in the bay. Has the most European atmosphere in southern TZ. 20 mins drive from central Mtwara.

Room Tip: The 'new rooms' have fans inside the mosquito nets over huge beds - keeps you cool as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed here a night before switching to the old Boma (really your only two choices in Mikindani). This was more basic & cheaper & if you are diving next door more convenient. The restaurant is better at Ten Degrees, with a cool scene going on around the bar.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5cense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mtwara hotels
0.0 mi away
The Old Boma at Mikindani
4.4 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel Mtwara
0.0 mi away
BNN Royal Palm Hotel
BNN Royal Palm Hotel
#2 of 18 in Mtwara
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Naf Blue View Hotel
Naf Blue View Hotel
#4 of 18 in Mtwara
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
VETA Mtwara
VETA Mtwara
#1 of 17 in Mtwara
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#3 of 18 in Mtwara
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Degrees South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Degrees South

Address: Mnaida Street | Mikindani, Mtwara, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Mtwara Region > Mtwara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Mtwara
Price Range: £15 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Degrees South is a rustic retreat on the shores of the Indian Ocean in southern Tanzania. It is set in the quiet haven of Mikindani, one of the area's historic coastal trading towns. A small lodge offering comfortable and clean accommodation for all budgets, Ten Degrees has a beautiful shaded open air bar and restaurant, and a Sundowner platform that enjoys stunning views across Mikindani Bay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing