We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hubby's birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

i booked a spa break with dinner and overnight accommodation for my husband and i as a surprise for him. I didn't book with the hotel directly and there was a problem with my booking (the company booked us into the wrong hotel). The spa manager (Jackie i think) was beyond professional and caring in her handling of this situation. She asked us to have a coffee in the lounge whilst she sorted the whole thing out for us and treated us to drinks at lunch time to compensate. This could have been an awful experience and could have spoiled what should have been a calming retreat for us. Instead her customer services skills almost smoothed the whole thing over. Thanks once again, the spa and treatments were great, the food in the hotel was lovely and we really enjoyed our stay and the following day spent in historic Cambridge.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexLovesaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Thank you Essexlovesholidays for your positive review. I will pass your thanks on to Jacki our Leisure and Spa manager for helping you during your stay. It is also nice to learn you enjoyed the Food and the Spa treatments.
Please pass on our birthday wishes to your husband and we look forward to welcoming back maybe next year?
Warm regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,770)
There are newer reviews for The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,475 - 1,481 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at the Belfry for one week for business purposes since the office was a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. This is not a 4 star hotel as indicated, but more of a good 3 star hotel. The room was spacious and the bathroom modern and clean. The WiFi worked well most of the time but keep in mind that there was no A/C in the room, only a heater. Not a problem for me since I was there in October, but it can be a concern in the summer time. The hotel did have what appeared to be a nice pool and gym, although I did not have time to try them while there. All in all, it served its purpose quite well as a business hotel so it would have gotten a four star review from me, instead of three, if not for the following things:
- My room card key kept being reset so I had to go to the front desk to get it fixed. This happened 3 times in the week I was there. Some of my other co-workers had the same thing happened to them several times as well.
- The pillow sham and bed cover had stains on it.
- The hotel's fire alarm went off at around 2AM one night and did not stop for quite some time.
- The walls are very thin so I could hear people walking around upstairs and doors being closed through out the night.
- Some people in the front desk were not very helpful when it came to providing dinning/pubs info around town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bocarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Thank you Bocarob, for your comments. I can assure you we are a 4 star hotel as accredited by the AA. I am glad you found the room spacious, the pool and gym nice and the free wifi useful. We do not have a real need for Air conditioning but do provide fans in all room. I am sorry your key card stopped working and the walls seemed thin. I will pass on your comments about our reception team to the front office manager as we normally receive only praise for the staff here at the hotel.
Should business bring you back to the area we would look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My friends booked this hotel as a relaxing spa weekend for my 25th B'day present.

I am not usually one to complain as I am a frequent traveller and realise things do not always go to plan, however we encountered problem after problem with this stay. Upon checking in, we were told the buffet lunch was from 12 onwards, we went to the restaurant around 12.15 only to be told we had to wait about another 10 minutes. The next issue we had was with the spa treatment, our experience was to include a mini facial and one of the girls in our group did not get a facial and came out with her full face of makeup still on!

The next problem was dinner - we had booked on an all inclusive package and were not advised at checking in that a booking was required for the restaurant. Upon arrival at the restaurant we were told we would have to wait over an hour for a table. We opted to be served in the bar area even though we could see empty tables in the restaurant. We ordered a bottle of wine and the barmen bought over the wine with 4 dirty wine glasses. We had to ask for fresh glasses as he was going to pour the wine into these dirty glasses! We were then given some menus to read over only to have one of the waitresses come and take 2 away about 5 minutes after giving them to us as they has run out. Eventually tired of sitting around a small round table in the bar for over an hour with only our entree's coming we spoke to another member of staff who arranged a table in the restaurant for us. We when continued to wait another hour for our main meals to arrive. Once finished eating, our dishes weren't cleared away, we had to ask another staff member to clear the table, then after requesting our dessert we again had to wait a considerable amount of time for it to come out.

The last straw for us was when checking out and paying the bill, was the realisation that we had been charged twice. The people working on the front desk were not helpful and told us that the money was in a holding deposit and would be back in the account within a couple of hours, needless to say 24 hours later, still no money!

Apart from having a great weekend in the company of my friends and Cambridge being a lovely place, I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLP86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Thank you KLP86 for taking the time offer feed back. Your experience here at the hotel is certainly not our usual standard and please be assured I will be discussing all your point in depth with the service team.
Only with such honest feed back can we improve our offerings so thank you and please accept my apology that your stay was not up to our normal high standards.
Regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Me and my girl friend was looking forward to the spa weekend. We booked a spa weekend with Belfry. The experience was quite amusing. The hotel members were very friendly and make sure you are happy all the time. This has been the best weekend for me and my girl friend.

the Spa treatment was very relaxing and quite recommendable.

Experience shower is in the only one which was not working apart from that everything else was was quite nice.

I am quite picky on food selection... The food was amazingly tasty.

Overall Me and my girlfriend completely satisfied and its quite an amazing experience to take back home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sathish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Thank you SathishMP for your welcomed comments. We are all glad we amazed you and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel just outside Cambridge as we were meeting friends in Cambridge. We booked a DB&B deal directly with the hotel and had a superior room. The room had comfortable chairs, tea, coffee, biscuits, water, bath robes, free wi-fi, and iron & ironing board. Unfortunately there was no fridge though a space for one. The bathroom was a nice size with a bath and a separate shower. When we arrived on the Friday night we were told there was a Michael Buble tribute act. The cost of the show included a 2 course meal but part of our deal was dinner included. The helpful receptionist informed us that we could just pay a fraction of the cost and eat at the show. The evening was excellent which also included a disco & casino events, there was a minor problem with our desserts but apologies were accompanied by complementary wine, cheese & biscuits! We sat with some local people and they told us to catch the number 4 bus directly into Cambridge rather than take the park & ride. The bus stop was a short walk away next to Morrison’s and a small parade of shops – great advice. Breakfast was a good buffet style breakfast, and our dinner on the second night could either be taken from the 3 course set menu or £26 towards the al a carte menu. Throughout our stay all staff were very helpful – it made a nice change !

Room Tip: Take a number 4 bus directly into Cambridge
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essex62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Thank you Essex62 for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our Michael Buble evening. I will pass on your positive comments to our staff.
Warm regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed for a long weekend running into 4 days.
The upgrade to a Superior room was worthwhile.
The Hotel was exceptionally clean, ALL staff were very welcoming and friendly.
Food was good quality, but the Bar menu was somewhat expensive
The Leisure facilities were good, and again all Staff exceptional and helpful.

During our stay I was unable for a long while to understand why it did not feel 'right', every thing was pretty well 'spot on', the facilities, the staff, the cleanliness, however something was 'missing' for that total relaxation.......then in a instant whilst sat in the Jacuzzi - the answer was
- 'WARMTH'. The whole hotel was to clinical, ie no ambiance, just white and clinical .

But do not take this the wrong way the stay was good, but needs to think for the leisure guest as well as the business guest.

Only point was reported as a Health and Safety issue, the shower control panel explaining the use was missing, not even a Temp replacement!!, this was reported, however not sure this H and S issue was taken seriously, as nothing was done during our stay - any one using the room were at risk of scalding themselves, as no clear instructions - even a quick laminated copy would have been helpful, and protect the organisation!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weary-Traveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We spent a Dinner/Dance weekend at the Belfry and had a fantastic time. The hotel looks fairly new and the rooms and staff are excellent. Breakfast was buffet-style and the table replenished frequently. Dinner was good and hot and pleasantly served.

When we were leaving we were waiting for some friends to join us and the hotel staff offered to take our cases to our car and asked if we had enjoyed our stay. What a pity we weren't given a feedback form as it would have been a way of letting them know how well we rated the hotel and service.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a suite which gave us more room, but friends in a double room were very happy with th...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolsAbroadFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Thank you HolsAbroadfan, for your kind words and positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend with us and you found the upgrade to a suite worth while.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambourne
7.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,393 reviews
12.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,206 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,815 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Address: Back Lane, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range: £89 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel Cambourne, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing