We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPA reception staff quite rude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a two night bed and breakfast deal, we booked a spa treatment before we arrived and the guy taking the booking seemed very untrained and was quite rude on the phone, we asked for email confirmation which never arrived, they claimed they sent it to the wrong email address, yet reservation email for stay came to right email. We did question this at check in and was directed to the spa, they eventually found the booking. When we were there my girlfriend went for her treatment and they could not find the booking, this caused unneccessery stress, once they had found it she had her treatment which she said was great, on payment there was confusion about us being on a spa break which was sorted out. Then on the sunday before we left we booked a facial, the staff again were rude and very condesending because we werent on a spa break, my girlfriend asked for a robe whilst she waited for her £40 facial and was flatly refused. At this hotel book a spa break or expect to be treated with contempt.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristianCampbell, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you Paul S for your feed back. I am sorry your experience was not up to our usual high standards. Please be assured we will be investigating and carrying out further training with the mentioned department. On a more positive note I am glad your partner enjoyed her treatments.
Warm regards
Kristian Campbell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,508 - 1,514 of 1,861 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

We have just returned home after a 5 day break at the Belfry.
The hotel staff, room and facilities were excellent. The self service breakfast was very good but the evening meal menu was very limited and did not change at all the whole time we were there. There is only so much cottage pie we can take. Two evenings we were told one or more items on the menu were 'off'.
The wines were mediocre and expensive
We will probably be using the Belfry again but, please improve the menus.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barn_news
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristianCampbell, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you Barns_news for your feed back. It sounds like you might have been staying with us a tour party who we do offer a different menu for. However in our Bridge restaurant we offer nightly specials, change our seasonal market menu weekly along with our fixed a la carte options so I am sorry you felt the choice was limited.
I will also share your comments on the wine offering with our wine suppliers. On a more positive note I am glad you found the staff, facilities and bedroom excellent.
Next time you are planning on staying with us please do get in contact to discuss the options with either myself our our Head chef Phil.
Kristian Campbell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. Rooms were nice and spacious. Nice gym. Food was good.... Really no coplaints

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristianCampbell, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you SteveyW, for your positive comments on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area for business.
Regards
Kristian Campbell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Booked in for 5 nights I took my bag out of the room on day 3 and when I got back the same night someone else had occupied my room. Yes I still had the key card and I hadnt checked out. When I complained at reception they told me I had checked out. Er no I had not. Also they told me the hotel was full and they had absolutely no vacancies. No explanation nothing, leaving me to drive to a friends house 100 mile away. For such an expensive hotel very poor service.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisreaytvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristianCampbell, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you Chrisreay, I am sorry for the mix up during your stay with us. I believe our Front of House manager has already been in contact to apologise and explain how the situation arose.
Regards
Kristian Campbell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This Hotel is a must if you love good food and want to know which wine will most compliment your choice. It is clear that all of the staff, no matter what role they are in, are hand picked for their politeness and happy friendy disposition.
The rooms are well designed and very clean. I slept really well though my husband felt that the bed was too hard for his comfort.
A must to try for breakfast are "Nina's" Poached eggs - cooked to perfection!!
Excellent choice of facilities and complimentary therapies.
We can't wait now to try the other QHotels. Julie Godfrey

Room Tip: The Hotel is situated back from the main road, so no trafic noise!!! in fact no noise at all. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULIE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristianCampbell, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you Julie G for your positive comments I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the team did us proud once again. I have also passed on your comments to Nina about her perfect eggs! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kristian Campbell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at the QHotel last weekend on 1 one night spa package and I must say we were very impressed. Unfortunately due to the bad weather the heating wasn't working in our room but it was working in one of the penthouse suites so we were offered a free upgrade. The dinner and breakfast that was included in our package was also very good. The Spa team were also very nice and we had some lovely treatments.

The only thing I would say is the spa area was very busy on the Saturday but I guess they can't help the amount of people who go at once.

Our room was clean and spacious.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a penthouse suite, was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gfunk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristianCampbell, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you Grant H for your comments, I am sorry the heating wasn't very powerful during the recent cold snap this is something we have no had rectified. I am glad you enjoyed your upgrade and were overall impressed with the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kristian Campbell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Lovely new hotel. Room was very comfortable. Lovely furnishings and decoration. Bathroom particularly good, with both good size bath and separate shower. Staff very polite and helpful. Only problem was the evening meal in the restaurant. Very poor. The rating I would have given for the Hotel would have been excellent, had it not been for this. The chef needs some more lessons.
Location is great for Cambridge, but obviously you need to travel in.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1963my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristianCampbell, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you for your comments 1963MY. I am sorry you did not enjoy your food, something I will be address with our Head Chef. We normally receive positive feed back on our food offerings but we appreciate your honest feed back. On a more positive note I am glad you found the other elements of the hotel excellent.
Warm regards.
Kristian Campbell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambourne
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 37 in Cambridge
1,121 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 37 in Cambridge
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Huntingdon Fenstanton
8.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 37 in Cambridge
1,940 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Address: Back Lane, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range: £89 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel Cambourne, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing