We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a nice play to stay for Cambridge visits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Still a nice play to stay for Cambridge visits”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Welcoming Staff, Clean and tidy room, Friendly service. The food in the restaurant is fine but not fine dining standard. Very good value though and adequate. Bar staff are knowledgeable.

Super breakfast overseen by the most amazing Breakfast Manager that we have ever encountered.

I recommend that anyone going to stay join the breakaway club, it costs £20.00 and you get £20.00
in vouchers to use!! Thes best thing though is that you get advance warning of forthcoming offers.

We are due to visit again in a couple of weeks time.

Room Tip: The lifts can be a bit noisy if the hotel is busy so sometimes it is best to be a distance away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy10red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Patsy10red

Thank you for your kind feedback, you are right the Breakaway Club is a great way to keep abreast of the offers available throughout the company.
I will share your comments with the team and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    547
    301
    161
    104
See reviews for
240
613
53
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
walton-on-thames
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed on Saturday night to attend our niece's wedding and whose reception was being held at the hotel. The check-in process was efficient, we were able to access our room earlier than the advertised time which allowed us to change in comfort before the wedding which was a great help and much appreciated. The room was very clean, well appointed, and facilities well-thought through with plenty of storage space and toiletries. When we returned for the reception, the hotel was very busy, with another two wedding parties taking place, however the staff managed to serve us and our fellow guests is such a friendly, helpful, efficient way that one didn't notice. Before I went to bed, I asked for some extra milk pots - no trouble, swiftly delivered with a big smile. Breakfast service was excellent : areas had been allocated for the other two wedding parties and we sat within the main restaurant. The buffet was abundant, great choice and selection to suit every taste, and the hot buffet was actively attended to ensure sufficient fresh hot, tasty food was available. Tea/coffee service was frequent and all in all, a very pleasant experience. The only downside for us was our room overlooked the courtyard and the music from the other wedding parties could be clearly heard (until midnight), and the child-guests hollering and running up and down the courtyard was disturbing. It would have been nice to have been warned that we could be affected by noise, especially as we had booked a superior room, however I guess someone has to sleep in those rooms and it was us. Would I stay again? Absolutely and shall do as I shall visit my in-law family who are unable to accommodate me in their home.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are lovely, ask about location and proximity to other events where loud music might a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurora1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear aurora1962

Many thanks for the great feedback, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We normally close the courtyard off at 11pm to stop the noise effecting our guests, so I will look into why this did not happen.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, when you are next in the area.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Found the service very poor but the food was excellent. The staff dont seem to apply attention to detail that make you feel special and at home. We have stayed at the Cheltenham Chase before which was excellent so we were very disappointed to find that the Cambridge Belfry did not meet up to the same standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cassan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear cassan1,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you were impressed with the quality of the food but disappointed that you felt the service was lacking some of the finer details that would have enhanced your experience with us. I hope that you raised these concerns with the duty manager when you were here, if not I would be happy to discuss them with you if you would like to contact me at the hotel. Kind Regards, Luke Comerford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Went to this Hotel for a relaxed girls weekend away... Great Hotel, staff very friendly and helpful, rooms clean and the food was very good ...the spa was nice and there was a fully kitted out Gym if you had to eneegy to use it. It's not far from Cambridge City for all those lovely shops!!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear sandra m,

Thank you for your review. I am intrigued as to the title of your post! We are perfectly situated for a weekend away to visit Cambridge and I am pleased that you and the girls were able to enjoy this as well as the hotels facilities, which were supported by are friendly and help full team. Kind Regards, Luke Comerford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had a chance to escape from the kids and I wanted to go to Cambridge, I chose this hotel because it had a spa and gym and did not charge for parking.. I knew it was a typical new build hotel so the rooms would be boring and uniform, which does not bother me..
Room ... Very normal.. Everything worked and was very clean.. Great work by the room staff.. Good separate shower and bath..
Restaurant..... Evening meal was excellent, service was good and the wine was good.. Cheap bottle about £20 .. I had some very nice fish..
Spa..... Pool is not that big but you can get a few strokes in... Steam room and saunas are of a reasonable size 8 seats each and very clean and worked well... The only thing I was a little amazed by was the poor water pressure in the quick shower...
Breakfast... Very good selection but they do not do tomato juice anymore and when the bacon came out from the kitchen straight into the hot plates it was already cold.. I did mention this to the restaurant manager who seemed to take it on board...
I would come back if I needed to go to Cambridge again..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Jeremy S,

Thank you for your top scoring review. It is nice to hear that everything was as you expected and that you found the food and service in the restaurant to be excellent. I will pass your comments relating to the impulse shower in the spa area to our maintenance team to investigate. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Luke Comerford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Didn't get to use the spa as we went on xmas eve to boxing day and had no treatments available. Used the pool and jacuzzi. Food rather nice and well presented. Hotel near to the beautiful Cambridge town and university!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loops1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear loops1212,

Thank you for your review. The hotel is well situated for visiting Cambridge. The chef enjoyed seeing your comments on the food as part of our Christmas packages, details of which are currently available on our website for Christmas 2012. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Luke Comerford, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed on a 'Summer Madness' deal for a weekend away from the kids, with some friends! Very friendly staff on check-in and at reception when we had a query on the bus timetable. Food was very good, with breakfast particularly good. Took advantage of the spa and fitness facilities which again were really good.
We had upgraded to a superior room and it was exactly that with lots of extra touches that added to the whole experience.
There was a wedding on the Saturday night which kept us awake til midnight, but it went off promptly and we soon got a great nights sleep!
Great hotel, great spa, really enjoyed our weekend - thanks!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior - much bigger with better bits and bobs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Mark E,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the 'Summer Madness' offer. It is pleasing to see our staff looked after you well and you were able to take advantage of all the hotels facilities during your time with us. As you mention are superior rooms are an excellent way to add that little bit extra to your experience with us. Kind regards, Luke Comerford, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambourne
7.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
12.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
6.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
8.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,755 reviews
9.7 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Property: The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Address: Back Lane, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel Cambourne, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing