We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2012

while the hotel was clean and tidy it lacked character and atmosphere,it seamed to be mainly used at the weekends for weddings.
on our first morning which was saturday we went to the resturant receiption ,waited a while but proceeded by ourselves as no one came to show us to our table.empty tables either contained dirty pots or weren`t fully set.after cereals and cooked food i had to ask a member of staff to clear our table as it hadn`t been done.the pot of tea that was delivered was only just warm.
sunday breakfast was even worse,a wedding party made the resturant really busy with large groups of people attending the hot food area.there should have been an extra hot food area.only one really slow toaster was available.
for the price we paid for a four star stay i found the quality really poor and i would be reluctant to stop a another q hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Simon B

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and that the wedding spoilt your fun. I will discuss your comments re breakfast with the Operations Manager, as this should not have happened no matter how busy we might be at any given time.
I do hope you will return one day so we can prove this is not the norm.
Kind regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,282 - 1,288 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed at the Belfry last night, after a tough day all I wanted was a clean room, comfy bed and a good meal, I got all of this and more. The room was a good size, spotlessly clean and very welcoming. I went to the restaurant and had an excellent meal and the staff were outstanding, I had 5 different waiters / waitresses and every one was incredibly polite. Every employee spoke to me when I passed them In the corridors and the front desk staff were very professional. Breakfast was very enjoyable and set up my day. Well done to all of you, you are a credit to your hotel chain. i'll stay again when I'm in Cambridge next.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestburyFatbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear WestburyFatbloke

Thank you for your kind review, I will share your comments with my team, who I know will be pleased. We hope you will return soon and once again thank you.
Kind regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel for a 3 night break,the room was a nice size and had everything you could need, the facilities in the Hotel and spa where great.
The staff where all very friendly and pleasant and it was nice to see plenty of staff as many places now seem to be getting rid of staff. The breakfast style buffet was excellent and the staff very helpful and always happy and friendly.
Only two negatives one being I mentioned to the receptionist on our first night about our towel rail heater not working and it didnt get fixed although this didnt seem to matter as the towels dried fine and that the plates could of been warmed for the cooked breakfast but this is being ultra picky as on a whole the place was great and we would definatly return. Congratulations to a great team of staff including the cleaners who also took the time to be polite and friendly. Thank you a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bish1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Bish1971

Thank you for your review, I was aware of the plate warmer and we are waiting for a new element to arrive but not the heated rail in your room, so my thanks for pointing this out and I will ask maintenance if this has rectified yet.
The team is very important to me and I thank you for taking a little time out to write such great things about them, which I will pass on.
We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Kind regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend conference. The conference facilities were good and were more than enough for what we needed. Coffee & refreshments were served as part of the package.

The lunch buffet was surprisingly good. The selection was varied as there were many different dietary needs & I believe that everyone was catered for.

Dinner was a 3 course set menu which again was very well prepared. The lamb cooked in 2 ways was excellent.

In my room I had a separate shower & a bath. Of all the hotels I have stayed in the shower was definitely the most powerful I had and was a definite change to the dripping of other 4 star hotels.

The only downside to the hotel is that it is a about a 20 minute drive to Cambridge town.

My sleep was undisturbed as it was very quiet with a comfortable double bed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hareends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear hareends

Thank you for your kind review, we are indeed 7 miles from the city centre but very close to the park and ride. Parking in Cambridge can be very expensive, in some cases over £20 for 4 or 5 hours, so we would always recommend guests to use this facility. I will share your very kind comments with my team and I thank you for taking the time to write.
Kind regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Good location, spacious room. Ideal for females travelling alone on business or holiday. Good sized pool and gym with Espa treatments available. Evening meal OK breakfast selection very good - omelette worth waiting for.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H0lidays50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear HOlidays50

You are quite right, I like the omelette's as well. The breakfast chef will enjoy the recognition. Many thanks for your review.
Kind regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Staff were lovely and so helpful they really couldn't have done more for you. The only thing that spoilt the weekend was the hotel was so busy. They had a wedding function on that felt like it took over the whole hotel which was fine of course but we did feel like wedding crashers when we went for dinner or were in the bar which was a real shame.

The spa changing rooms could do with an update. We though the food was fantastic especially for the deal we got.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ASH763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear ASH763

Thank you for your kind review, and I apologise if you feel that the wedding guests spoilt your enjoyment a little, we do provide portable bars in the function rooms to try to elevate congestion at the main bar but doesn't appear to have worked that well on this occasion.
I will share your comments with my team, once again thank you.
Kind regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We went on a spa break a party of 10. The treatments in spa were fantastic.accomadation was nice and comfortable..food was disappointing though small portions and a not very exciting menu. Staff in bar where very helpful and pleasent company a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulathompson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear paulathompson72

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your meal and I will share your comment with the chef. However the fact that you found the rest of your stay "Fantastic" is very pleasing and I will certainly let the team know your thoughts.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambourne
7.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,428 reviews
12.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,843 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,215 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Address: Back Lane, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range: £93 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel Cambourne, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing