We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not a 4* hotel”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This hotel is in desperate need of a revamp. I am surprised it has been rated as a 4*. It is much more like an average 3*. Don't get me wrong it is clean enough, but a bit dowdy with a smokey smell that seems to fill the corridors and guest rooms.

The hotel was extremely busy when we were there, with two weddings and a Hen party, so large groups of people were staying for the weekend and it was quite noisy. This meant breakfast was frantic and the spa completely overloaded. The spa facilities were one of the reasons we selected this hotel, but on visiting them on Friday afternoon, half of the very small pool was cordoned off for swimming lessons and there was a queue to get into the Jacuzzi. Very disappointing.

If you are visiting Cambridge, there are much nicer hotels on offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSussex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear KarenSussex2,

Thank you for posting your review.

Our hotel can be busy over a weekend when we have functions taking place but we are set up to allow for these to be contained within their function rooms. Reservations for the spa on a weekend are always recommended as you will have experienced we are a popular venue. We have a regular maintenance programme within the hotel by our on site maintenance team so I am disappointed to read your comments relating to this.

Kind Regards,
Luke Comerford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    550
    304
    161
    106
See reviews for
243
619
53
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights can't fault the room at all spotlesly clean however the meal in the resturant was a disaster . We were kept waiting nearly an hour for our food one meal had to be sent back as it was stone cold so the rest of us had finished our meals there was no proper apology from the kitchen and no body came to check if the fresh meal was ok .I must agree with other people about the deserts being left out the whole of the evening in the warm resturant. We didn't even know who the resturant manager was no one seemed to be in charge it was all a bit hit and miss. The second night we ate in the bar what a difference the food and the service was excellent. We have stayed many times at Q hotels but never experienced a resturant like this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear jayne g,

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us.

May I apologise for the problems you experienced in the restaurant when dining with us. I am pleased that your second evening spent in the bar was a better experience for you.
I am unable to track from your review when you stayed with us and would welcoming speaking with you further so I can investigate the issues you had. Please contact me at the hotel if you wish to do so.

Kind Regards
Luke Comerford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The room was excellent could find no fault there spotlessly clean. Had booked a table in the restaurant . We were shown to our table by a very polite young man the menus were already there. He advised us our waiter would be over shortly and tell us about the specials on the menu at this point we seem to be abandoned . The waiter did arrive eventually we asked him about any specials on the menu but was told there were none . So we ordered of the menu starters arrived everything going reasonably well at this point. Then the mains arrived there were four of us three meals were ok but my husbands steak was stone cold. We told the waitress and she took it away by the time it was returned the rest of us had finished our meals. All that was said was chef sends his apologies . The puddings had been sat in the middle of the room all night and looked totally unappetising again we commented on this to the staff and a fresh desert was brought from the kitchen. All in all the restaurant was disappointing. There seemed to be no one supervising and the waiters did not seem to know what they were doing a dedicated waiter would have been nice not just anyone who was passing. We opted to eat in the bar the following night the food was far better along with the service the bar staff were great so credit where credit due. Would use the hotel again but would opt for the bar rather than the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiplingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Kiplingbear,

Thank you for posting review.

I am sorry to read about your restaurant experience. Our staff are allocated tables to look after and there is always a member of the management team supervising service. I will be investigating these comments and discussing with the restaurant and bars manager.

I am glad you enjoyed your experience in the bar the following evening, may I apologise that this was not the same on your 1st night eating with us.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Luke Comerford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We booked a 'relaxing' spa day for our Mums bday for myself, sister and Mum was a complete nightmare trying to organise our treatments, we were told we could decide on the day subject to availability. So we decided it would be best to book before to avoid disappointment. We called a number of times a there was no answer I then emailed had had a reply a number of days later so I then re called and was told the computer had frozen and they would email me with the list of treatments we could have again this didn't happen and a very rude man called me to tell me what treatments were available, he couldn't understand why we wanted to book and confirm this before hand. We then arrived on the day to then be asked what treatments we would like even though this had been booked and confirmed for all 3 of us. We were then given our robes which were awful quality and told to go through to the changing rooms which were located in the pool area at this point we were quite shocked to see young children in the area and no loungers or chairs free, we to our selves in our robes and then found the relaxation room we were told they would collect us at 11. Our therapist came to collect us at 11.05am for our to 25 min treatments. I was booked in for a back neck and shoulder and a scalp massage in total I was in the 35 mins I was totally shocked when I left the treatment room to see it was only 11.45. The treatment was far from relaxing, there was doors banging, people chatting and a noise which sounded like a Hoover which the rude man at reception informed us it was the spray tan machine. We told the staff at the reception area who were rude, abrupt and didn't even apologise. We were suppose to be there all day relaxing and having afternoon tea at 3pm. We were offered to have an extra treatment at 3.30 which would of been half way through our afternoon tea. By this point our day was ruined. The reception area was grubby, the sinks in the toilets didn't work, paint work was all dirty and chipped, we were offered water in paper cones it was just a complete nightmare. We decided to leave and never return!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Megan P,

I am disappointed to read that you were not able to enjoy the relaxing spa day you had planned to celebrate your mum's birthday. I hope that you raised the problems you encountered with the duty manager and we were able to go some way to resolving them for you.

I have discussed the points you have raised directly with the leisure and spa manager. As I am unable to track reviewers from the site please contact myself directly at the hotel if there is anything you wish to discuss further.

Kind regards,
Luke Comerford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We were warmly welcomed and the room seemed fine it was clean and comfortable(115). Our first visit to the pool was not good. We signed in and had to ask for towels then were left not knowing quite where to find the changing rooms and after reading that the ladies showers were running cold. When commenting we were told there were hot blasts of water and they would be fixed. The swim was good but the female showers definitely had no hot blasts!
At dinner we arrived for 7.30pm as booked earlier in the week to discover all tables taken except two in the centre of the room. Being shown to a table a chair was pulled out that was badly stained with candlewax, when I queried this I was told "it is only candle wax" and I was invited to sit down, not nice as I was in a smart outfit for my birthday dinner. The restaurant doors were open and as the kitchen door swung the draught was horrific it was like sitting in a wind tunnel but there were no other tables to move to so I fetched a sweater and a down gilet. We asked for our candle to be lit but this did not happen until after our drinks and when the first course had arrived, little attention to detail was the hallmark of the evening.
The food was good (except the torte) but the staff trying to be attentive asked if it was alright after we had eaten just one mouthful. Straight after dessert I left to go to bed to get warm a disappointing birthday treat.
Then the fun began as the lifts and stairs run alongside this bedroom. We worked out that the lifts are much noisier when there are more people in them.
On the friday morning the first person to run downstairs did so at 5.40am and the first lift started at 5.55am and then it was almost continuous.At the other end of the day it was well after midnight before there was any quiet.
At breakfast we reported these issues to the manager in the restaurant. He apologised and when showed the chair removed it from service. "Not to the standard we would expect" He said and also that he would see what he could do.
We heard nothing more and throughout the day were surpirised by the lack of any greeting from the reception staff, in fact it seemed that there were several meetings going on behind the desk and guests were the least concern!
We went out for a fantastic meal and theatre trip in Cambridge. We would like to use this hotel again because it is convenient for us but it seems a bit risky and very disappointing. We have stayed at Q hotels in Cheltenham and at Chatham and had great stays so were very disappointed and feel let down. We spoke of these issues on check out and were told we would be contacted, now we shall wait and see.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the lifts/stairwell eg 115
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsydna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Hotel is ok with reasonable facilities but very much a conference hotel, quite noisy, an awful view over the expanse of air conditioning. I find it hard to rate it 4 stars. If you are on business it is fine but not for a nice stay away from home in my opinion

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max4s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Max4s

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your time with us. We are indeed a modern hotel, which can cater for both business and leisure needs, I am sorry it was not to your taste, should you decide to return one day, please give us a ring and we will ensure that your room looks away from the building.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed here with my family for my Dad's 70th Birthday. On arrival, we all met up in the bar for coffee and birthday cake. The bar was quiet busy with what looked like a wedding party. We found a table which was laden with dirty plates and glasses and left over food. I looked around for someone to clear the table but there was no one that I could see so I moved all the things onto the side. We ordered coffee and had to wait for about 30 minutes as there were no clean cups, or clean plates for the cake. Fair enough they did look quite busy. The evening meal was booked for 7.30pm. There were 4 children under 6 in our party so we booked early. Our starters arrived at about 8.30pm and our main meals at 9.30pm which was a ridiculous amount of time to have to wait-especially with young children! We did ask several times if they could be a bit quicker with the food as the children were getting tired and restless. When the main meal arrived, some of the dinners were cold. The waitress had a cloth to hold the plates and passed one to my dad who burned his hand on the plate as it was so hot! Common sense tells me that she should have put it on the table , not given it to him!! The quality of food was extremely disappointing. After our main meal, the plates were not taken away for a very long time, in fact we had to ask for them to be cleared. This was after we had already asked them to be a bit quicker. The desserts on the buffet trolley looked very unappetising. There was hardly any choice and they looked like they had been thrown together then sat out in the warm restaurant all night. In the end I had to leave without pudding to take 2 of the children to bed as they were so tired and hadn't been able to eat their dinner because of this reason. My other daughters pudding arrived at 10.20pm! I feel very disappointed especially for my mum who had spent a lot of time and money organising this special occasion for my dad's 70th birthday. I must say that the staff were very friendly and pleasant but just not very efficient. My mum and I have stayed here a couple of months ago and the food was so much better then. When my mum went to check out , she actually heard several other people complain about the quality of food in the restaurant! 4*?????? I think not!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cricola69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear cricola69

I'm very sorry to read your account of events in our restaurant. This is not the standard that we would expect, busy or not. I can see that you have dined with us before, so you are aware that this is not the norm. If you would like to contact me or my Operations Manager Luke Comerford at the hotel, we would be keen to discuss this further.
Once again my apologise.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambourne
7.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,346 reviews
12.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,186 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,781 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Property: The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Address: Back Lane, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel Cambourne, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing