We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filthy Room & Ignorant Staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Filthy Room & Ignorant Staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed at the Belfry for 2 nights and the room was filthy. There was blood and goodness knows what else on the cushion on the bed. The whole way around the room was full of a thick layer of dust and the bed was not made up properly.The bathroom was a health hazard of filth with thick grime all over everything. I called the duty manager called Adam up and he agreed that it was filthy and unacceptable. He apologized but then did absolutely nothing to compensate me despite promising that while I was out he would ensure the room was cleaned properly. I returned and it was exactly the same. I checked out the next day and since have not heard from the hotel. I have telephoned 4 times now and the manager and duty manager are never available. So I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.The staff are rude and incompetent.

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freyaviking2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Freyaviking2013

We will investigate your comments thoroughly and respond to you directly. I apologise for the condition of the room, this is not a comment we normally receive in fact quite the opposite, so something has gone wrong in terms of Housekeeping checks and communication but we will get to the bottom of it and take appropriate action.
Once again my apologies and we will be in touch shortly.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    520
    293
    157
    104
See reviews for
234
586
50
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We recently had a mid week stay here,the staff were very friendly and helpful,the spa treatments were fabulous,we were celebrating our anniversary and the little touches they did to help us celebrate made all the difference,the light lunch included in our package was perfectly adequate and there was choices,breakfast was the same plenty of choice,we stayed in the butler suite and it was very nice,very spacious and I loved the massive jacuzzi bath,there was also a seperate toilet,seperate lounge/ dining area and an entrance hall,we wished we had booked in for another night,Cambridge city is very close for a bit of shopping or some punting,the reception staff will direct you and give you a map,just ask they are all so willing to help.yes we would stay here again

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear soxy_9

Thank you for your kind review and congratulations on your Anniversary. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is the 4th time we have stopped at this hotel. It's nice to be able to dump the car on a Friday night and not have to bother driving again until the Sunday morning.
The hotel is good - very clean rooms, reasonable sized pool and well equipped gym. Although we don't tend to have dinner at the hotel (reasonably priced pub or Indian restaruant within walking distance) the breakfasts are excellent.
The only negative thing I can say about the hotel is that the bed was a little bumpy and quite soft but other than that we will definately be stopping there again.
The bus stop is only a 5 min walk away and buses run every 20 mins to and from Cambridge (bit less frequent in the evenings)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkw1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear jkw1959,
many thanks for your review. Great to have you back at the hotel again! I have passed on your praises to the team who were very thankful for your kind words, and pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will have a look into your mattress and get that sorted. Once again thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Cambridge Belfry.
Kind Regards
Chris Marais
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We found the two night romance package excellent value for money and would recommend this hotel to others. The staff were friendly and efficient and the restaurant food was very good. We used a park & ride facility to go into Cambridge, just a 5 minute drive from the hotel. We were glad that we had not booked to stay in Cambridge itself, as the city centre was very busy(as you would expect on an August weekend!) The hotel's location was perfect for the purposes of our visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Lisa T,
Thank you for your kind review. I was very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your praises to the team. We very much hope you will return in the near future.
Kind regards,
Chris Marais
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Perfect loved every minute this was our second stay here as we got married here last year an have come back to celebrate our anniversary staff are lovely an so helpful an go above and beyond in every way cant wait to come back again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rj69691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Rj W,
thank you for your review. I am really pleased you celebrated your special day with us! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next year for your 2nd anniversary.
Kind Regards,
Chris Marais
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angers, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights early July. Very warm welcome at check in. Nice big clean room. Lovely dinner and breakfast. Very well equipped gym.
Quite a bit out of Cambridge so expect traffic to get into town at rush hours, but would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Langevindadoption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Langevindadoption,
many thanks for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel shortly.
Kind Regards
Chris Marais
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Ten of us (five couples) travelled to this hotel for a mini break as it seemed good value for two nights B&B with an inclusive dinner on one evening. The positives: spa facilities were pretty good and the chocolate croissants at breakfast were the best we had ever eaten. The negatives: we ate in the bar the first evening as a large tour group prevented us from dining in the restaurant at a reasonable time slot. The waiter accidentally dropped a bowl of salsa over two us which went all over our shoes/bag – it wasn’t a big deal but the waiter did seem a bit cavalier about it! The service was also very sluggish and we had to ask them to clear our plates from the table. A few of us had spa treatments, which were fine, although in two instances the treatment time was distinctly shorter than the advertised time (e.g. a 1 hour pedicure latest 35 minutes!) We did complain to the spa and fortunately they resolved our complaint very satisfactorily. The food served in the restaurant was hit and miss – certainly not fine dining! All in all, it was a good value break away, but did not live up to the four-star hotel it claims to be!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_1_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Mary_1_uk,
thank you for your review following your stay with us at The Cambridge Belfry. I was disappointing to hear that your stay didn't meet your expectations. I have discussed your feedback regarding your dinning experience with the F&B team and hope you accept my apologies for this, this is certainly not our usual standards we strive to deliver. I am pleased that the spa team looked after you well. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with a chocolate croissant ready!
Many thanks again for your review,
Chris Marais
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambourne
7.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
12.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
8.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Property: The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Address: Back Lane, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel Cambourne, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing