We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER FABULOUS STAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“ANOTHER FABULOUS STAY!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I stayed on our Breakaway membership for 2 nights the weekend 1-3 November in order to do some Christmas shopping in Cambridge. Check in was welcoming & efficient and our room was spacious, and very quiet enabling us to have two good night’s sleep.

Breakfast was lovely both mornings with food being regularly replenished by the hard-working staff of this hotel. They also do a very good job of trying to keep track of guests even though some choose to waltz straight past the desk without waiting for staff to check them in and show them to a table!

Dinner was a lovely relaxing affair on both evenings. The dining staff are lovely, so warm & friendly and work really well as a team. A big thank you to Chef, who made sure my favourite dessert, Lemon Posset, was back on the menu for our stay – it was delicious!

Checkout was friendly & efficient and we hope to be back to this particular hotel in February 2014. Q hotels have become our hotel chain of choice as they give consistently good service, have friendly staff and live up to our 4* expectations!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonRicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear NorthamptonRicho

Thank you for the lovely review, I will share it with the team, who i know will be delighted by your comments.
We look forward to seeing you in February, until then have a wonderful festive season.
Take care
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    549
    304
    161
    106
See reviews for
243
618
53
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed for two nights, but only used the hotel for sleeping, breakfast and a few hours working in my room. All were excellent - comfortable beds in a quiet room, the buffet breakfast was good, and the free wifi made working in my room easy and convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJRT_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear JJRT_travels

Great review, thank you. Pleased to know that we fulfilled your needs.
i look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a B&B basis. We had a superior room which was very comfortable and well furnished. The bath/shower room was also a good size. The buffet breakfast offered a good selection of hot and cold food although on the first morning there was a shortage of some items towards the end of the breakfast period. This did coincide with quite a few people arriving for breakfast. The second day was much better. Over all I was very pleased with the breakfast on offer. One piece of advice - don't put bread through the toaster twice.

We ate dinner in the restaurant on our first night. Our meals were well presented and, although mine should/could have been hotter, they were very tasty. Starters, drinks and mains cost just over £50. Surprised, though, that none of the staff asked how was our meal

We didn't use the gym but did use the pool etc. Towels were provided, which is always welcome, but the changing rooms are a little on the small side. The pool isn't large but fine for a leisurely swim.

Although the hotel is a few miles from Cambridge and other urban areas it is quite nicely situated close to a main road (noise not an issue). I think the location is very good for the hotel.

Most impressed with the reception and leisure facility staff - very personable.

The bottom lines is would I stay there again? Most certainly.

Room Tip: Our first night here coincided with the stormy weather on Sunday/Monday (27/28) October. We didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear MartinJL

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and i will share the points you make with the team.
I hope we will see you again soon.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I took half a day holiday on Monday especially to make use of the spa facilities at the Cambridge Belfry. I was disappointed to discover that the spa was absolutely packed with people and unexpectedly noisy. The swimming pool was unusable because there was an aerobic class taking place (with loud music and a teacher screaming orders to participants). I was specifically asked to get out of the pool because the class had started. In the afternoon, they even have children's swimming lessons. Basically, the spa was being used just like council facilities.

There was a problem with the jacuzzi when I was there too so for a while, the only usable facilities were the steam room and sauna (of course, they were already packed). When I complained, I was told I could get a complimentary ticket to come back. But why would I want to come back to what was the worse spa I had ever gone to?

The whole place is un-hygienic. People walk with dirty shoes across part of the spa to access the changing facilities - which themselves are dirty. The towels are brown (easier to cover up dirt that way).

And when I went into the relaxation room to make myself a cup of tea, I found that there was no hot water available. Charming!

After the spa experience, I used the cafe area. The staff there was professional and very pleasant. Shame about the dirt on the carpet round some tables. Seems like cleanliness is not their forte.

Most disappointing of all was to have my green fleece scarf stolen. I realised I had left it at the hotel and went back the next day but I was told that it hadn't been handed in at the main reception, or at the bar, or spa reception. I couldn't quite believe that someone (staff or customer!) would steal a scarf...I'm still baffled.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laila_gl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Laila_gl

Thank you for your review, I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, and i will share your comments with the team. Half term is a very busy time for us and as a Leisure & Spa we do offer fitness lessons and indeed swimming lessons. If you should decide to try us again, please check with the club, to ensure that these activities do not spoil your enjoyment.
Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I took my mum for a 2 day break and this hotel did not disappoint, welcoming staff, good room and lovely food in the restaurant. We had a fab break, used the pool and gym. The scones were lovely too, baked to order!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khoopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear khoopr

Lovely review, thank you. I must admit to being a little partial to the scones as well. Give our regards to your Mother and we look forward to seeing you again one day.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

myself and 5 girls all went to the belfry to celbrate my big birthday we got a fantastic deal the rooms were really nice the food was good especially the buffet lunch and the breakfasts we all enjoyed our treatments the swimming pool not the largest but plenty of room the jacuzzi was to die for i did pop in the steam room and sauna but just chilling waswhat i came for the reaxation room was good i walked through the gym which looked fine but didnt try it the staff was amazing i have stayed all over the world and i can honestly say the staff here were the best so polite and helpful would i go back already sorting a date

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear maureen o

Thank you for your review and a belated Happy Birthday. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for mentioning the team in such a positive way.
We look forward to seeing you again, soon i hope.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights with our daughter , son in law and 16 month old grandson. We had a lovely stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They were pleasant and very helpful
We ate in the restaurant one night and the bar one. We were happy with the food and they happily catered for our grandson at teatime with the children's menu and high chair
We used the park and ride to go into Cambridge. It was perfect
We would certainly recommend this hotel and will certainly return again to this Ideal location

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank joan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Joansusancurry
Thank you for the kind review, I'm happy you had a good time, and were well looked after, and I will pass your kind comments onto the staff. The park and ride service is certainly a useful way in getting to and from Cambridge.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Chris Marais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambourne
7.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,340 reviews
12.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
1,780 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,184 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#12 of 36 in Cambridge
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Property: The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Address: Back Lane, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel Cambourne, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing