We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Knockout nights stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Knockout nights stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have stayed here several times and once again this Friday 14th March for one night, the service at reception was so professional.

The room was perfect and prepared to the usual high standard.

We used the pool and if I was to have a complaint it would be that parents take very small children into the jacuzzi, despite the sign saying otherwise.

The dinner menu was excellent and the food was presented and served by staff who were attentive and ready to help with anything we required.

The buffet breakfast was cooked to perfection and more than enough to keep the hungriest person satisfied till lunchtime.

We will certainly be staying here again very soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Ken M,
Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us. I am pleased you once again enjoyed your stay with us. I enjoyed sharing your review with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back shortly.
Kind Regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    529
    295
    159
    103
See reviews for
238
597
51
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We decided upon the Cambridge Belfry as we wanted to visit Cambridge itself, and as we are q members we took advantage of one of their deals. We paid to upgrade to a suite but were disappointed as the room was very tired I did email them straight away but still waiting for a response the lounge was very noisy due to being next to the lift. On the plus side all of the staff that we dealt with were extremely helpful and nothing appeared to be too much trouble and of course the q member deals are good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Jane S,
Many thanks for your review. I am very pleased you found the team welcoming and very helpful. I did notice you indicated that you have sent us some feedback, I have not had this yet. Would you be so kind as to send this to me direct, so I can address it personally. My email address is cmarais@qhotels.co.uk.
Kind regards,
Chris Marais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on 7th march, dinner bed breakfast deal for a trip to cambridge.
Check in was great, receptionist very attentive and explained everything.
We had a superior double, good and spacious, lovely bathroom with bath and shower. Free wifi which was great.
We ate in the restaurant- two courses each which we could not fault.. Highly recommend the crayfish bruschetta and sea bass for main. I asked to swap something on my meal and the gentleman ( who I assumed to be a manger) was very attentive and dealt with the request.
We used the spa facilities which were lovely and relaxing after a busy day.
First time I gave stayed here and would definitely stay again.
People who moan about the housing and supermarket near by,clearly the hotel was here first and it has no affect on the stay whatsoever.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves_Holidays85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Loves_Holidays85,
Many thanks for your kind review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the location. I have shared your review with my team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel staff are excellent they were very helpful during our whole stay.the food is very tasty. The rooms and the whole hotel is very clean and tidy.basically I cannot find fault in this hotel. Try it I am so going back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliejane4503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Juliejane4503,
Thank you for your great review. I really enjoyed reading it and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your review with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back shortly.
Kind Regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a loving relaxing stay here at the Belfry again. We stayed in one of the penthouse suites which are very spacious. I had a refreshing facial treatment which was carried out professionally and also used the pool, steam room and sauna. We ate in the main restaurant , service was excellent and good quality food. We had a very friendly waitress (Sherry) who explained about the local area and answered any questions that we had ,and also kindly asked if we needed any help with our luggage on arrival. The reception staff always have a smile and are eager to help and please. I must thank Mr Marais (the Operations Manager) for resolving a previous problem that we had. This was dealt with in a prompt and professional manner. We will certainly stay again sometime this year.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent in this hotel - have stayed on many occasions
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cswright54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear cswright54,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your recent break with us! I will pass on your thanks to my team, specially Sherry and Chris, both of which I am very proud off! We hoe to welcome you back shortly.
Kind regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have just worked at this hotel In my capacity as a Toastmaster for a Masonic Ladies Night , I was most impressed with the food and service.

Most outstanding was Callum who was my main contact for the evening, smart efficient as was the the team with him.

This Hotel certainly knows about staff training it really shows .
Tony Appleton Guild of International Professional Toastmasters

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Jarkinson1,
Thank you for your great review! I am very pleased you enjoyed your recent event with us, and I will personally pass on your thanks, and mine to Callum.
Kind regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Tried to book for a February special, but no rooms available on this offer so agreed to book at a reasonable rate but needed to upgrade at an extra £20.
The hotel is in a new housing estate, with Morrisons across the road, don't expect a countryside setting. Use the A428 for access to almost anywhere!
Reception staff were excellent , so helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble.
Room was clean, good bathroom with free standing shower (but no shower cap amongst toiletries,housekeeper said they were not provided when asked).
The wardrobe and six hangers was only large enough for one person, (how we will manage for a formal function here in a few weeks I cannot imagine) and this was a superior double room!
We searched everywhere in the room for the safety deposit box but be warned there isn't one, valuables have to be left at reception, supposedly in safe, but they were often left on shelf at back in full view. This was a procedure involving the completion of forms in duplicate, the one having to be presented on reclaiming your items. The alternative was to take money, cards, i pad, laptop, car keys, camera, jewellery, etc. to breakfast, or go through the safety system before going to the pool.
Talking of the pool, very nice until you noticed the damaged plastic drain edging the pool (trip hazard) and the missing tiles in the spa pool. We were surprised at the lack of any supervision round the pool, very young children under age in spa pool (parents said no problem , they always go in), people wearing outdoor shoes round pool and people diving off pool steps, and pool reception area unmanned (we had to ask main reception to find someone to get us towels).
Ok hotel, but could be very good with more attention to detail and safety deposit boxes in the rooms.
No air con but fan supplied.
LOADS of free parking!

Room Tip: Don't pay to upgrade, only get standard room with a FEW toiletries and a dressing gown. Be warne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMKSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear JMKSurrey,
Many thanks for your kind review. I was disappointed to read how unhappy you were that we have no safe's in our bedrooms. However I am pleased the team did offer the alternative and did follow the procedure. I am concerned about the comment regarding items being left on display, as this is not the procedure and certainly not what I have come across. We take our guests safety very seriously. Thank you for the feedback on the poolside.
I have put a note on your booking for when you return to us to put a shower cap in your room. Please do let us know if you would like some more hangers.
Look forward to welcoming you back shortly.
Kind regards,
Chris Marais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambourne
7.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
12.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
8.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Property: The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Address: Back Lane, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel Cambourne, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing