We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a few pit falls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Certificate of Excellence
Walton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a few pit falls”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We attended a Ladies Masonic Festival at his hotel and they made a very good job of the organisation of the event. The service during the gala dinner was outstanding. The staff were friendly and willing to help in anyway they could. The down sides, whilst maybe considered minor did result in the hotel not getting a mark of five. A soda water when purchased with other drinks was charged at 85p, this to all intense and purposes cost the hotel nothing. We had three meals sitting next to windows at three different tables and the windowsills were very dirty with old food. dust and rubbish on them.Finally we both ordered an omelette and it took an age to arrive and was inedible so avoid ordering this at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Christine W

I would like to thank you for reviewing our hotel after attending a Masonic Festival with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall and I have taken the comments you make about the restaurant on board. I will make sure this important feedback is shared with the team so that they can address it quickly.

Once again thank you and I hope to welcome you back to The Cambridge Belfry again.

Kind regards

Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    544
    299
    161
    104
See reviews for
239
607
53
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pencoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just spent five nights here with forty others viewing the architectural gems of Cambridgeshire. Outstanding and polite service from a very well trained and charming staff, very comfortable and clean. Breakfast the best meal, vegetables could have stayed in the hot water a mite longer, vegetarians very well catered for and food imaginative and interesting. Well done TCB.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Christina E

I was really pleased to read your comments after your party stayed with us at The Cambridge Belfry. I am glad you enjoyed your time at the hotel and thank you for your kind comments about my team. I know the Chef was made aware of your feedback about the vegetables and I hope that they were well cooked for all of the other meals.

Kind regards

Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Needed a bath and a comfy bed after cycling around Cambridge. Hotel is well presented with nice landscaping. Friendly welcome at reception. Modern spacious bedroom with separate bath and shower. Comfy bed.

Nice pool area with sauna and steam room which worked a treat on sore legs. One of the guests mentioned that some of the Tour de France cyclists stayed at the hotel before they set off for London.

Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant was very good.

Lovely hotel, pleasant staff and offering good value - would recommend the Cambridge Belfry to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view seem to be the most pleasant. There are a lot of rooms on the ground floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damian_connolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear damian_connolly

Thank you for your recent review of The Cambridge Belfry. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I will share your comments with my team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Belfry means a lot to us, and so was our perfect choice for our wedding. Kirsten was our wedding co-ordinator and could not do enough to ensure that our special day was organised to the last detail. We had many questions and changed things around a few times, and Kirsten was happy to accommodate our requests with no hassle. Callum was on hand on the day and ensured that everything ran smoothly and co-ordinated us to where we needed to be and when. The hotel staff were all friendly and couldn't do enough to accommodate all our friends and family and we were welcomed throughout the hotel over the wedding weekend and greeted with that special touch by everyone, and even a glass of champagne at dinner the night after. We couldn't recommend this hotel more to anyone looking to plan their perfect day. It really did make our happily ever after. Mr & Mrs Ellis :)

Room Tip: Junior Suites and Bentley Penthouse are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Vicky E

Congratulations to you both. I was so pleased to read your comments and happy that both you and your guests had an enjoyable day. I will certainly share your comments with my team and thank both Kirsten and Callum for their efforts.

Wishing you the best for the future and hopefully we will see you at The Cambridge Belfry again soon.

Kind regards

Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Myself and three friends stayed here recently on a Shopping Break. Two nights B&B with dinner on the first night and £30 of shopping vouchers per room. We selected the hotel because of its tennis court, swimming pool and location. It was fab on all three accounts! The breakfasts were delicious - though it could be a little busy and food did run out, though it was replaced albeit a little slowly - and dinner on the first night was good too. The staff were very friendly, and helpful, especially when we missed the bus into town! But the taxi ride, between four of us, worked out to be fairly reasonable. The only thing that could be said is that a little attention to the rear of the property in the way of planting would improve the outside sitting/tennis area. A few huge terracotta plant pots planted with brightly coloured geraniums is fairly cheap and would be very effective. Anyway, this 4 star hotel will be top of our list for future breaks to Cambridge and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear 007skier

I was really pleased to read your review of our hotel. I am glad that both you and your friends enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back again! Your comments have been taken on board about the exterior and I will discuss them with our gardener.

Thank you for your comments.

Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have been using The Cambridge Belfry Spa since it opened. I am a local. Today was the last straw. You have lost a customer. I still have credit on a gift card but will not be using it. Some of your spa staff are really are not to be recommended. The Spa does not seems to be able to keep GOOD qualified staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Operations Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear J S

I am really sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience in our Spa this week. I would be grateful if you could contact either myself or our Leisure & Spa manager Matthew on 01954 714600 to discuss this.

Kind regards

Craig Vines
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel on Wednesday night, the hotel was full to the rafters.
Although my room was fine and very spacious my view was the rubbish bins and delivery entrance. At around midnight there was a huge noise when the bottles from the function that evening were emptied into bins and then from5am, the deliveries started.
Spa area lovely especially at 6.30am as I had given up trying to sleep
Diner the previous evening in the restaurant looked like a good idea and the menu looked inviting, ordered the soup and then a haloumi salad.
Just to get the order taken took forever as the restaurant was full with only 2 staff on duty.
Such a shame really as the food was lovely when it finally arrived.
Breakfast was better as there were plenty of people around. The hotel is lovely and there seems to be plenty of staff walking around but it just seems ages to get anything.
I would like to say the reception team were friendly,helpful and a real credit to the hotel

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Carrie W

Thank you for your recent review after staying at The Cambridge Belfry. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I have noted your comments and will discuss them with the relevant heads of department so that improvements can be made.

I would also like to thank you for your kind comments about my team, I will of course share these with them and I know they will be pleased.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambourne
7.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,282 reviews
12.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
6.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,717 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Property: The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Address: Back Lane, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel Cambourne, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing