We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Staff and very Friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2010

My daughter and I went here for a spa treat for her birthday, we arrived early but the staff happily let us have our room. The room was lovely and clean, although there was only one towel - we went back to reception and told a different receptionist we need another towel - she insisted there were two, after an exchange of words she said she would send another to our room - she didnt (and I knew she wouldnt!) so at 10 pm we had to ask again for another towel - different receptionist different attitude - got towel.
The pool was very cold, but the whirlpool was hot. Changing room is cold and far to small. Went into 'Reflections' for spa treatment - Rachel did a lovely massage. Must say the recemption bit of Reflections wasnt very clean - sides of desk dirty - carpet needs a good hoover, again this area was far too small.
The food was lovely - no complaint whatsoever and the tall barman cheerful and helpful but the bar area needs a good clean - the mirrors where there are sofas were fillthy with peoples head marks and every surface need a polish - dust everywhere!
we had a lovely lunch, dinner and breakfast was first class - only complaint was that one of the waitresses on dinner service - actually I think she was the only waitress cos one was at the desk - anyway, she spoke very poor english and we struggled to get her to understand us, we only had one course and it took over 1-1/2 hours!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUTISMSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forestpines, Deputy General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2010

Thank you for leaving a review online regarding your recent stay at the Hotel. I was happy to read that the majority of your stay was enjoyable. I was however concerned by some of the service and cleanliness points you have highlighted as this is not representative of our normal high standards and something I am looking in to as a matter of urgency.

I will be contacting you directly so that I can investigate further and address some of the points you have highlighted

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,770)
There are newer reviews for The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,660 - 1,666 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2010

This hotel fulfiled all requirements - a smart and clean, friendly hotel, with facilities which enabled recreation and relaxation. The rooms were well-appointed, the bed wasn't huge but the matress was good (something so often lacking in hotel rooms), the bathroom contained a bath and separate shower, was clean and modern, and a decent size. However, the cups for brushing teeth/drinking water did seem a little on the small size. In addition, tea-making facilities as well as a DVD player contributed to a relaxing space to spend parts of the weekend.

The restaurant had a modern feel, albeit not to my taste, and the food at supper (which we had as part of our booking deal) was tasty. The bar food was also quite good, and breakfast offered plenty of choice and volume, although having to wait for a table on Sunday morning was a little annoying (fortunately our subsequent tardiness at check-out was not noticed or chastised). The only other negative point would be the toasting machine, which required bread to be circulated more than once in order to achieve an adequate amount of toasting.

The staff were friendly and courteous. The spa facilities were the highlight of the hotel - the pool was of decent length and rarely busy, the jacuzzi and steam room offered well-earned opportunities for relaxing. The location of the hotel was out of town, but we knew this on booking, and park and ride facilities into Cambridge were frequent and efficient.

On the whole, this hotel delivers on all fronts, and provided us with a setting in which to have an enjoyable and refreshing break.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank tkmax34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forestpines, Deputy General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2010

Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Belfry. I was delighted to note that your stay was relaxing and enjoyable.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future

David Rowley
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Cambridge Belfry last weekend and took advantage of a special offer with Q Hotels. We paid an extra £20 for an upgrade to a more premium room and for this we were promised luxury toiletries, dressing gowns and more space. We did get the dressing gowns but that was about it. As for the luxury toiletries, we only had 1 bar of soap between us!!! We were also promised a £10 spa voucher and this never materialised. I would not have described the room as premium at all, although it was nicely decorated. The restaurant was a very pleasant surprise and both the dinner and breakfast were excellent. The service and staff were also very good and we found everyone to be nice and friendly. The location of the hotel leaves a bit to be desired in that it is 8 miles from the city centre and is situated near to a Morrison's supermarket on a new housing estate style development. The most annoying thing we found is that the key cards to the rooms were always faulty and we spent many trips going back to reception to get new keys. It should be noted that the bar is really expensive. We did get a good deal and were on the whole very satisfied but I'm not sure that we would stay there again. In many ways the hotel lacks atmosphere.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank AJBWeybridge_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidH16, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2010

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the Belfry.

I was very please to here that you had such a great experience in the restaurant and that the staff were friendly.

I was disapointed to here that you never recieved your voucher, so please contact myself at the hotel and I will ensure we correct this for you.

I look forward to welcoming you back next time your in the area.

Kind Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

There was no welcome to the event. We wandered to our table around 8 pm, the planned start to the meal. A miniscule portion of melon arrived one hour later, followed much later by a very average, just warm main course and a miniscule portion of pudding.

The staff were unable to cope efficiently with the number of guests, the service was slow and, even though we had been requested to notify our choice of menu well in advance of the event, the staff were unaware of our choices.

The atmosphere was distinctly lacking. The Abba tribute band was good when it eventually arrived, after 10 pm and played for just one hour.

Never again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank benny95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

My husband booked this hotel as a treat for a couple of nights. I have to say it was a very enjoyable relaxing break. The location is not the most romantic but once inside the hotel that doesn't really matter and the hotel more than made up for that. We had the curwen suite and it was amazing. Seperates lounge area with tv, 2 bathrooms main bathroom having a seperate shower and jacuzzi. Very large bedroom with all facilities that you would need. We both used the leisure facilities which were good. I also had a massage package which included a mud wrap which I can highly recommend. The first night we ate in the main restaurant and the food was lovely. Nicely presented and freshly cooked. The bar food is also very good too. Breakfast was plentiful even though we didn't go down till late there was still plenty of hot fresh food to choose from. On the whole I would recommend this hotel. The staff were courteous and it's only a 15 min drive to Cambridge itself so a great base hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

have just arrived back from a one night stay which i booked as a birthday surprise for my husband, we couldn't fault the hotel at all, we can't see what people are moaning about on here, the staff were all very friendly, the pool was lovely, rooms were immaculate, the breakfast was lovely if i had just one tiny moan it would be that the evening meal was nice but portions could of been bigger and they took a long time buts it wasnt a problem. Cambridge itself is beautiful its our 5th stay here and we love it everytime. would i use this hotel again yes definately hope to return soon

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookycrewSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Travelled to this hotel with husband and two children aged 11 and 17. Distinctly lacking in staff . Room lovely and spacious but a bit worn in places - mouldy shower surround. Kids went to ask for DVD - came back empty handed as staff couldn't find the two they requested. Biggest disappointment was the ban on children in the pool and leisure area after around 5 and before 9am - so unless you intend to spend your time in the hotel rather than sightseeing forget it! Should be highlighted on the website - especially at galf term and via the central booking agency which I used. Like most families we would spend the day out and about and then return to the hotel for a swim...or not!

Breakfast disappointing - again distinct lack of staff - had to hunt for a waiter to get tea/ coffee and the latter was only the stewed variety - not cafetiere available! Serve yourself buffet - no menu choices or cooked to order - even had to do your own toast. Nice walnut bread though. Lack of staff meant tables were left uncleared and finding place for 4 was more difficult.

Staff when you could find them friendly but certainly not up to 4 star standard.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank workingmum2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambourne
7.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,393 reviews
12.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,206 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,815 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Address: Back Lane, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range: £89 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel Cambourne, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing