We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Normandy
Nearby Hotels
Hotel l'Escale(Escalles)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samoria(Audinghen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
18
48
13
7
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
48
13
7
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssole meunierestayed hereday tripone nightno liftfruits de mertunnel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We travelled by car to this wonderful town of Wissant, France and looked for a quaint restaurant for lunch. We found almost all were closed however for it was Wednesday??? The Hotel Normandy was open and had a few patrons. The owner lead us to the quite formal dining room and a young waiter seated us. The hotel matron then briskly came to our table to advise we were not welcome in the dining room if we only wanted a small meal and we would have eat in the bar or outside. This woman was not only impolite she treated us with absolute indifference. I spoke to her in my Canadian french and she corrected my pronunciation. We should have got up and left at that point but there were few other options open. The soup we ate was virtually one cup and the price was 10 euros, ridiculous!!

Would I recommend this place, not likely.

Room Tip: Quaint location but no tolerance for English speaking people.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank KimandSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Eight of us spent a very enjoyable weekend at this hotel, the food is out of this world. The Hotel itself is we admit different but in such a nice way. Not the delux hotel you may be looking for but go with an open mind and a sense of humour and you will love it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallywags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We chose this place at the last minute,on our way back to the tunnel. Booking was easy, the welcome was fine, no-one fussed us for money or IDs or anything pompous (important as we arrived in a blizzard), and the dinner was really 1st class . . . all fresh and tasty, and well served by polite and efficient staff.
The room was basic and old fashioned, as was the breakfast, but both were fine, and we didn't feel anything other than helpful hospitality, including help with the car and road guidance for bad weather,
The Patron willingly spoke good English as well.
The prix fix of euro117 for one night bed, dinner and breakfast for two is great value. You pay a lot more for less quality and personality at most other places, No parking charges required (this was mid winter), the wine, coffees etc., were good and reasonably priced.
More like Mr Hulots holiday perhaps: a bit of an adventure rather than a bland consumer experience (just look around in the lobby and restaurant at all the curios - there are stories there to be enjoyed not jacuzzis or gyms to be tested). We were almost hoping to be snowed in!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TedFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel because it was the only one in the area that was not full. The unwelcoming and disdainful receptionist explained that the room was only let on the basis that we ate in the restaurant, and demanded a 50 euro advance payment. A large man, possibly the manager/bouncer/chef stood silently nearby with a slightly menacing stare. The room key was attached to a foot-long iron bar, an unnecessary inconvenience. The room was small, dirty and shabby, with numerous water pipes running up one wall and along another, which gave off unwanted heat and noise. The shower room appeared to have been made from a dismantled wardrobe. The lavatory, amusingly branded as a watermatic made an awful noise when flushing, and the floor creaked loudly. The boast that this room has a sea view is semantically correct, but ironic. In the restaurant the charmless receptionist was functioning as head waitress, treating guests and her work colleagues with equal contempt. As demi pension we were given no choice as to what we ate, and the cuisine style and presentation was industrial and loveless. Because of an uncomfortable bed, heat, noise and ravenous mosquitoes the night was long and dreary.
The abiding impression is that this hotel is run solely for the benefit of the proprietors and staff, guests being barely tolerated as revenue units. No wonder it was the only one in the area with rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2006

We have just returned from a weekend in France - had booked 2 rooms at this hotel by telephone and had planed to stay for 2 nights. To be fair it was very cheap - 116 Euros for bed breakfast and table d'hote dinner per couple. I was a little suspicious that there was no review anywhere for this hotel, nor did it have any star rating, but as the Hotel du Centre in Wimereux, where we have stayed on several occasions, was fully booked, I thought we would risk giving Le Normandy a try. I am used to family-run French hotels, and am aware that attitude of the patron can often be somewhat offhand. But here this reached a new level of rudeness and incivility. The rooms were dirty as was the bed linen and the whole place smelt strongly of disinfectant.
Considering the prices, the food was acceptable although hardly lived up to the "gastronomique" billing of the hotel's website. Although we spent quite a lot on wine, we were treated with disdain - in general the service in the dining room was rude and shoddy. When my wife was served a glass of house wine, and found it too sweet for her taste, she asked for a drier wine, only to be told that the wine provided was dry and indeed the driest available. In fact it was a cheap Alsace Edelzwicker. No alternative was offered. The patron later told us that the English were often mistaken about wine!!! Needless to say we departed the following morning and will not be returning .

J Elford

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Juleself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews