We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Wissant Location”
Review of Hotel Normandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Normandy
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wissant
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Central Wissant Location”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The central Wissant location made me book this hotel. It's two stars and the rooms are just adequate with old bedding. Wish they would get new light duvets? Very small room and sea view just in the distance. Very new shower room and clean room. Very limited continental breakfast and not much choice. A very friendly lady served us at breakfast. Loved meeting up with all the dutch tourists staying here. A wonderful friday evening market happened friday evening on the square.

Room Tip: I think top rooms have a better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronelvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty J, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Normandy, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks, we need encouragement

cordially
management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    42
    12
    6
    27
See reviews for
18
67
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester,UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We have stopped here many times for coffee or a drink before driving further but this time we were on our way back to the ferry and decided to stop for lunch and we were very glad we did.
From our table we could see the white cliffs of Dover which is a little surreal
The food is beautifully presented and the amuse bouche a nice touch. There is lots of choice but don't be drawn into ordering your pudding with your main- who knows what you might fancy - probably makes life easier for the kitchen
We will make a point of revisiting

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty J, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Normandy, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for your comment, the demand for choice of dessert in the menu map 23 50 € (starter, main course or main course and dessert) is pure not to be confused with the menu at € 28 50 and also for the organization, dessert are homemade

cordially

management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We chose Wissant for a very short break Good Friday - to see a Beach, eat a nice dinner in a good hotel, possibly returning with some shopping from a wine store..
Hotel Normandy is an excellent choice, the room was very good, spotlessly clean. The Restaurant served a Dinner worth of all nice words I can find! We had Plateau fruits de Mer - a huge variety of wonderfully fresh seafood. The wine was a nice Burgundy and the dessert a good selection of local cheeses and supernice Tarte Tatin!
Paying was NOT a pain!
We will be back!!!

Room Tip: All rooms had seaview, even if 'above the rooftops in front'. Bring your haidrier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty J, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Normandy, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello

Thank you , i appreciate that you did like our food ,we just try to do our best to serve our home made cooking and as fresh as possible the sea food

You are welcome

D Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We travelled by car to this wonderful town of Wissant, France and looked for a quaint restaurant for lunch. We found almost all were closed however for it was Wednesday??? The Hotel Normandy was open and had a few patrons. The owner lead us to the quite formal dining room and a young waiter seated us. The hotel matron then briskly came to our table to advise we were not welcome in the dining room if we only wanted a small meal and we would have eat in the bar or outside. This woman was not only impolite she treated us with absolute indifference. I spoke to her in my Canadian french and she corrected my pronunciation. We should have got up and left at that point but there were few other options open. The soup we ate was virtually one cup and the price was 10 euros, ridiculous!!

Would I recommend this place, not likely.

Room Tip: Quaint location but no tolerance for English speaking people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimandSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wissant hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Eight of us spent a very enjoyable weekend at this hotel, the food is out of this world. The Hotel itself is we admit different but in such a nice way. Not the delux hotel you may be looking for but go with an open mind and a sense of humour and you will love it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallywags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We chose this place at the last minute,on our way back to the tunnel. Booking was easy, the welcome was fine, no-one fussed us for money or IDs or anything pompous (important as we arrived in a blizzard), and the dinner was really 1st class . . . all fresh and tasty, and well served by polite and efficient staff.
The room was basic and old fashioned, as was the breakfast, but both were fine, and we didn't feel anything other than helpful hospitality, including help with the car and road guidance for bad weather,
The Patron willingly spoke good English as well.
The prix fix of euro117 for one night bed, dinner and breakfast for two is great value. You pay a lot more for less quality and personality at most other places, No parking charges required (this was mid winter), the wine, coffees etc., were good and reasonably priced.
More like Mr Hulots holiday perhaps: a bit of an adventure rather than a bland consumer experience (just look around in the lobby and restaurant at all the curios - there are stories there to be enjoyed not jacuzzis or gyms to be tested). We were almost hoping to be snowed in!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TedFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel because it was the only one in the area that was not full. The unwelcoming and disdainful receptionist explained that the room was only let on the basis that we ate in the restaurant, and demanded a 50 euro advance payment. A large man, possibly the manager/bouncer/chef stood silently nearby with a slightly menacing stare. The room key was attached to a foot-long iron bar, an unnecessary inconvenience. The room was small, dirty and shabby, with numerous water pipes running up one wall and along another, which gave off unwanted heat and noise. The shower room appeared to have been made from a dismantled wardrobe. The lavatory, amusingly branded as a watermatic made an awful noise when flushing, and the floor creaked loudly. The boast that this room has a sea view is semantically correct, but ironic. In the restaurant the charmless receptionist was functioning as head waitress, treating guests and her work colleagues with equal contempt. As demi pension we were given no choice as to what we ate, and the cuisine style and presentation was industrial and loveless. Because of an uncomfortable bed, heat, noise and ravenous mosquitoes the night was long and dreary.
The abiding impression is that this hotel is run solely for the benefit of the proprietors and staff, guests being barely tolerated as revenue units. No wonder it was the only one in the area with rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wissant
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Vivier - Centre
3.1 mi away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
734 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Samoria
Hotel Samoria
#1 of 2 in Audinghen
105 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
5.4 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#1 of 1 in Audresselles
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Normandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Normandy

Property: Hotel Normandy
Address: Place de Verdun | Wissant, 62179 Wissant, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wissant
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wissant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Normandy 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Normandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing