We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Vivier - Centre
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wissant
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We returned to Wissant for a short break after driving through earlier in the year. We spotted Le Vivier and booked specifically to try the seafood restaurant........................It was closed. Very disappointed. We had taken walking shoes to explore the beautiful coastline but the awful weather changed our plans. It was May so didn't expect to be sunbathing. We still think Wissant is a pleasant typically French small town on a lovely part of the coast. The lady on reception spoke no English and although I think this should not be a cause for complaint...(we were in France!) My husband believes that some English should be used on receptions throughout Europe. It did make things a little slower and perhaps we would have understood the reason for the closed restaurant. Everywhere else in Wissant was open and we did find a very nice meal at 'Chez Edwige' just a few minutes walk away. We seemed to be the only guests staying at the time and with hindsight and the ability to speak French we would have asked to be moved from Room 11 - this seemed a little daunting without the language so didn't bother. The reason was that room 11 seems to have escaped the beautiful refurbishment afforded to adjacent rooms. Rooms 12 and 14 were open as unoccupied and were lovely, bright,sunny,brand new shower rooms, lovely design, etc. By comparison our room was shabby and very small. The bathroom was an internal cupboard with no extraction. All of these rooms were the same rate of 80.50euros per night. I will say however our room was clean. Buffet breakfast as you would expect with pleasant service.......(for just the two of us!)

Room Tip: Avoid Room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    93
    39
    27
    36
See reviews for
45
158
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Just a 20 minute drive from Calais, wonderful! Helen made us very welcome, we had a room above the restaurant - simple, clean and convenient for checking out the town and beach. We ate in the restaurant, the most delicious seafood and a great recommended bottle of chilled red wine (or was it 2?). Perfect. Thank you 'Le Vivier' - Helen and Benjamin, we will be back! :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a delightful small family run hotel and restaurant Le Vivier is. We came across it by accident and were offered a sea view room in the annexe, which is 2 minutes by car, 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel but we decided to forgo the view in favour of the convenience of staying in the town and above the restaurant. Our en-suite room was clean and comfortable with two single beds, a separate area with sofa, table and chairs. The busy restaurant serves meals ‘non-stop’ the choice was excellent and the food delicious. A good continental breakfast was included in the room rate. There is parking in the square just across the street making Le Vivier a perfect stopover when travelling to, or returning from, further a field.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeBee515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We arrived at this hotel late evening and didn't realise that the hotel and the restaurant were not in the same building, or location. It is a short drive between the two and the hotel is a 15-20 minute walk from the town (where all the restaurants are). The instructions were not clear at the hotel (there is a map to show where you need to go but no text to explain it is where the key pick-up is) but these are given in the email confirmation (so my fault for not reading these properly).

The hotel itself was pleasant enough. The room was large, clean and quiet and the morning breakfast was good (albeit a bit limited in the choices on offer). We paid extra for a sea view but I'm not sure this was worth it, as the hotel is not directly by the sea. I understood from other guests that the sea is a short walk/drive to get to.

I wouldn't stay here again, as there are cheaper and better located places in this region for a stopover.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klara-lara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have been staying in Wissant for about 25 years and have seen changes to Le Vivier. It was always quirky and full of charm but unfortunately both hotel annexe and restaurant were disappointing. We arrived in the afternoon to be told our room was not available. Come back in 1 hour. No apology no offer of a coffee whilst we waited. When we did get to the room it had an overwhelming smell of cigarette smoke. We had asked for an upstairs room but got a ground floor room with poor lookout. When we opened the patio doors to get rid of the smell we found a plastic coffee cup with water and full of cigarette ends! Unfortunately, there was no one to complain to. We enjoyed our walk around Wissant and booked a table at Le Vivier restaurant where we have had some great meals, albeit some years ago. The service was poor but our waiter spoke some English and was helpful. Unfortunately, he forgot the water and the bread. My husband's steak and frites were OK but my moules and frites were not as good as I'd had next door for half the price.
Poor service and mediocre food = disappointing. Back to room and no one had told us we needed a code and we had to get the caretaker to let us in. Not a good experience and although we will certainly go back to Wissant we need to find another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatticorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wissant hotels

Sussex, England
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed in the annex - on the way out of town, but views were simply fabulous over the lake and the sea, our room had patio doors onto a small balcony. The whole place was spotlessly clean and we will certainly go back.

From the annex to the beach is about a 10 minute walk (down hill) perhaps a few minutes more on the way back.

I am a littled bemused by some of the other reviews, we booked through booking.com and had not problems what so ever, they even gave us the room keys at midday - with the warning that the rooms would not be ready until 3 but we could leave our stuff in them.

Room Tip: ask for a sea vue when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaSussex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for three nights and had a lovely clean, fresh and comfortable room with bathroom and terrace which overlooked the lake and sea. We were greeted by a very jolly French man and given directions to our hotel which was a two minute drive from the main hotel/restaurant. Breakfast was served inside or out and the food and coffee were a perfect start to our day. We dined at their restaurant in town which was fantastic; plenty of good seafood and an excellent wine list. Most staff spoke some English and a couple spoke it very well indeed. For a two star hotel, I can't praise it enough but remember to book a table in the restaurant as it gets very busy indeed and it is an experience you really shouldn't miss. Loved Le Vivier and Wissant too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammysausage47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wissant
3.1 mi away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
737 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#5 of 5 in Wissant
102 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Samoria
Hotel Samoria
#1 of 2 in Audinghen
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
6.7 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
331 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#1 of 1 in Audresselles
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Vivier - Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vivier - Centre

Property: Hotel Le Vivier - Centre
Address: 3 rue Gambetta, 62179 Wissant, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wissant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wissant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the village center of Wissant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Vivier - Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vivier Wissant
Le Vivier Hotel Wissant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing