We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maynard

The Maynard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$73
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The highly acclaimed AA rosette restaurant is the perfect place to unwind after a day exploring the Peak District. The restaurant and alfresco dining area overlooks lovely gardens and enjoys panoramic views of the Derwent Valley.A wide selection of quality wines is available and there are always several vegetarian and vegan options on offer. A wide range of meals and snacks are also available in the Bar. Visit our website for sample menus or call to make your reservation.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We took our rather frail grandparents out for lunch to The Maynard and were very impressed with the decor (the outside gives little hint of the contemporary delights inside) the excellent food and the very warm welcome and service. We had called ahead to check that the access was good and asked for a "quiet and warm table for lunch". After an aperitif by the huge log fire in the lounge we were shown to our seats in the dining Room - also beautifully decorated and with sunny views over the garden and the hills beyond. An excellent lunch ( we had a mix of sandwiches and mains followed by scrummy puds and a couple of pints of delicious Moonshine bitter) with outstanding service from Megan and a surprisingly inexpensive bill at the end.
We will definitely be going back to The Maynard . Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKWHTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of your experience at The Maynard. We have tried to create a contemporary feel whilst ensuring the hotel does not lose its history or charm and am pleased that you appreciate the style.

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable meal with us and that it had a nice atmosphere for your grandparents as well. Our local ales do always go down well!

I hope we will be able to welcome you all to The Maynard again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    30
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wedding reception at The Maynard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The service at the hotel was excellent, the reception dinner was above the norm. The courses were well spaced and each was well received, the portion of lamb were succulent and the dessert was divine. The evening buffet was also a delight, covering all appetites and requirements. All points of service were efficient and polite. A point of dislike was the volume level of the disco, it made conversations impossible.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience as at guest at a wedding. I am delighted the food all exceeded your expectations and you found the service to such a high standard.

I apologise for the music level, unfortunately, as all the DJ's who play at The Maynard are booked externally it is something we have little control over. I hope it didnt spoil the evening and that we will be able to welcome you to The Maynard again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Way above the rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We rented a cottage in the village and last evening tried to look for somewhere decent to eat. We did not have internet and considered a couple of places but nothing stood out. Heard of this place and booked blind (they were dog friendly)

It was actually a classic stone hotel worth noting quite large but very welcoming with many different areas.

It was great and a real find with quality food 'cheffed' not just brasserie.
Saddle of rabbit cooked with panacetta was really nice and I had 21 day rump steak medium rare (and it was) which had flavour and mouth melted. Three of us shared a dessert (no problem) and very good local beers.

Mains hearty and about £14-17 each but quality.

We had home cooking most of the week so this was a good finale just right.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chinaplate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent review on your meal at The Maynard.

Our Head Chef and his team aim to create good quality, fresh food as well as adding specials on a regular basis such as the rabbit.

I am delighted it was a good finale to your week and hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sunday Family Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We pre-booked a family meal for a group of us. The restaurant itself is not very big; that afternoon there were three family groups eating, plus a few couples. You sit and have a drink in the lounge whilst browsing the menu. There isn't a great deal of choice, but it does seem well priced for three courses, including coffees. The food was very good (but, as mentioned elsewhere, the bass is on the small side) and the staff were very pleasant.

The main problem was the slow service and the gaps between ordering, being seated, receiving the starters and then the main (the staff did apologise for the delay); waiting again for the dessert menu and then waiting for the actual desserts. We weren't asked if we wanted coffees and the waitress did not even know that they were included. By this point, we had been there hours, and just decided to head home for a coffee.

The restaurant is very family friendly, but the kids were getting restless, due to the waiting. There did not seem to be any consistency in how quickly other people were getting their food.
We all commented on the time it took to be served and I dread to think how the staff and kitchen would cope if it got much busier.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyingmonkeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing your Sunday Lunch experience.

I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable experience with us. We pride ourselves on our quality of food and standard of service and are always disappointed when it has not met a guests expectations. I am looking into all the points made in your review.

If you wish to dicuss any of the points made in anymore detail, please contact me at hugh.skelton@fdgroup.com

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Had the sea bass. was supposed to be a sea bass filet but had 2 tiny little pieces of fish on a small mound of mashed potato. To put it in comparison, the fish cake starter was considerably larger than the main. Very poor value for money and was the service was nothing to get to excited about either. Would never go back again

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us.

I am sorry it did not meet your expectations and would be happy to dicuss all the points made.

Please do not hesistate to contact me at hugh.skelton@fdgroup.com

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Maynard also viewed

Grindleford, Hope Valley
 
Froggatt, Hope Valley
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Maynard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing