We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it should have been”
Review of The Maynard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Maynard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindleford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The staff were charming and helpful, the breakfast was excellent and there was real coffee in the room - these all very much appreciated.. Our room (number 8) was disappointing though; the sink didn't drain properly (I had to wash my face using the bath tap in the end), the toilet wobbled on its base, the WiFi wasn't working either in the room or the bar area (but did the following morning in the dining room), for some reason there was only one bedside light..all incrediblely annoying. First impressions of this hotel were good, but it was soon apparent that much more care was required in the detail.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your review of The Maynard, we do take all our feedback seriously.
Thank you for bringing these specific points to our attention, I will look into them as soon as possible.

I hope the issues raised will not deter you from visiting The Maynard again.

Kind Regards,
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Absolutely first class room, superb food in the restaurant and very pleasant and helpful staff, we were well impressed! I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, I have paid a lot more to stay in hotels that weren't a patch on the Maynard, excellent!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

I would like to thank you for your very positive review of your stay at our hotel.

I am really pleased to hear that the both food and the service provided by the staff were of a very high standard, and surpassed your expectations when compared to other hotels.

I hope we can welcome you back to The Maynard very soon.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We found The Maynard via a late deal booking site, as we needed a dog friendly hotel, and this hotel said they actively encouraged doggie guests. Sometimes that can mean a compromise on comfort and luxury, but this is definitely not the case with The Maynard.
Recently refurbed, this hotel is a wonderful mix of old charm and chic decor. Our room (7) was huge, with a massive bed and a proper mattress on the Zed Bed for our son.
The staff are so friendly and accommodating; everyone we spoke to couldn't have been more helpful.
And the food (breakfast and dinner) was on the upper end of the hotel catering scale.
Walking straight out of the hotel finds you directly next to the most picturesque waterfall, with an energetic scramble up hills and over boulders. Perfect for shifting the breakfast calories!
We highly recommend this place and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 381janee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of your stay at The Maynard hotel.

I am glad you found the comfort of your room excelled your expectations, and I am delighted that the food and service provided by our staff was also to a high standard.

I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and managed to take advantage of the beautiful Peak District scenery. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was our second visit, combining Valentine's day with a dog walking weekend. Our first night was somewhat disturbed owing to a storm buffeting the hotel all night. The small leak in the window was dealt with professionally.
Dinner on Valentine's was faultless, with scallop and beef carpaccio for starters and lamb and braised beef for mains.
After a long walk our food choice for the dinner was off the bar menu. Burger and fish and chips were good value and the real ale well kept and presented.
Final mention goes to the headline - this hotel is genuinely dog-friendly. Our 2 cairns were fussed over by all the staff, were welcome in the bar and there were no restrictions in the bedroom. It made the break

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaynardHotel, General Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

I am pleased to hear that the problem you encountered on the first night was dealt with professionally. I am also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and the food and service provided were of a high standard.

We love welcoming dogs into our hotel, and pride ourselves on being one of the only dog-friendly hotels in the area.

We are very pleased you enjoy your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My partner and I chose this hotel for an overnight stay as they allowed you to take your dog and we wanted to go walking.. What a fab hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and spacious. We had an evening meal which was really tasty with a good choice for vegetarians. The breakfast was lovely too with a good choice and we had a table set up in the bar area so we didn't have to leave our dog alone... If you aren't sure where to go walking from the hotel ask reception staff and they have various walks that they print off for you which are really easy to follow and hold lots of interesting facts during your walk.. We will most definitely return in the near future...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chellbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of The Maynard. I am delighted that you were able to bring your dog along and that our staff ensured he/she was made to feel as welcome as you were, we pride ourselves on being one of the only dog friendly hotels in the area and love having our four legged friends to visit.

I am also pleased you found the selection of vegetarian food to a high standard and enjoy the breakfast.

All our walks are created by a local guide who does them personally to ensure they take you round some of Derbyshire's best views. We are currently in the process of adding to these so hopefully we will be able to welcome you again in the future to try some of these out.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Quite a bit of investment has been put into this building where many of the railway personnel used to stay. Dinner was very good indeed, but what happened to plates? Why do we have to eat off slate? The staff were more than helpful and polite. The rooms well refurbished, but some cobwebs on the light fittings need removing!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank GastronomeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Maynard. The hotel was completely refurbished and updated a few years ago, whilst ensuring not to lose its original heritage.

Our Head Chef and his team have tried to create an innovative menu which not only tastes excellent but is also visually appealing and whilst I can appreciate that this is not to everyone's taste I am glad the food met your expectations.

I appreciate your comments regarding the rooms and will ensure to look into this.

I hope we will be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, great location and we had a fabulous meal in the restaurant. On a negative point we didn't get the suite we had booked through booking.com with fabulous views of the Derwent Valley and free-standing roll-top bath which was disappointing. We also had a few minor issues with the family room we was given.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Maynard.

I can only apologise for any error made with your booking and during your stay. If you wish to discuss these any further I would be happy to do so. My direct email is hugh.skelton@fdgroup.com

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable meal and were well looked after by our team of staff and hope that the issues during your stay wont affect you returning to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindleford
6.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
18.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
403 reviews
6.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
6.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maynard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maynard

Address: Main Road, Grindleford, Peak District National Park S32 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Grindleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindleford
Price Range: £80 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maynard 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak District hotel and restaurant, The Maynard, was refurbished in March 2008 to become one of the best independent hotels in the Peak District. The building dates back over 100 years and during the refurbishment we have tried to respect this heritage whilst at the same time bringing the accommodation up to 21st century contemporary standards. The Peak District views from the garden, restaurant and bedrooms are stunning, and may leave you wondering if you’re miles from civilisation. Fortunately, as well as benefiting from a beautiful and tranquil location, The Maynard is very well located for visitor's from the outside world; The Maynard is less than 15 minutes from Sheffield by train (you can hop off at Grindleford station a couple of hundred yards from our door), and within easy reach of the M1, A57 Snake Pass and A61 by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Maynard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maynard Hotel Grindleford
The Maynard Grindleford, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing